We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, romantic atmosphere”
Review of La Pecora Nera

La Pecora Nera
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Cocles
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is definitely worth a visit for a special occasion. The place is expensive compared to the surrounding restaurants, but I think the food and service was worth it. The atmosphere is romantic and feels secluded compared to the other restaurants on the main road. The service was attentive and we were seated quickly without reservations.

We ordered the mixed seafood dish and meat ravioli, and there was at least 4 servings of food. The meal came with bread, soup and a small dessert with the meal. We left very full with plenty of leftovers. I would highly recommend this place if you're looking for a special dinner spot.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank kathyhN6205SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2021

Recommended by the front desk at Banana Azul we had Mothers Day dinner here. Beautiful setting in an unlikely place down a gravel driveway.
Candlelight. Knowledgeable servers with great descriptions of the meals.
Wine cellar, all Italian wines.
Large portions, you could split a few things and be very satisfied.
So glad we came here. Not inexpensive, but priced about right for the food quality and ambience.
2 couples

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2021 via mobile

Excellent restaurant!!!! We had a fantastic night. We had bruschetas, delicious, I had the jumbo shrimp that was spectacular and my husband rigatonni alla arrabiata, very good. I would highly recommend this as the best restaurnat in Puerto Viejo. Is is a bit pricey but totally worth it. The owner very attentive.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank Rossanagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2021

Costa Rica is a surprisingly expensive country, but even by Costa Rican standards this place is ridiculously over-priced. 2 x pizzas and 3 x pasta dishes with a bottle of wine and a few soft drinks = $300. Seriously!? We should have left when we saw the prices on the menu but we had just driven from San Jose, it was late-ish and someone had recommended the place to us. Our mistake. But, there is something cynical about this sort of pricing; it seems to be that the prices are elevated to make people think they are getting something special, that they are themselves special because they can afford to eat in a place like this. The food is only good, not exceptional, and in Puerto Viejo the cost of putting some spaghetti and seafood on a plate does not warrant a $30 price tag. And the pizzas were certainly nothing more than average. So, we came away having a had quite good food and a decent bottle of wine, but feeling like we had been ripped off. The following night we went to El Refugio - two thirds of the price and in our group 100% were of the opinion that it was just better, regardless of price.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DSMperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

Atmosphere was easily a 10/5. They managed to get us a table on a busy night with no reservation. It was beautiful, romantic, and the sea breeze felt amazing after a day in the sun. The owner came out and discussed specials and recommendations with us, and they spent a lot of time working with my picky partner to find the perfect wine for him. Everything we had was amazing, from the seafood to the pasta to dessert and tailored specifically to our tastes based on our discussion with the owner. Definitely a can't miss for us when we're in CR.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank goingwithjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pecora Nera also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to La Pecora Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.