We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,596)
Filter reviews
2,596 results
Traveller rating
1,381
857
230
73
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,381
857
230
73
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews standard room gallery restaurant sand bar sea breeze half board fish jacuzzi beach villa dive centre kids club other islands service charge island hopping curries dolphin cruise main restaurant reef sharks thai restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 2,596 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We were concerned about our late night arrival and emailed the resort through their official website but did not received any reply. Next, we contacted them via Facebook and received a reply after 3 days. By that time it was too late because we had booked a hotel at Hulhumale for 1 night and will transfer to Bandos the next day.

Here is my review:

1) Transfer: Very Good. Bandos Maldives did a very good job to liaise with the hotel at Hulhumale by fixing the time to check-out and the time to meet at the airport. We arrived at the resort's booth outside the airport's arrival gate and waited 25 minutes for other guests to arrive. The 2-way, 15-minute boat transfer cost US$93.46 per adult after tax.

2) Check-in: Very Slow. Waited 2 hours for room to be ready. Was offered to use the clubhouse but we preferred to stay around the lobby area.
Check-out: Great. The resort did not leave us high and dry. We had a late night departure flight. Checked out at 12 pm. Stored our luggage in a locked room at the lobby. We joined the half-day Male City tour. Returned at 5:45 pm and used the clubhouse facilities to shower. A big locker and towels were provided. Transferred to airport at 8:30 pm.

3) Room: Very Good. A double storey villa, with a jacuzzi bathtub. Spacious, with good air-conditioning covering 2 floors. The decor, furnishing, bedding etc, all ok, not stylish, but functional. The jacuzzi was noisy. Cleanliness of the room and bathroom was spot on.
Distance: 40 meters to beach. 180 meters to breakfast/dinner at Gallery Restaurant. 300 meters to Huvan Restaurant, where we did our snorkeling and lunch.

4) Housekeeping: Average. Housekeeping every morning and afternoon. Cleaning was done very quickly.
Upper floor: Making of beds only in the mornings. When sleeping on first night, we placed the cushions and leg spread on the chair. That remained there daily and not re-laid out on the bed.
Lower floor: Daily ration of 2 water bottles, tea/coffee bags. Changing of towels every morning. Toothbrush, toothpaste, hand soap not replaced (no wastage). Shampoo and shower gel lacked fragrance. In the afternoon, housekeeping did a quick sweep of the floor but there are some dusty footprints still noticeable.

5) Food: Good. We were at half board. Breakfast & Dinner ala buffet at the huge Gallery Restaurant. Wide choice of International dishes. Included free flow of 2 choices of fruit drink, water, coffee or tea at breakfast.
Drinks NOT included at dinner. A 1000ml bottle of water cost US$2.50 before tax (see picture for price list).
Dining hours were too short.
Breakfast: 7 to 9:45 am.
Lunch: 12:30 to 2 pm (Fridays 1 to 2:30 pm).
Dinner: 7 to 9 pm.

Lunch (Not Included): Huvan Restaurant. Ala carte. Taste was average. The Fish & Chips was dark brown. Fried rice with satay was ok. Ravioli was below average. Chocolate cake was good. A fly landed into one of our fruit drinks and was replaced without problem.

6) Snorkeling: The best activity in the resort. Rented a snorkeling gear at Dive Center (near Huvan) for US$5.50 per day. Life vests provided free on request. Our favorite spot is at Huvan where we snorkeled until the sun sets. Very good reefs, marine life and daily encounters with the black-tip reef sharks about 3½ feet long. Waters were warm. There are no lifeguards.

7) Excursions: Very Good. Various off-resort excursions available at Riya Center. Timetable for "Today & Tomorrow" displayed. Some outings need enough participants otherwise it will be cancelled.
We joined 2 half-day guided tours. The "Huraa Island & Paradise Island" and the "Male City" tours. Both were good educational tours. Time was short, we had to move quickly. Each half-day tour cost US$55 per person after tax.

8) Service: Very Good. Special mention to Mr Ruvfan (I hope his name is spelt correctly) of Riya Center for his kindness and for taking very good care of us.

9) Overall: Very Good. A piece of paradise. Beautiful sunrise and sunset. Amazing white sandy beaches. Lush greenery. Helpful staff. Perfect size island to explore without getting lost. An excellent air-conditioned mosque. Recommended holiday destination.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank romgozaimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandosM, General Manager at Bandos Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Romgozaimas,

Thank you for taking your valuable times to share with us your experience in Bandos Maldives in such detail. We have really enjoyed reading your review.

Sincere apologies for the delay in getting back to your queries prior to your stay, let me reassure you, our teams will work more effectively in responding to queries. Do accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Our island is only 15 minutes from the airport which pretty much leaves out any hassles along the way as it shortens the waiting time and since you were staying at Hulhumale' you would be completely ready for your resort holiday to begin. As our standard check in time is 2 pm, if we do not have rooms available we would have no choice but to keep our guests waiting. During this time you are able to use all resort facilities or join any of the activities. Our Clubhouse waiting lounge and other facilities are retrievable for all check-in and check-out guests while they wait for their room or wait to depart. Lockers and towels are provided.

Jacuzzi Beach Villa's are one of our most beautiful rooms, with a one-story bedroom and a open Jacuzzi in the bathroom, a living room and a wonderful landscape view from the balcony. The room is stunning. Closer to the beach and house reef, also located conveniently within reach to all our facilities.

We are glad you enjoyed our varieties offered at the buffet restaurant.

It is wonderful you had the time to try out our snorkeling and the excursions including the Male' tour and half day island hopping, hope the tours was informative. Our house reef carries and abundance growth of marine life which is a wonderful sight to our keen swimmers.

We will take all your remarks into consideration as we work towards providing our guests with a more promising product.

We will convey your gratitude to our associate, Rifau, for making you feel welcome and hospitable in our island.

We hope your time in Bandos Maldives has been wonderful. Thank you for staying with us and writing this review! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Ismail Rasheed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

I didn't stay at Bandos but did visit the northern side of the island for a snorkelling trip and it was excellent. We saw turtles and reef sharks and the water was a good depth - not too shallow like in some other places with good access to the reef drop-offs and loads of fish, and some of the better patches of coral around.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ChicaSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandosM, General Manager at Bandos Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017


Dear everyday-onwards,

Thank you for leaving us this wonderful review from your snorkeling experience, we are all thrilled by your experience.

Our house-reef is our most valued possession and to hear such great things about our marine life is truly a pleasure. We hope you come and stay with us some time.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Best regards,
Ismail Rasheed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We will remember forever our honeymoon in Maldives. Bandos was definitely the best choice.
We stayed 8 nights in a standard room. I am very happy for choosing like this because this is the best part of the island. The beach is better and there are beautiful spots to relax with your partner. The whole island is very beautiful, not too big or not too small. So you'll have enough time to explore it. For any inquiries the staff is ready to give you solutions. We had early check in because we arrived at 7 a.m. and we left the island at 8 p.m., so we could enjoy the whole day at the beach.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank amariacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandosM, General Manager at Bandos Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear amariacg,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us this wonderful review from your honeymoon.

We are very happy to know you had such a wonderful time here with us. Standard Rooms are our most popular rooms due to it's cozy design and great location. The beach is right outside with the ocean by your feet within a step, the view is gorgeous with a bit of vegetation. We offer a lot of recreational sports and activities which you can enjoy during your time here, the island itself can be gone around in less than 20 minutes.

Great to know our associates were ready to assist you with any of your inquiry's. We always try to provide impeccable services to all our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, we would love to see you again.

Best regards,
Ismail Rasheed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner recently went for a 10 nights. Having previously seeing pictures and videos we were going with the highest of hopes and we definitely were not disappointed. From the transfer to the reception was so beautiful on that crystal clear water, the resort itself was 100% clean, staff were constantly cleaning the beaches of any debris washed up from sure ensuring your view was always perfect. The staff were extremely attentive, we went bed and breakfast due to not wanting to be tied down to certain restaurants the food everywhere was amazing and such a large variety to choose from, all fresh and wonderfully presented. We also had the ultimate dining experience and i must say it was perfect, a private intimate meal for 2 on the beach with amazing service. I couldn't ask for anything more.

My only criticism is we tried to keep busy with booking excursions daily, the more important ones we wanted to do didn't seem to have enough people and they didn't really offer us an alternative which was disappointing, and throughout the whole holiday one member of staff was a little rude to my partner which understandably we weren't happy about but as we're in such a special place we didn't let it put us down.

I'd 100% recommend anyone to go to Bandos Island. It's a place everyone should say they've been at least one.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandosM, General Manager at Bandos Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Simon D,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us this great review from your recent holiday with us.

Glad to hear our resort was up to your holiday expectations. Our team is most hospitable to our guests in ensuring great experience with us.

As we have varieties of restaurants to choose from, it is certainly a good choice to try out different dining options to enhance your experience. We are happy to know you approve of our varieties and tasteful dishes served. Our intimate dinner is a perfectly romantic experience, we hope you enjoyed it as much as we enjoyed preparing it for you.

Our apologies for the disappointment encountered by your partner, we assure you we treat our guests with utmost respect and try our maximum to find solutions to whichever concern they may have. I will pass on your remark to our excursion center, as some excursions require a minimum number of people for us to confirm. We will discuss on ways we can minimize and let all our guests enjoy and experience their desired excursion.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback, we really appreciate it as this would help us refine our customer service.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Ismail Rasheed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Travelled the beaches of the world but this one is high up there with El Nido, Palawan... maybe even just a tad higher notch when we talk about the sea, the sand, marine life and the natural setting. Took our breath away... manta rays, sting rays, sharks, eels, etc without even looking for them! My dives were picture perfect!
Accommodations were comfortable and adequate... just a few meters from the shore, you can hear the waves when you wake up! Few steps and you're having coffee beachside! REALLY! We just opted for the breakfast package and did different restaurants for dinner. Folks we've spoken while there mentioned the monotony of their meals as they were half or full board guests. We had no problems with adequacy of water for consumption as they were freely and easily obtainable. Understandably, food prices at the restaurants were a tad higher than expected as everything has to be imported but the food we ordered had excellent taste! Shout out to Jana at Maldives Bandos Dives, Ibrahim at the Clubhouse, Lisa at Seabreeze and Safa at the reception! All were so welcoming, accommodating and just plain wonderful! I left Bandos Maldives with a desire for a return! or the record...the resort was at full capacity but my wife and I felt that we had tons of privacy! Love the hammock out in the water right in front go our standard room villa...which by no means "standard"! It was spacious and stylish yet functional! The location of these standard villas will off set any desire to upgrade! You're right in front of the ocean...no kidding, just a few steps. For those that are going ...I'm jealous even though I just returned!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank petpringles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandosM, General Manager at Bandos Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear petpringles,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this admirable review!

We are beyond delighted to know your admiration towards our lovely island, the beach, house reef and the marine life you have encountered during your dives. I have no doubts that your dives were amazing! Glad our team were of assistance through out your stay to help enhance your experience.

The arrangement of the island is bound to provide privacy to all our guests, it has been wonderful reading your review and learning your experience with us. Standard Rooms are indeed in great location, right by the beach, few steps from the shore. We are glad you enjoyed our dining options and found your food tasteful.

Thank you for the shout out to our wonderful associates, we will surely pass the message on.

Thank you for staying with us, it has been such a pleasure having you here in Bandos Maldives. We would love to see you again!

Best regards,
Ismail Rasheed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews