We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
54
19
10
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
19
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews price tag sense pool kitchen breakfast puglia apartment
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We booked Borgo Sentinella as the first of a 4 Masseria trip around Puglia - and what the delightful start it turned out to be! The Masseria (once inside) is absolutely stunning - the pool and buildings are picture perfect and there was a sense of complete relaxation as soon as you stepped inside.

It feels brand new and so hopefully a couple of constructive comments will be received with the positive intent in which they're given;
1. Breakfast - it seems to be a common theme in the reviews and I wanted to be really clear that I am not writing as a 'typical Brit' who doesn't understand how Italians do (or don't do) breakfast - we spend months each year in Italy and so definitely understand what to expect. We did however expect slightly more (given the €10 per person per day price tag) than we received at Borgo Sentinella. The fact that it is an additional cost is very rare and suggests that they would prefer not to provide b&b - and to be fair I would recommend that you head out to the lovely patisserie in Torre Dell'Orso for breakfast, where you can get a feast of delicious pastries and coffee for less than half the price. However - I also appreciate that people are on holiday and that when you are somewhere where you know you are going to have to drive out for lunch and dinner, it's nice to have breakfast where you are staying, so that you can spend a couple of hours enjoying the Masseria and the relaxing spaces it has to offer. Therefore, my suggestion to the Borgo Sentinella would be to make the breakfast that you do provide free or to add a little more selection to justify the additional price - it wouldn't take much to add a few slices of ham, cheese & tomato - maybe a second coffee?
2. This may be very picky, but I had to mention the shower door - as I'm not sure if it was just our room, but it felt as though someone had forgotten to put the second half of the door on?! Clearly it doesn't bother the staff that the bathroom gets flooded each day (didn't really bother us either, easily and quickly dried up) but just felt worth a mention!

Despite these very small couple of niggles this is the perfect place to stay in the Torre Dell'Orso/Otranto region. A great base (once you've dragged yourself away from the pool) for explore the stunning coastline of Otranto/San Foca/Torre Dell'Orso.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kalkan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

My husband and I stayed at Borgo Sentinella for 3 nights whilst visiting the Salento region of Puglia. The hotel is nicely laid out, with many apartments and rooms scattered around the grounds of the borgo, surrounding the pool. Our room was the closest to the main road / reception area but the walls are so thick you cannot hear any of the cars zooming past, day or night.
Our room was large & spacious, with the bed on the mezzanine level, accessible via a circular staircase. We had a kitchenette with full size fridge and whilst the bathroom was small, it was functional and the shower was walk in. We had two air cons, one downstairs which kept nicely cool, and another next to the bed upstairs but it was always slightly humid regardless. There was skylight in our room, which didn't have a working auto shade, and so it meant we slept with eye masks on to avoid being woken up at with the dawn. Also, there is no safe in the room. So a couple of negatives for what was otherwise a lovely room.
The pool is large and clean, and the hotel grounds are kept well. The car park is at the back of the property which leads you down a quiet dirt road so you are not entering and exiting from the main gates on the main road. The staff were helpful and gave us some good recommendations, including a great family run salumeria around the corner (2 min drive) which was absolutely fantastic. We didn't have the breakfast at the hotel, as we made use of the kitchenette instead.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrsS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

This is not s 5 star luxury hotel in some high rise but a great getaway from the chaos of a beach town in August. In a tranquil setting, surrounded by olive trees, the rooms are basic but comfortable. The pool is a welcome oasis with umbrellas and cool water. The breakfasts are filled with fresh local fruit and the aroma of coffee. The staff could not be better. They are helpful and very accommodating. Make this part of your next trip to Puglia.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ggcaiazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Whilst there was ostensibly nothing wrong with this converted farm type building it did not have the wow factor the price tag suggests. First impressions slightly irritating as the entrance to the car park is not signposted and about a mile round the block. A few signs would help tremendously. Not a huge negative but an avoidable annoyance nonetheless.
The swimming pool is wonderful. Large and relatively deep. Again, even this was spoilt by a complete absence of parasols or some other shading from sun loungers. There were a couple of gazebos but that's it. A simple thing.
As a whole there is a sense that the hotel is unfinished. That may excuse some of the faults but when you're paying top dollar you are right to expect a fully finished hotel. Breakfast is served in the room which is because there is not communal area for eating. That sums up why this hotel lacks impact. There is just an absence of stuff like bars, chill out areas and general communal spaces and nice touches.
In summary, great potential but needs a bit more thought and investment before it can join the ranks of the best.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank getdeeper2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews