We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to eat on the island”
Review of Piato

Piato
Ranked #9 of 31 Restaurants in Hydra Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$23
Description: The "Piato" is waiting for you at the centre of Hydra's port to taste home made food , recipes ,grilled meat and fish delicacies with view hydra's port. One real Greek home made food in reasonable prices
Restaurant details
Description: The "Piato" is waiting for you at the centre of Hydra's port to taste home made food , recipes ,grilled meat and fish delicacies with view hydra's port. One real Greek home made food in reasonable prices
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I’m Greek American so know real homemade Greek food (what we just call “food”). The owner Tony is as friendly as can be but his mother is the star of the operation. We had the pleasure of chatting with her twice and it was like listening to our Mom and Yiayia (grandmother) telling us how to cook. Seriously, she cooks for their customers like she would for a family gathering…you can not get better than that. My brother had the audacity to say her kefstedes were better than our mothers. I want to get to heaven so didn’t say that….but!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 60georgeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2021

We were returning from the beach, so we searched for something casual, but tasty. Piato seemed to tick every box, i stress the "seemed". 2/3 of the dishes had hairs in them, and disturbingly, it seemed like they were from different people. The third dish, which was spared the human DNA, was tortellini and we found a small piece of linguini among them.
Way too expensive (17€ to eat tagliatelle with human hair, how nice) for what it offers, every dish was subpar.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Elvira_Gk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiatoToni, Owner at Piato, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Hello Elvira_GK,

We are shocked and very sorry to hear about your experience. Human DNA in any dish is definitely unacceptable - and from different people - very strange indeed. We don’t have any linguine dish on our menu, therefore we don’t have linguine. We wished you would have brought this to our attention on the day of your visit. We definitely would have worked with you. Nevertheless thank you for letting us know, we will investigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2021

I’ve been lucky enough to have the opportunity to dine at Piatto on numerous visits to lovely Hydra. Warm Greek hospitality and the best place to dine in the harbor. The food is delicious with nice options for vegetarians and vegans. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank GreerM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiatoToni, Owner at Piato, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Γεια σου Greer M_11,

Thank you for your kind review! It is always our pleasure to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

Fun restaurant with authentic Greek food and friendly service! Spiros In particular was very friendly!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 126aathiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiatoToni, Owner at Piato, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2021

HI 126aathiran!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We are are very happy that you had a good time and you just made Spiros`day :-). Thank you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Incredible place right beside the sea. Great food, great service and very welcoming place. The owner was very gentle and accommodating, but again the food was AMAZING

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank J7257TPandread
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiatoToni, Owner at Piato, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Thank you so much! We are so happy that you liked our food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piato also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra Town, Hydra
 
Hydra Town, Hydra
 

Been to Piato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.