We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
51
22
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
22
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice pool areanice hotelprosconskmacantoniageorgeairportchania
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Thank you very much for the warm hospitality, everything was just wonderful and cozy. When I checked in with my friends and a 6 year old douther, we were lucky and we were offered a better room than we originally booked. I liked the swimming pool with lighting, the presence of a mini kitchen and a cozy clean bed. Change of linen and towels occurred regularly. The girl at the reception was very hospitable, was always glad to help us, also helped us to rent a car for the trip to Elafonisi beach at a bargain price. Also the owners of the hotel were very hospitable and attentive people. Thanks for everything, be sure to come back to you again!

Room Tip: closed to swimming pool and nice sea view!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Hotel Balito Just 8 km from Chania but very close to the beaches.Recomand Aptera bach,U have grass but sand too ,the water clean& good bar with very good team/staff.
The apt. was clean.Kitchenette basic but OK if you want to cook.Good restaurant close by on the main road.Week end was noise from young ones till late at the bar & swimming pool.We were moved to the front apt . (only Greek channels on TV)Towels changed regularly the sheets only once a week.
Antonia & George were very kind & helpful. They look after your every need, just ask.
The Hotel Good value for money in Crete.
Defo returning.

Room Tip: .....in the middle,103-4-5
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lostshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Everything is perfect at the Balito.
Good value for the money and 10 minutes away from Chania.
The only thing is the sunlight in the morning, you can't really make the bedroom dark.
Thanks Balito we'll be back

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank boda1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Food and Drink 9/10
Hospitality 10/10
Cleanliness 10/10
Facilities 8/10
Local knowledge 9/10
Prices/affordability 9/10
Location 7/10

I've been to alot of Greek Islands but not Crete so was somewhat excited to be visiting for the first time and boy did this holiday deliver! One thing in particular I rate the holiday on is the Cleanliness of the hotel and it's facilities and I could not fault Balito's, always clean towels, rooms and communal areas everyday.

The food and drink at the hotel is excellently priced and great! The owner, George, even treated the whole hotel to a bbq one evening in which we were there and it was some of the best food I've had not to mention the spread was absolutely vast!! He also cooks a monster omelette which is a must have, although you may say pftttt an omelette.. Trust me try it. With alot of hotels/apartments the staff and especially not the owners would go to as much trouble as George did to provide such excellent and affordable food.

The design of our shower was beautiful we had a wonderfully large walk in shower with a very beautiful modern mosiac design covering the floor and walls. Air conditioning, of which in most places you pay additionally for the use of ours we didn't have to pay extra, a safe, an LCD TV and adequate cooking facilities, a large double bed and two sofa beds with one pullout.

The hospitality we received not only from the owner but several of the staff at the hotel was second to none and I don't think I've ever experienced anything like it, they truelly go the distance and bend over backwards to ensure your stay is as perfect as possible! Not only this but the knowledge and friendliness of the staff here was truly heart warming, it felt like home from home.. The owner, George, gave us some great areas to check out. His knowledge was excellent and the variety he offered us was sensational, whether we had a car or what we wanted to see or what type of food and how much we wanted to pay for it was just excellent... We were well and truly spoilt for choice which is never a bad thing!

Although the geographical location is somewhat away from everywhere else you know that before you book, I would almost certainly recommend hiring a car to ensure you don't spend huge sums on public transport or taxis whilst here. Having said that, there is more than adequate means to access places such as platanias, Chania etc. There is plenty of eateries within ten minutes walk of the hotel, several beaches, shops and a thriving community on your doorstep but to access and get a feel for the whole of Crete it's definitely worthwhile hiring a car or transport to get around the island and see many of the stunning sites and locations Crete affords.

Would I hesitate in returning? Absolutely not. 5* and would definitely recommend to anyone regardless of the type of holiday you are looking for, whether it's a relaxing chilled holiday, seeking adventure and exploration of some of the stunning geographical sites Crete has to offer or whether it's just a family holiday this place and most importantly the staff accommodates all.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic extended stay in Chania at Balito apartments! Lovely rooms, with everything we needed and George was very kind and hospitable. Great restaurant recommendations within the local area too. The towels and sheets were changed everyday, and the rooms had all just been refurbished too. This hotel Just outside Chania and easily accessible by bus! Perfect stay if you want some peace and quiet outside the city walls :)

Stayed: June 2017
3  Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews