We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
82
28
12
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
28
12
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe location is perfectthe breakfast areahire carsnew buildself cateringwashing machinethese apartmentsannasluxurypoolholidayvillagreekaccommodationcookersunbedssquare
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

A stunning hotel.
Set just a 6 minute walk from the river bridge into Georgioupolis, this Hotel is miles apart when it comes to style.
Anna's House consists of a main area and then some outlying buildings along the lane and offers Apartments or Maisonettes (Villas).
We stayed on the main site in a Villa (more on this later). It was very clean, very spacious and offered fantastic views of the pool area, it was superbly equipped with a full kitchen including Dish Washer, Full size Fridge Freezer and Cooker with all necessary utensils, crockery etc you would need if wanting to prepare meals for yourself. It also had a Washing machine, Iron & Ironing board the complete package for self catering.
It was however looking dated and was let down by having only one Bath/Shower although the second downstairs toilet was a godsend for two couples sharing (more on this later) !
We were informed that they are to be refurbished over the coming closed season 2017/2018. This is not the case with the Villas situated along the road, these are new build, furnished with a Boutique/Modern interior but are priced as such!
Outside we enjoyed our own little Patio area with sizable table and chairs over looking the pool.
The Bar area is well equipped and is great for a cooling Beer during the day or a relaxing drink in the evening.
The Breakfast area was excellent with a good selection all self service plus Omelettes/Eggs cooked to order. Plenty of seating but it doesn't take long to work out the busy times if you want to avoid a little hustle/bustle.
The Pool is simply stunning, has a small fenced off kids area and is circled by large plush sunbeds. We never failed to get a bed no matter what time we turned up although a large stack of extra beds are located by the shower that you could place anywhere on the vast grassy areas around the grounds for more peace/privacy.
Peace & Privacy sums the place up rather well, its so quiet. Maybe it is because the complex is spread out with some having they're own pool or simply the fact that the (Apokoronas) area has so much to offer (the many hire cars parked outside at night & missing during the day would suggest this).
The staff are all friendly and welcoming, from the cleaners who take care of your rooms every day, to the bar man, kitchen staff and reception.
So why the ONE SLIP?
Well there was confusion on our arrival. We had booked months earlier for two apartments via bookgreece.com , as two couples.
The hotel had us down for one shared accommodation, two adults 3 kids !!!!!!!!
When the dust had settled and as the hotel was otherwise fully booked, we were offered a choice, Stay in the shared Villa and a refund equal to the difference in price of the rooms would be given, Stay in the new style more expensive villa (still sharing) with no adjustment to price or the hotel would find us suitable alternative accommodation (not sharing) in another hotel in the area.
We wanted to be at Anna's House and opted for the (more practical) on site Villa (sharing) with the agreed refund and a sizable credit behind the bar (that took some wrangling but we got there in the end)!

I would add that the Management did all they could to accommodate us in a way that was available to them and acceptable for us and although we had to forgo a little privacy, we enjoyed a wonderful stay and had it not been for the "one slip" then Anna's House would get top marks.

Room Tip: Main site is best for swimming pool others only dipping/ relaxing pools
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fat-tyer-flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Extremely over priced for what you get in our opinion. Make sure you get your room in the main area where reception/bar is. There are other apartment blocks nearer to town but only an extra 2 minutes walk. We stayed in the apt block near the bridge with a pool. Very small apts with an incredibly small, triangular balcony that is not comfortable to sit at. "Light" self catering is impossible with absolutely nowhere to even prep a salad. They are focusing on design rather than functionality. Oh and one of the managers is beyond rude. And they appear to keep over booking or having no record of customers who arrive with paperwork having booked. I'm also wondering why there are no other reviews for 2017?

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annashouse, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Anna's House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Annashouse hotel has 4 locations in a walking distance one from each other, this information is available and opened for anyone who can ask.
All the locations include the apartments of different categories and the hotel provides the clients exactly the categories of the apartments that had been booked by the guests.
Even though some clients are not satisfied with the apartments that they checked in, the hotel tries to do its best to satisfy the needs of the people and to meet their demands. At the high season it is not easy to do, but the guests with the compalints are our first task to satisfy.
Therefore some clients are arrogant and rude and have really a very bad attitude to the stuff and they do not want to speak and just want to scream and hit the desk of the reception - still they are proposed to change the apartment for the same category but of the different design. If these clients refuse to change the apartments after they are proposed - what else the stuff of the hotel can do for them?
The hotel had never left even one client outside of the hotel or on the street, so there is nothing to explain about not having paperwork - thats an imaginary story of a client who is not satisfied and nothing else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My new German wife and I (American) enjoyed our honeymoon, based at Anna's House. The staff were very friendly from Helen greeting us and serving us drinks after a long trip there, to the great help from Jacqueline on renting a car and suggesting day trips.
We didn't do the "All Inclusive" but the breakfasts we had were excellent and filled us up for the day. The pool is immaculate. Loved the setting at the base of the hills and within walking distance of so many great restaurants, gift shops, and the beautiful white sandy beaches of Georgiopouli.
Will definitely plan to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psgcaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

First of all, the hotel is separated in 4 different sites. The furthest one is 300m from the main site where the breakfast is served. Each one has it's own swimming pool, some are nicer or better oriented than others but you can access any of them. In the end it does not change anything but it is not very clear in the hotel description and can give a not justified bad first impression.
The rooms are modern and especially the bed was great!
Neighbourhood is very quiet!
Swimming pools and space around are very nice.
Breakfast is very good with a lot of choices (salty and sweet).
The location is a quite good option to do day trips in all western Crete.

Room Tip: "River" site is the furthest but quieter. Best option for rooms. "Sunday beach" site : Best choice for duplex : private area on 2 pool.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chronotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The Hotel was in a nice location. Service was excellent and the staff was kind.
The rooms were clean and spacious and nice view. The manager was professional and made sure to accommodate our needs. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank joannasykokis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews