We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family weekend breakaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2016

spacious cottages with all amenities including warm blankets for chilly days as well as fireplace. Candlewood cottage is more luxurious than oak cottage. Warm welcome from staff and excellent dinner served in their restaurant. although it was a rainy weekend the atmosphere in the dining area were romantic with a fireplace and candles.

Room Tip: cottages were spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzette147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2016

If you ever want friendly service from people prepared to actually put the time in to make you feel welcome and comfortable, then Armagh Country Lodge provides just that. They extremely helpful during the booking process, especially when it comes to someone like me who likes to chop and change their minds. They were always accommodating, which, in my opinion, helps make the experience all that better.

We stayed in the Keurboom suite; very quaint and cute with all the necessities required for a good few nights' stay at the lodge. The room itself was nice and airy, with a comfortable king-sized bed and pillows for a good night's rest. The room was equipped with DSTV (mostly all channels if I recall correctly), a bar fridge, air con, heaters, a good WiFi connection, etc. The dressing table area had ample lighting, which, as a woman, is normally one of the essentials, especially when checking up on the air in the morning - and allowed for all those little nitty gritty plugs a woman usually needs. The overall maintenance of the room was nicely kept. In addition to this, the room was always cleaned during breakfast or when we were out - so there were no intrusions or anything of the sort. And the room was ALWAYS cleaned every day. The only issue I had with the maintenance of the place was the fact that sometimes the linen/towels would be replaced with ones that had dirt marks on them/brown splotches - although I do understand that this may sometimes occur due to water quality in the area?
Other than that, there were no complaints about the room, and we found things to be simply perfect for our 3 night stay at Armagh.

Breakfast and dinner at the Rafter's Restaurant were always a treat. Not only were we greeted with smiles and warm welcomes in the chilly mornings, but the hospitality extended further than that. Friendly conversation and an interest in the day's activities were shown, which was quite refreshing, instead of being just another pair of customers. Breakfast itself was delicious. Ranging from fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurts, pecan nuts and raisins (a personal little favourite snack) as a 'starter' to the 'main' which included the usual breakfast of eggs, bacon, etc. We even dared to request an omelette... And it was absolutely delicious. Dinner was even better. The lamb shank was a personal favourite, and I would recommend that to everyone and anyone out there. The meat was soft and tender, and cooked in a delicious marinade/sauce. It literally fell off the bone in places, and was absolutely delectable that I could not request having it for a second night in a row. The vegetables served were fresh, and the mash was also very tasty with few lumps. Then the pork ribs happened. And I kid you not, that was an equally scrumptious and definitely worth the wait (they ran out of ribs on the Saturday and Sunday evening). The meat was soft and tender, and there were some sections where you could literally slide the meat right off the bone! I would definitely recommend these two meals from the menu they provide. It was literally some of the best food I have had. The beef hot pot was not as thrilling as the lamb shank nor the pork ribs. They lacked a wow factor - but I cannot comment further on this as I was not the one who ordered the meal.
The brownies and ice cream for dessert simply rounded off a very filling meal ... They are definitely not shy with portions and you do not leave there hungry.
The menu was short and concise, leaving few options for those who felt like meat but wanted to avoid things like burgers, fish, and chicken. However, the one thing I did enjoy about the menu was the connoisseur's list, which helped you pair your wines with the right foods.

The position of the Armagh Country Lodge allowed us access into Storm's River village via a short walk or cycle along the roads; there were plenty of attractions and things to do around the area which left us with an exciting journey every day. Overall, the place was highly enjoyable and I would definitely recommend having a visit at this true little gem.

Room Tip: The Keurboom honeymoon suite was basically nice and secluded and provided us the privacy needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PSHouseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

The poeple were friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice. You can find the Guesthouse easy from the N2.
There was a good spa. Good massage.
The breakfast was good, but the portion was a litle bit small.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 814fabiennen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The finer little things made the honeymoon garden cottage a delight! Candles everywhere, fragrant bath goodies, real ground coffee and plunger in the room are but a few of the luxuries that we treated to. It made all the difference to feel special. The cottage offers privacy and has been appointed with style and class. We loved it so much we stayed an additional night and did not want to leave. A little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: The other rooms were part of the lodge and restaurant building. We chose the cottage at a minimal a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

This is such a special place! We spent two nights at Armagh on Honeymoon and LOVED it from the moment we saw it! It is the perfect place to unwind and relax. The view from the cottage is stunning. The staff members were all extremely friendly and helpful. My husband and I will definitely return to this establishment. Great setting, great people and excellent service.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Nads815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
12.3 km away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
711 reviews
0.4 km away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
923 reviews
8.2 km away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
794 reviews
0.2 km away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
405 reviews
0.3 km away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#3 of 12 in Storms River
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa

Address: 24 Fynbos Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Storms River
Price Range: HK$663 - HK$1,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa est. 1994 offers comfortable ensuite airconditioned rooms, spacious gardens with Tsitsikamma Mountain views, a Country Spa and South African Cuisine in Highly Acclaimed Rafters Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing