We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting”

Rochford Wines Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 24 Restaurants in Coldstream
Cuisines: French, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Rochford Wines is less than an hour’s drive from Melbourne – and a great place in the Yarra Valley to spend an afternoon with magnificent food and company – with views overlooking the vineyards and a cellar door team ready to run you through Rochford’s award-winning wine list - you’ll be left wondering why you hadn’t come sooner! The Rochford Wines award-winning restaurant can seat up to 240 for major corporate events while offering the intimacy of a quiet lunch for two. Rochford Wines is a showpiece in the region with its outstanding function facilities; it is perfect for corporate events, conferences and weddings. Stroll through Rochford Wines gift shop where you’re sure to find the ideal gift! Spend your summer evenings down at Rochford's new venue - The Deck. Offering a relaxed, southern style menu and live music, kick back and unwind - wine in hand. Often identified with the iconic “A Day On the Green” music festivals, Rochford Wines in the heart of the Yarra Valley. No wonder Rochford Wines has been acknowledged as an outstanding tourism destination as well as magnificent winery. ROCHFORD WINES – MORE THAN JUST A WINERY!
Reviewed 9 March 2018

First I have to say that I do have a passion for wine. We tasted several of their wines here. The staff were friendly and understanding of our requirements. They have enough wines to cater for everyone's taste.

Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford W, Public Relations Manager at Rochford Wines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Glad to hear you enjoyed your wine tasting with us! We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2018

Lunch expensive for what it is but good quality. Service OK. White wines are great but was awfully busy. Hard to get a seat at the tasting bench. Pinot noir up to the very good Yarra Valley standard.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brightonwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford W, Public Relations Manager at Rochford Wines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thankyou for taking the time to leave feedback. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

It appears to me that this is more restaurant and entertainment venue than a serious winery. We were with a tour and had a tasting when we arrived. There was inadequate seating at the tables for everyone although they did have enough chairs. The wines were just average with the Pinot being best although quite light. The host for the tasting was okay but a bit prefunctery. The meal in the restaurant, we had choices and took the salmon which was good and went with the pinot quite well. The dessert was okay and the service was very good considering how busy they were. We were told a concert was in the near future and that they get 1000's of people. I am of the opinion that that is their main drive. I would eat here again but the wines??????

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank buffalobob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford W, Public Relations Manager at Rochford Wines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thankyou for taking the time to voice your concerns. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch and we are sorry to hear that you weren't a fan of our wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Last week I visited Rochford Wines Cellar Door with 3 friends. We were disgusted and disappointed after waiting for some time not one person greeted us or even worse acknowledged our presence. There was a group having a private wine tasting however there were plenty of other staff on the premises who gave us a cursory glance but nothing more - not even a smile! While we obviously couldn't compete with the orders that would have resulted from their private tasting, we visited 6 other wineries and purchased 4 - 6 bottles between us at each stop. Rochford Winery was the only negative experience in the Yarra Valley! Look after your customers Rochford Wines, or make it clear that you do not accept the public dropping into your cellar door. You made us feel bad! Thankfully we decided to try again and visited the winery across the road where we were treated with respect and kindness.

    • Service
Thank SunshineCoasters2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford W, Public Relations Manager at Rochford Wines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thankyou for taking the time to leave feedback. I am so sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience at Rochford Wines. I have passed on your concerns to the relevant department heads as this type of service (or lack thereof provided) is totally unacceptable. At Rochford, we always strive to ensure that our customers have a positive experience so again, I am very sorry this wasn't the case. We thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

This was an excursion provided through a cruise ship port in Melbourne. The wine tasting was very well explained. The grounds were very nice. The food in the restaurant was very good as well. Waitstaff was very efficient and willing to please. Appeared to be setting up for a very large concert, suspect it would be a great location for such an event.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford W, Public Relations Manager at Rochford Wines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Rochford Wines!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rochford Wines Restaurant also viewed

 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Rochford Wines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing