We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,713)
Filter reviews
5,713 results
Traveller rating
2,871
2,017
598
140
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,871
2,017
598
140
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain restaurantpizzaanimation teamlate breakfaston taprelaxing holidayla palmaevening entertainmentbar staffheated poolself servicela chozaplenty of sunbedsall inclusive packageplenty of choicethomson repsalad
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 5,713 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel
The hotel is massive taking 40 minutes to walk around the perimeter, it’s at a stunning location high up on the rocks above the ocean. Finding your room is tricky in the evening as the place becomes a maze.

Staff
Upon arrival the Staff are friendly and helpful apart from a couple of bar men that need to cheer up a bit.

Rooms
The rooms are comfortable and cleaned very well daily. Yes the decor is a bit dated but in reality how much time do you spend in your room? The room had air con a safe, TV and a kettle... there was a walk in shower, a bath and a hairdryer.

Food
When your at a hotel of this size you have to expect the food is done on mass l, I would say the food was a good standard and with a good choice each evening. The themes change each day such as Chinese, Mediterranean, local canaries, Mexican etc ... there is something for everybody unless you are one of those ultra picky types, in which case if you are stay elsewhere.

Drink
Now, drinks were ok, lager was Cruzcampo (Heineken) with a good selection of shorts (usual enormous measures) cocktails were dreadful.... Pre made rubbish that tasted dreadful... I had one and took it back, that was the end of my cocktail experience. The hotel needs to make the cocktails fresh otherwise stop .... pre made is not the way!!

Pools
There were 11 pools most were enormous. Only one was heated but in the mid day sun the chill of the water is welcomed. Plenty of room to swim so all good in the pool section.... lots of sun beds too so no need to do that dawn raid thing, although some still did.

Entertainment
The entertainment team put on a good show each evening aimed mainly at the children, in the reception area there was piano music and live music some evenings.... there was karaoke in the reception area but that just brought in children from the main function room to squeal their way through the same songs whenever karaoke started. The hotel should stop karaoke in this area and keep it for somewhere that people can sit around and talk.

Local area
Bananas bananas bananas .... lots of bananas ..... stunning scenery and beautiful unspoilt towns .... rent a car if you want to see the best of the island. It’s incredibly hilly but breathtaking.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tourist779309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We have used the princess chain for around 14 years now and have been to this hotel 3 times in as many years what we did notice this time was the dress code seems to have been dropped. We regularly saw men in swim shorts in the restaurant in the evening this has always been long trousers for men in fact I have seen men turned away for wearing smart shorts and even 3/4 length. I don't mind the smart shorts but some people looked like they had just come up from the pool.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpprincess, Manager at La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear Chris H,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion.
We are glad to know that it was you 3rd visit to La Palma/Teneguía Princess.
We always say that long trousers must be worn. The use of shorts is a cultural factor where we can not intervene, however every night we advised to wear appropriate clothing as we do not want our quality standards dropping.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Javier Bellido-Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We’d done our research prior to booking so this review is based entirely around what our preferences are and what we experienced in line with those. We travelled from UK with First Choice (Tui) and are experienced travellers on a modest budget.

We took the guidance given in reviews regarding evening arrivals and to leave your bags and check in after you’ve eaten. This worked perfectly and we didn’t have to wait at all in a long check in line.

The hotel ground are spacious but not massive, well maintained and clean as was our room.

The first couple of days were overcast but warm, we weren’t fooled by this (as many were) and made sure we had suncream on. There were lots of very red, sore people knocking about after the first couple of days. The pool areas are great plenty of sun-beds and shade if you want it. We sat around the main pool area the first day but then moved to a much quieter, tranquil pool for the rest of the week. The pool water was cool but fine once you were in and just what was needed as it got warmer during the week.

The hotel welcome pack gave conflicting information re the all inclusivity aspect of the holiday but that was soon clarified via the Tui rep. The hotel staff are perfunctory in their work, this wasn’t an issue to us.

The main problem and real issue for me was the food - I am a foodie and this isn’t a place for foodies. The First Choice description led me to believe there was around 4 restaurants to eat at so I was expecting choice and variety. There was La Choza open for later breakfast and lunch only with a lovely outdoor seating area overlooking the sea. Great breakfast choice with lovely bakery breads. BBQ type
lunch with a meat and fish choice along with the usual salad bar, chips, pasta and fried stuff. There is also the Pizzeria when opens at lunch and serves until about 6pm, not open in the evening. We tended to go for lunch and you could get a freshly baked pizza alongside burgers, salad, hotdogs, chips, chicken nuggets etc plus a choice of 2/3 desserts. The main issue here was a complete lack of serving system in place which varies every day dependent upon who’s serving. Some days they’d serve your pizza order at the table and other days you’d be expected to queue by the pizza counter. They quite rightly refuse service if you’re wet from the pool or without a top or shoes but we’re happy to let older kids in wearing the biggest inflatable unicorn ring ......

Only place to eat in the evening was the main restaurant which was like a canteen of massed produced school dinners. There was a daily ‘country’ theme at the cooking stations plus salads, pastas, more chips, etc etc. The A La Carte restaurant was only
open on a Wednesday evening and had an extremely limited tapas style menu typically of stuff you’d find in the canteen. Certainly not haute cuisine or higher end food. Really disappointed in the lack of choice of places to eat in the evening.

The drinks were fine, all local spirits fine but a lack of low calorie soft drinks only cola. Very generous spirit measures and good cava.

If you’re leaving later in the day or early evening you’re told you may be able to extend (€40) your room at 48 hrs notice. There was no chance of this we were informed when we tried to extend but we’re offered the use of a courtesy room 5 hours before the bus was due to leave. Not helpful as this then takes your last day of holiday - which you have paid for and want to enjoy rather than be sitting around having got showers and changed 5 hours ahead of your departure time. We managed to work out an alternative .....

The other aspect which really riled me was the notice saying that the hotel offered all
inclusivity as a gesture of goodwill on your departure day - I’m sorry but we booked and paid for an all inclusive holiday and that is from arrival to departure - no favours required thank you!

Anyway like I said this review is based around our preferences which won’t be the same for all. I wouldn’t consider it a 4 star hotel but a good solid 3.

We had good weather, and for a week it was great to chill out but I went home looking forward to cooking for myself knowing it would be better quality food that met my foodie standards.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank fatandfrantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpprincess, Manager at La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear fatandfrantic,
Thank you so much for having taken the time to share your impressions with us.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed the rooms, pools and breakfast.
We regret that the food was not of your liking. We have already informed the department but it is very difficult to be able to keep happy all the customers at once.
All inclusive package ends on your final day 11 o'clock, although you have not seen it like that, is a gesture of goodwill.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Javier Bellido-Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I Write this review on our last day having checked out after a week's Holiday. Checked out at 10 leave hotel at 6pm.

This place does not deserve the awful reviews on here. They are Harsh. It does however have it's faults albeit they are not too imposing.

Check in is a nightmare. I had read this before so got a taxi from the airport. Checked in straight away. There then followed 350 people all to check in. They arrived at 10pm and were still queuing at 1am. Thank heavens for the warnings on here.

Rooms are perfect. Spacious clean well furnished. The world's biggest shower and a bath. 10 out of 10 for these.

11 pools consisting of 9 main ones. 1 Kids and 1 Nudist. Again clean and plenty of room. More sunbed than people. 10 out of 10.

Food is typical all inclusive but below standard of other Princess Resorts We have been to. Quite repetitive and only warm.

Two pool bars one closed permanent. Ques are awful in here mainly because of people ordering coffee which takes an age to serve. Could really do with machines like in the main restaurant. Drinks are fine round the pool.

Pizza restaurant poolside and La Choza for breakfast overlooking the sea is perfect. 10 out of 10 for these.

Things to do or see. NOTHING unless you like walking or hire a car. No complaint here we knew before we booked. It's how we wanted it. No Bars or shops within a taxi ride away so come prepared.

Tum rep was near to useless. He had only been on island a couple of days and was covering for a colleague. Not much use as far as local info is concerned.

Very cloudy island so don't expect all day sunshine. Still very warm though. You DONT need a cardigan at night.

Main bar. I've got to be harsh here. Takes an age to get served again because of ques again caused by the need to order 6 coffees at a time. Staff in here we found were very Rude! They didn't seem to want to be there. Usually only one on and maybe that's why. Overworked. Probably the hotels fault. They need at least three on to cope with the crowds.

Other staff elsewhere friendly and helpful.

Don't buy photos from the photographer RIP off. 15 euro for a glossy photo and he takes about 12.

Two shops on site but limited stock.

Location and setting is idyllic 10 out of 10

Entertainment in the evenings is basically a lower class Butlins standard. I need say no more you be the judge.

Would we come back again? I don't think so. We enjoyed our time here but it's not up to Princess usual standards. Not a 4 star. If they improve service at bars and upgrade food maybe.

On a plus point we got to see GERMANY kicked out of the World Cup.

Off to the pool bar to ques for another drink now.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jackreagan508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week at the beginning of June on an all inclusive board basis. The first thing I'll say is that this hotel is huge!! 11 pools - 9 full sized, adult pools, 1 kids pool and 1 small pool in the "relax" area. The hotel is built on the side of a volcano so areas are fairly hilly with quite a few steps but the hotel does have golf buggies so the less mobile can be chauffeured around. All pool areas were well kept and clean and there were absolutely loads of sun loungers so no need to get up at the crack of dawn. The food was lovely - they have a main restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner but they also have a pool side restaurant the serves a late breakfast (available until 10:30) as well as a pool side Pizzeria for lunch. Large selection of food on offer - chips, burgers, pasta for the less adventurous and themed nights (Spanish, Asia, Caribbean, local etc) for those wanting something different. The All Inclusive package included a large selection of drinks (local brands) and the hotel has a disco bar, piano bar and pool bar. Lots of entertainment provided including daily activities around the pool - stretching, aqua-aerobics, table tennis, mini golf, water polo etc - and nightly shows, some by the entertainment team and some with local acts performing. Our room was lovely, spacious and clean. We had a sea view without paying extra (tip - ask for a high room as these can see over the other buildings to the sea view) however upgrades were available. The room included a safe, loads of wardrobe space, TV, hairdryer, kettle with tea/coffee etc, fridge and a balcony with a table and chairs. The bathroom was large and had both a bath and a separate shower (roomy and powerful). Rooms were cleaned daily and towels were changed when left in the bath tub. The hotel is actively trying to reduce environmental damage so they provide you with a beach towel which you can change twice during your stay but if you want to change it more then there is a small charge (50 cents per change). Similarly they have water fountains in all the bars where you can get water for free but they do not serve bottles of water. You can refill your own bottle or buy a refillable bottle from the bar to use (75 cents). This impressed us as it significantly cut down on single use plastic - the 1st place I've known to attempt this. Staff were friendly and helpful especially on reception and we were able to keep our room for a late check out on our final day. This was a gorgeous hotel that I'd definitely recommend for a relaxing holiday - it's in a secluded area surrounded by a banana plantation. Ideal for those wanting to escape from life!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Louise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews