We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
58
31
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
31
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bella vista living room louise countryside whales
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

We nearly missed the turn off for this lovely old homestead just outside Stanford. Greeted nicely and shown to our room which was actually a lounge, kitchenette, terrace, bedroom and bathroom... Great if you are staying for a few days....and I forget to mention the log burner... We opted for a cosy night in which was a welcome break in the middle of a hectic holiday. No restaurant open as it was September, but we knew that on booking so it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was continental style served in a beautiful room next to the pool. A beautiful place in the South African countryside

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

The place is off the beaten path but truly beautiful. The rooms are gorgeous and so are the surroundings.

Great place to get away from it all.

Only downside was the price. However now I know I would do it again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkhaira894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the Mountain View Cottage which was really great. Well equipped and had even underfloor heating and a fire place to keep us warm. Stunning view from the veranda and the kids loved the loft, the awesome bath tub and the resident jack russel.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Katharina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

This is a fantastic place. Set in amazing fynbos country, high on a hill with a marvelous panoramic view.
Beautifully furnished, exceptionally clean,with personal service. As we were the only guests that day, we were given a breakfast hamper which was delightful. Fruit juices, cereals, cold meats and cheeses and lovely farm baked bread

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1,2 or 3. They have the best views
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PAROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Spent only one night here, unfortunately.
The rooms were beautifully decorated with an enormous bathroom, and despite a power we were supplied with candles and a very powerful rechargeable light, enough to read by. Sitting on the terrace watching the sun set with a gin & tonic, was magical.
Breakfast arrived in a picnic basket.
I would have given Bellavista 5 stars but for two things.
Towelling dressing gowns would have been great and although the continental breakfast was delicious it was such a shame that we didn't have fresh coffee. Instant coffee is not great.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Hello Patsy,
Thanks for your review. I must apologize for the lack of the cosy bath gown which we normally do provide. As for the "fresh" coffee: this is a bit of a problem which we can't really solve. We did and sometimes (to try) still provide fresh coffee and a percolator. Then some people think it is not enough coffee or some guests don't even touch it as they prefer tea. So what do we do? Throw away the coffee so it is going to be "not fresh" a couple of days later or take a chance? We are a small Country Place and do not want to spoil food (or anything else) "just in case". When our restaurant is open (from October to April) you do get fresh-fresh coffee for breakfast in the restaurant. Come back during the warm season ;-)
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews