We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar hotel for the money!”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gerani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We just came back from a fantastic vacation in this hotel. I will be using a lot of superlatives in my reviews but if you browse my other reviews you will see that that is not always the case. If we go back to Crete, we will definitely consider this hotel first!

Every member of the staff was very welcoming and the level of service we received was unprecedented for a hotel in this category. The answer was yes to every request that we made.

This is a family-oriented hotel in a somewhat remote location. This means that it's super cozy and quiet. Perfect for families. It's right there on the beach and there is never a fight to book sun beds either at the beach or by the pool early in the morning. This was an extremely welcome change from us. There are no annoying pool workouts or loud music.

The room was large, much larger than the ones we had gotten in the past for even more money. The beds were comfortable and the AC was working perfectly. We had sea view from the patio and it was so nice to sit there. Believe it or not, you can take photos of the Milky Way straight from the hotel. (With the right equipment of course)!

The food selection was somewhat small but the food was always varied and extremely tasty. It was real Greek home cooking! The kids loved the various pitas.

Please note that the hotel doesn't have a kids club, as a side effect of being relatively small. That said, the reception booked us a babysitter without any problems for a small charge and we were very happy with her.

Wi-Fi it was actually working and this was another very welcome change for us! Instagram was sufficiently fast.

There are numerous beaches that you can drive to in the area so that regardless of the direction of the wind you can find calm seas. Our three favorites were the iguana beach and the two adjacent ones (18 minutes driving time).

I could go on, but I hope that you see from my review that the high scores this hotel received from other reviewers are perfectly justified!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank globetraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 174 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Appallingly basic hotel who has doctored the photos of its rooms!

We arrived and we're refused seeing the room before swiping our card! Exhausted after no sleep we agreed and then walked to our room. Greeted by drunk lecherous old men around the pool, this was benidorms worst meets a basic youth hostel I once stayed in on a school trip!!!

It was so basic and bad the room I had to refuse it and apologise saying this is just NOT the kind of hotel we could stay at! "You must Or my boss will kill me!"

We left and called Booking.com who said we needed to return and take photos. As she had kept our passport we had to anyway! We then noticed they had taken €1200 in total for not staying!!!! To this date a month on they still have this money and Booking.com are ignoring all of our emails!

We went back I did a Facebook live that is on my page Dani Bardot . They refused to let us in our room they had taken the money for as the rented it out straight away!!!!! I asked why they had taken the money then! We also made a mistake booking they took the money for and they refused me to see that room either !!!

The rooms are so basic that if your plan is to drink and eat LOTS This maybe the hotel for you ! But if you have standards and want to relax on a NICE, SPACIOUS room in a clean hotel and a SANDY beach....this place is not for you!!!!!!!

They have still stolen our money and as Booking.com have ignored over half a dozen emails All with photos of the horrendous beach and surroundings. All of my Facebook posts have been attached too and nothing!

THIEVES AND AN APPALLING HOTEL!!!! TRADING STANDARDS ARE NEXT

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Silver Beach Hotel is highly recommended for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Great location at the uncrowded beach, and very friendly, attentive and helpful staff. The rooms are spotless clean and so is the exterior. The food is excellent with a variety of dishes to choose from and very fresh vegetables from the hotel's own kitchen garden. Nearby villages and Chania are easily accessible by public transportation or by car, but you'll find everything you need also in Gerani within a short walking distance.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank LeneA_Trondheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

A small hotel, located by the sand/stone beach, with no other hotels or buildings nearby. Quiet and peaceful, very well maintained. We stayed there with our 1 and 3 year olds. We had a two-room apartment, the rooms are spacious, lots off places to put things in and the walls are thick, so "neighbours" don't bother at all. At the time of our stay there were mainly families with small kids and people at around 50 years old. Lots of people, but it is very quiet, always free sunbeds by the pool or beach. The staff is very helpful, cheerful and caring. All inclusive doesn't include any snacks between meals and no cocktails, BUT the food is totally amazing! Suited for all ages, vegetarians will always find something to eat too and everything tastes wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinaVidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

It was very nice family trip. We are stayed here for 7 night. Hotel is clean, with nice design and friendly personal. Thanks, Silver Beach Team for our vacation.
The Chef FOTIS MILONAKIS - not only good Chef but nice person.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emiliya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerani
1.1 km away
Solimar Aquamarine Hotel
0.7 km away
Vagia Mare Hotel
Vagia Mare Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
120 reviews
0.5 km away
Caretta Beach
Caretta Beach
#5 of 11 in Gerani
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
562 reviews
28 km away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
691 reviews
3.2 km away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Address: Gerani Kydonias, Gerani, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gerani
Price Range: HK$1,056 - HK$3,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff of Silver Beach Hotel welcomes you to our beautiful island and wishes you a most pleasant stay! Please browse through the site to discover the famous Mediterranean hospitality. We look forward to meeting you and guarantee a dream vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing