We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
59
36
8
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
36
8
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifian updatesalamilovely familyexcellent beachrecommend this hotelcretan hospitalityacross the roadalbionumbrellasfridgecretesink
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We booked the ALKION HOTEL very last minute, we were looking for something where we could relax & really have a chilled out week (with sun).
Well, all I can say is what a fantastic week we had at this wonderful hotel, on arrival you are struck by the beautiful garden at the front of the building & then on entry to the reception you are greeted with the warmest of welcomes.
The hotel & rooms are spotless, they have all the facilities you could need for your stay (shower unit is a little tight but no issue for us.) .
We were on a B&B board basis, it is a continental breakfast & was more than adequate for our needs ( if i'm honest we ate out most nights & the portions you get are huge so really could not manage a breakfast in the morning, coffee was perfect.)
We used the pool most days as it was very hot & found it a quiet, relaxing area which we enjoyed very much. They can also book excursions for you at very competitive prices , so if you want to explore the Island it is worth it.
Finally I would like to thank Mr Manolis & his lovely family & staff for making us feel well looked after at this charming hotel, it really was our pleasure to stay here & we will not hesitate to book here again. Many thanks to you all , love Neil & Margaret.

N.B We ate out at 3 restaurants , Kimotogi (coldest beer) , Evilion Taverna (a must visit) , Virage Café. Each of which I have reviewed separately.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SpaceAgeWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Great hotel with helpful staff.
Continental breakfast. No problem with the amount of food, it was enough for everyone =)
My bed collapsed, mr Manolis came and fixed it right away =)
I can really recommend this hotel =)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Footprints47237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 10 days and we loved it.
It wasn't so far to Chania or Platanias.
We found two nice restaurangs were we liked to eat and it were restaurang Kalamari, near the hotel and near the beach, Straight over the street from Alkion hotel. And the other place were the restaurang Faros were we went to eat lunch and bought somthing to drink, the both of them had a very friendly staff and near the hotel of course.

The hotel was clean and had a good easy breakfast! Everyone were so kind at this hotel and very helpful. The pool was a simple pool, but we don't think that you need more than that anyway...

We will recommend you to live there! And we are sure that the owner, Manolis of the hotel and the other will take good Care of you!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Stay away from this hotel

We have travelled a lot and had booked 2 weeks holiday on crete at 4 different hotels whereas 3 of Them were 2 stars. And stay away from this hotel. There are much nicer places for a better price.

I have listed below what we experienced:

1. We Did not get the room we ordered. We had booked a tripple room - we got a double room with a baby bed we could not use, it was to small - so we prayed to much - since it was not the room we were meant to get.
2. Bad room quality: the air con was broken, the tv did not work, my husband ended up fixing it himself (when we told mr manolo he Said: we only have greek channels and Said he would come and fix it, he never did) the bulb in the fridge did not work
3. Bad breakfast and sometimes Not enough food. One morning there was not enough breakfast - there was 2 workers beside nobody went out buying things. We had to eat what we had bought in the supermarket the Day before.
4. Not child friendly hotel:
This hotel has not the facilities if you have small children. There is nothing for Them. It says on the hotels webpage/hotels.com there is a playground . It is not true, and we had booked it for that reason. There was some play things at the pool. We asked if we could borrow the play things. We Got the message that it was somebody else. Later on found out it was the owners own childrens. If Cornelia was playing with the few things there were - she was told off. We had bought some play things to her, which we forgot. We wrote to the hotel we were going to Pick it up. When we came we could not get it since Mr. Manolo had started using it.
5. Dont book a car through the hotel it will end in chaos.
We had booked a car through the hotel, and it was the Wrong car which turned up and was basicly to small. I walked out of the hotel in frustration and found a Better car for a better prize 10 min walk Down the road.

.
If the car story was just one thing, but we payed for a tripple room got a double - no play ground, the hotel was more like a hostel - but more expensive, not enough breakfast, etc etc.
We have travelled a lot a this is one of the worse hotel experiences in my life and reminds mé of a hostel in a third world country.
We were so disappointed by this hotel. We had looked forward to a familiy friendly hotel and it was just not family friendly at all and one of our Worse hotel experienced.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Linette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Alkion was a lovely small hotel with amazing staff! Manolis was more than helpful and made us feel very welcome. Easy to get to both hania and platanias. There are many lovely restaurants within 10 minutes walk from the hotel and the beach is just across the road! Would definitely recommend this for anyone who doesnt need anything too fancy x

Stayed: August 2016
Thank miljamaaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANOLIS K, General Manager at Alkion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear miljamaaria, thank you very much for your comments. We feel happy when our guests appreciate the effort we make to offer them nice vacation. We hope to see you again in the future! Have a nice summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews