We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
59
75
55
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
75
55
24
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived on site to be told that it was €18 per day extra by Samantha...an oversight on my  part ..in fairness when I explained that we would not be using the facilities everyday as we were touring around they agreed we should pay each day as per what was used....when we arrived at the apartment it was filthy and imagine our dismay when we realised that the toilet still showed the evidence of a previous stayer .....urine all over the seat ...I brought this to Samantha's attention  who then stated that I was only saying that to get a different larger room...I couldn't believe it ..she said there was no more rooms and that I should just accept the one we were given ....I contacted Bookings. Com and they spoke to her ......Suddenly there was a room available which I declined asking for a refund of our €1016 which she immediately refused saying they do not do refunds .....2 hours later my wife and daughter were upset and being roasted in the car outside while I was in reception trying to sort something out
I asked for an upgrade to a larger room have suffered what was now
3 hours of hell which was immediately refused unless I wanted to pay €800 more ....then suddenly the receptionist said and I quote "you caused all this just trying to get a free upgrade "in the end 4 hours later banging our heads of a brick wall we accepted a different room and just tried to forget the horrendous experience that we were subjected to .....we will never come here again

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed here on a couple of occasions and I have found it to be such a fabulous place in so many aspects. I love the Shuttle bus service that runs to Lecce and beach.
I love the fact that it is fully self contained and I have had an opportunity to see the real Italy. I would stroll down to the local piazza just outside the resort, shop like a local at the butcher, go to the 'ape' to buy my fruit and vegies and return to the resort to cook. I really enjoyed the fact that you get a great feel for this place with it's Mediterranean food, heat and the locals.
We have enjoyed the pools, the activities and especially a terrific event held here one night during our stay. I loved it so much, I booked my daughter and her friends whilst they travelled on a tour around Europe, they also really loved it. As for the staff, they have all been top but Bruno I have to say must be commended on his super service and he truly deserves to be recognised for his outstanding customer service skills. He has managed to reassure me (as I live in Australia - the other side of the world) and I was relieved to know my daughter and her friends are in the best possible care on more than one occasion when I needed to contact them and also when they were requiring assistance. Highly recommend this to those that are looking for exceptional value for money and terrific service

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carmel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent a week here in May, 2014. This resort needs to evaluated through the lens of what it cost to stay here for a week. We paid 1/5 the cost of our previous week in a lovely spot in Sorrento. We saw no packs of dogs, or youths, or garbage. Yes, there were areas where the grass hadn't been cut and weeds were growing. These areas were being cut during the week we were there. Our apartment was clean. We e-mailed ahead and told them we were three single women, when we arrived we had a one bed room unit with three single beds in it as well as a day bed in the living room. We told them our arrival time and were picked up by the shuttle bus at the train station. We were told before we came to the area that it was primarily an area where Italians go to holiday, not a non-Italian tourist area. We thought it was a bonus to go to somewhere that was "off the beaten path". One of the three people we dealt with at the front desk spoke reasonably good English. The other two people had very limited English, but at all times were courteous and helpful. There is a young man named Ricardo in the rather good restaurant on site who speaks English quite well, perhaps he should be moved to the front desk. The worst part about the week was other English speaking guests who complained incessantly about everything. I was embarrassed by them and for them. By all means stay at I Giardini di Atena, and enjoy the beauty of the area, the wonderful people and above all the food!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zazt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This place has been the worst place I have ever stay at in Italy. Garbage everywhere, weeds all over the place. People who do the cleaning are very rude. They charge 60 euros for maintenance that is in addition to what has been paid to interval world. I hope interval takes this place out of the places to stay in. Is not worth the amount they charge I Am submitting a few pictures to interval.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank GusS783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firenzemari77, Direttore at I Giardini di Atena, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014
Google Translation

Gentilissimi,
mi preme rispondere in italiano per una maggiore chiarezza dei nostri utenti in territorio nazionale: apprendo che purtroppo la sua recensione non rappresenta una adeguata testimonianza dei fatti realmente vissuti nel complesso, in primis dovuto all'atteggiamento prevenuto mostrato chiaramente al suo arrivo nel Resort in quanto si aspettava una tipologia assolutamente diversa di struttura ricettiva; il nostro staff è inoltre sempre molto attento alla cura, alle pulizie e all'aspetto esterno, così come la manutenzione dei locali ed alloggi interni eseguita costantemente rappresenta il nostro amore per il Resort e per la soddisfazione del cliente: sfido in ogni momento a trovare ciò che lei ha lamentato con tale gratuita crudeltà e false illazioni.
Pertanto, cari ospiti, anche nel rispetto delle altre strutture che andrete a visitare, nonchè della Interval Stessa con la quale collaboriamo egregiamente da anni, vi invito a scrivere eventuali recensioni sulla base di opinioni realmente compatibili con la realtà, piuttosto che sparare a 0 solo perchè ci si aspettava un hotel e con i servizi di un hotel e non di un residence.
D'altronde i graditissimi commenti visionabili in precedenza alla sua recensione, testimoniano il nostro impegno e la nostra passione per i nostri servizi...
Cordiali saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We arrived early Saturday evening to find that there was no shop on site as promised in the literature, without a car it was impossible to get anything anywhere. The packs of dogs roaming around were quite offputting, but not as bad as the youths gathering all around the place. The apartment was to say the least sparse. There were no cleaning materials left for our use, nor were ther any means of lighting the hob, even if we had brought food. The living area is laughable, one easy chair in an area meant for 4. The Patio furniture was decrepit..The outlook poor, overlooking other butlins type chalets . In fact most of the chalets seemed to be in permanant occupation and we were informed that they are used by peopele who are "between" homes. The Bistor opened and closed as the whim took it. The restaurant was never open and the bar though usable was mainly empty. The swimminh pools were shut as was the thetare and the promised entertainment never once happenned.

On the positive side the staff were top notch even though they could not help, the free shuttle bus to Lecce was exactly what we carless people needed. Generally the area was clean and tidy.

Room tip: If you do not have a car, forget it! If you want to relax on site, forget it!
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firenzemari77, Direttore at I Giardini di Atena, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Sir,
in thanking you for the time you spent in writing about your experience, I must not anyway forget that your complains are based on a wrong reality of our Resort, for the reason as follows:

- First of all you perfectly kwew that in April our opened- swimming pools are still closed, for they open from juny to september; then the Bistrot delle Rose was opened almost every evening, not in the morning and the well. furnished Morvans Bar inside the Resort is opened the whole day;
- our Staff is always at disposal for every needs of our guest, above of regarding the furnishments of our flats and we did not receive any complains from you during your stay..

I'm really sorry of this disappointment of yours, but this thougt in not based on our reality in the Resort, that lot's of guests on the contrary use to appreciate very much..
Best Regards
the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews