We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Miha B
Ljubljana, Slovenia

Very nice hotel with amazing food and service

Review of Hotel Cappella
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Aug 2023
Very nice hotel with very friendly staff. We liked, the way it's renovated, where it is renovated. The rooms are clean, nice and big enough.
The food for dinner is exceptional! We loved it very much, and the service there is also amazing.
Why I cannot give 5*****, is because of beds and pillows. And no air-conditioning, especially in the gym, which I cannot understand. And the gym is the place, where I was really disappointed. The equipment is very, very old, and very badly equipped concerning weights, etc.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlo Pizzinini, Inhaber at Hotel Cappella, responded to this review
Responded 22 Aug 2023
Dear guest,
we thank you for your kind review and hope that on the whole you had a nice time in Colfosco.
We are sorry that beds and pillows didn't sactisfy you. On the other side we bought them all new 2 years ago and tried to find the best we could find.
In 1.650 it is not easy to find an air-conditioning. We only have 2 weeks of really warm in the whole year. Nevertheless there is a ventilation and very big windows to open. Thank you for the advice of the equipments. Most of the equipment was bought with the restructuration of the fittnes in 2016...
Best regards from Colfosco,
Pizzinini Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Hotel Cappella
Free Wifi
Pool
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Hotel Cappella
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Hotel Cappella
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Hotel Cappella
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Hotel Cappella
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Hotel Cappella
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Hotel Cappella
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Hotel Cappella
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
0.7 km from Hotel Cappella
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Hotel Cappella
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Colfosco
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
260
47
6
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
260
47
6
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cannot recommend this hotel enough wonderful view capella renovation spa facilities perfection summer ski mountains dolomites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2023 via mobile

Wir waren noch einmal mit dem Hotel völlig begeistert und danken der Familie Pizzanini und dem Hotelteam für den so freundlichen Empfang.

We were back at the Cappella for our third visit, and again stayed in the wonderful room 404. This room has every amenity (apart from milk for tea & coffee), comfortable beds and the most spectacular view from the balcony.

Luigi has the restaurant team could not be more helpful, and the food at breakfast and in the evening was once again superb.

The pool and garden make a lovely place to relax after a day’s walking, and they are never crowded.

It’s clear that Mr and Mrs Pizzanini really enjoy meeting their guests. They always find time to chat, as do the reception staff.

We look forward to returning next summer.

Room tip: Take half board - the evening meal is exceptional.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank knitwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlo Pizzinini, Inhaber at Hotel Cappella, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2023

Dear Mr. Peter,

thank you so much for your nice review. We are very happy that you had a nice holiday and enjoyed your staying. Thank you also for the nice words for our staff. Also we believe that they are doing a really grate job. The human part is the most important part in a House.

We are very happy to welcome you again next summer and wish you, till then, a good and healthy year.

Best greetings from Colfosco,

Pizzinini Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2023 via mobile

My family and I have stayed in this area many times before. Hotel Cappella is absolute perfection and better than most 5 star hotels around the world. The rooms have been recently renovated with great taste but also functionality, with ski cubbies and spacious showers and bathrooms that are rare to come by in Italy. The SPA, which was truly beautiful after the last renovation, is now also managaed to perfection. The service was unbelievable.. they even mamaged to find us a taxi in another town when we got stranded on the way back from skiing on la marmolada. Last but not least, the location is idillic with a ski out level that takes you immediately on la sellaronda and is in the middle of what is in my opinion the most beautiful town and Passo of the Dolomites.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank silviafU6360GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlo Pizzinini, Inhaber at Hotel Cappella, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2023

Dear Mrs. Silvia,
many thanks to you nice review which is a big compliment for us. We are happy that you could spend a nice holiday and enjoyed our nice Dolomites. Yes, we are really lucky and think that Colfosco is the most beautiful village in our surroundings.
Have a nice time and would be glad to welcome you again,
Carlo Pizzinini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

We stayed here three years ago and loved it, so we’re wondering how it would compare after renovation works. The renovations (actually, it’s more of a rebuild!) are fantastic. Our room was double-height with a vaulted ceiling and huge windows looking out over the Sella range. What a wonderful view to wake up to.

The food is spectacular - the half-board menu is well-cooked, copious, varied and absolutely delicious. The pool and spa are lovely - sitting in the garden in the sun looking out to the mountains is unforgettable.

And then there is the staff and the family - their friendly professionalism is delightful. They really cannot do enough to make their guests feel at home.

We very much look forward to staying again next summer

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank knitwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlo Pizzinini, Inhaber at Hotel Cappella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Dear Guest, many thanks for your absolutely kind review, which made us really happy. Most of all we appreciate very much that you found your way back to us and the most important thing is, that you could spend a gorgeous 'nicest period in the year'. We hope that you have arrived well at home again and wish you all the best.
Best regards from Colfosco in the Dolomites,
Pizzinini Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2022 via mobile

Hotel Cappella provides marvelous accommodations with friendly and attentive staff, gorgeous views, fantastic facilities, and is the perfect place to spend your vacation.
Upon arrival, the staff were always hospitable and friendly. We had a large party of eight people, and with each breakfast everyone was well attended, and no request was too much. One of the servers, Sebastian, was very friendly and wouldn’t rest until each member of our party was happy. The owners were also very personable, and even came to talk to all the guests during a special event for all the guests.
The views throughout the Dolomites are breath-taking, and simply walking around the hotel proves that. The hotel has many windows that provide natural light and fantastic views wherever you find yourself: walking up and down the stairs, lounging by the pool, on the balcony of your room, eating at the restaurant, and more. Truly enchanting.
The facilities were like non-other. With two pools, several sauna’s, a gym, a spa, beautiful restaurant, and more.  On the first day we arrived towards the afternoon, and after a long day of traveling we decided to spend a relaxing day by the pool. We lounged by the pool, absorbing the insane view before our eyes. The pools were gorgeous, evident by simply glancing through the photos on the website. After our long hikes the following days, we spent time in the saunas. The entire facility was splendid and a great way to relax after a day of activities.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The fantastic amenities, enchanting views, amazing staff are all evident of why you should stay here.

Room tip: Go at the end of June for hiking, biking, summer activities, etc.! It was so pretty with all the flowers blooming, and there wasn’t crowds!
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gracerichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlo Pizzinini, Inhaber at Hotel Cappella, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2022

Dear Mrs. Rihcardson with family,
thank you SO much for your wonderful review. We are really honoured and appreciate it very much. We will inform all our staff and especially Sebastian which you have highlighted.
The biggest satisfaction for us is always when our guests can spend the most relaxing holiday and go back home really happy.
We would be glad to welcome you once again and remain,
With best wishes,
Pizzinini Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2021

My husband and I (I’m a New Zealander and he’s Italian) first stayed at Hotel Cappella in 2012 and always vowed to come back as we loved it. Life got in the way and we didn't make it back until August 2021. In the meantime, with renovations and restyling, the hotel had gone up in stars and price and we were hestitant about paying the higher prices. We remembered how incredible their food was, and were nervous that perhaps it wouldn't be as good, but it was simply fantastic.

Colfosco is one of my Top Ten places in the world, and now we are so spoilt by La Cappella that we can't imagine choosing anywhere else. We've stayed in other places there and they are also good, but... La Cappella is La Cappella. I don't know quite what makes it so special, but I think it's a combination of the aesthetics, lovely rooms, fantastic pool and outdoor area, the quiet atmosphere (there were children but not too obtruisve) and absolutely, the wonderful cuisine. I would say it's a place for grownups, not children, even though there is a children's area downstairs. From our point of view, we apperciated the fact that there weren't so many children. We just wanted to relax in peace.

I also love the fact that it is still a family-run business and you feel that the family know who you are. That, for me, is super important, but it doesn't come at the price of poor service or compromise on standards or elegance.

Honestly, I have only two slightly negative points to make, in the interests of a fair and balanced review. The first is that the towels are more 4-star than 5-star (but I am a towel snob) and the other is that some of the rooms look out on a carpark and that really isn't in line with the overall experience. However, I gave this feedback to Signora Pizzini and she advised me that the plan is to remedy this situation, so fingers crossed.

We are already planning a winter trip and I don't care that I don't ski. I will be quite happy in the Sky Room looking out at the mountains and relaxing...

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TGoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlo Pizzinini, Inhaber at Hotel Cappella, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your kind review. It’s really nice to hear that you enjoyed your staying at Cappella again after all the years. My parents build the house 50 years ago as third generation after their experience of the ‘old’ Cappella, bought from my grand grandfather in 1912. My wife and me started in 2013 as 4th generation and since then we renovated almost any year. For us it is important to maintain high the level of our house. It is not always easy but it is a big challenge for us.
We would appreciate to welcome you also in winter and we suggest to choose a room on the south side with mountain view.
Many thanks again and best regards from Colfosco,
Carlo Pizzinini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews