We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Trip.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
99
105
17
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
105
17
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hotel staff alpine route included in the room rate easy access observatory deck tour sky dinner group english surprise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2019

If you are visiting Kurobe Alpine Route, please do consider an overnight stay in the mountain so that you can take your time to enjoy the beautiful scenery along the way. Hotel Tateyama is not the cheapest option but definitely worth the spend for their great service and location (next to Murodo bus terminal and easy access to the mountain). The hotel provides complimentary 1 hour walking tour for in-house guests. Knowing that we are non-Japanese among the group, the hotel staff was attentive enough to provide an audio guide of the tour in English! Dinner and breakfast were included in the room rate. We opted for kaiseki (Japanese traditional multi-course meal) for dinner which was a great variety. But we were too full by the time we finished dinner and forgot our dessert! It was so nice that the hotel staff had actually delivered the dessert straight to our room! Kudos to the team!

Overall, the hotel is no doubt an old property but it is still in a good condition - very clean and well maintained. The rooms are comparatively larger than most local hotels in Tokyo. I have no complaints!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

First of all Hotel Tateyama is a large, tired old early 1970s hotel with no obvious signs of renovations or fresh paint for many, many years. All the hotels's corridor walls are a faded, tired 1970s dark cream colour with all the paintwork badly chipped and worn and the walls are completely featureless (no pictures). On a positive side all the staff were all very friendly and attentive and some spoke a little english. Our room was generally quite comfortable and large (by Japanese standards) with amazing panoramic vistas of the Tateyama range but no manual control of heating/cooling - we had to leave a window open all night as it was just too hot in the room - not a big issue. This tired, old hotel was the most expensive hotel during our whole stay in Japan - and we've stayed at some really nice ryokans too! AUD$1100/night (3pax) but including meals. Unfortunately Hotel Tateyama is $location, $location, $location and there are no other choices (up top) unless you want to struggle uphill along a glacier/snow/ice with luggage for several kms to an expensive backpackers - okay in good weather but a nightmare in bad. We ate lunch, dinner (Japanese Kaiseki) and breakfast here - the meals were good but not exceptional. But we did get to eat the local and unique Toyama Bay Shiroebi (white shrimp) and the Toyama Bay Firefly squid with our dinner - both of which were amazing!

From what I gather 90% of the rushing, transiting summer tourists on the Alpine Route barely spend any time here at Tateyama/Murodo - just rushing to switch buses and complete the Alpine Route within a day/deadline and tick their bucket list off. I highly recommend you DO NOT DO THAT - as it is just SO laid back and picturesque way up here - also very stunning to watch the incredible transformation of the Alps at sunset and sunrise. On first arrival at Murodo/Tateyama (11:30am) I hiked up the glacier (Japan has 3) to the very summit of Mt. Oyama (~10,000ft) to the monastery then the summit shrine to be blessed by the monk and have by Goshuinchou signed - then completed a loop of the Tateyama range. Beware the sun is REALLY strong up here and you will quickly fry unless you have good sunblock and hat... I fried! There was still a LOT of snow/ice up there in July/summer - although around the immediate hotel has been mostly cleared by crews. During our stay there was a very busy helicopter working all day with a sling re-supplying all the remote huts and the monastery up top along the Tateyama range.

In the evening a friendly, accomplished astronomer sets up all his telescopes on the hotel rooftop and allows guests free access with help, commentary and information about the stars/planets etc. We had a cloudless, windless night and perfect viewing conditions - so great!

Note: There is a good drying room for wet boots, socks and clothes in the basement - just ask.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank GenkiSudo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in late June, there was a lot of snow still around the hotel but it was becoming much more green with some wildflowers beginning to appear. The weather was very unpredictable, and turned quite bad (cold, rainy and very windy) during the afternoon we were there but we were still able to enjoy many of the tracks during our stay. There are waterproof boots, walking poles etc available to freely borrow whilst you’re there which was very handy. Make sure you pack lots of warm layers and a good weather proof jacket no matter what time of year you go- we went from sunny 33 degrees near the base to about 5 degrees with freezing wind and rain a couple of hours later near the top of the mountains!

The hotel itself is on top of the Murano station so access is very easy whilst on the Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route. It is busy during the day but very quiet once the buses stopped arriving in the afternoon. We ate lunch and breakfast in their Japanese restaurant downstairs and both were a bit disappointing however the meal in the French style restaurant we had for dinner the night of our stay was very good and some good wine options. Breakfast and dinner were both included in the price and I definitely recommend making the French choice when booking. There is also a nice coffee shop with great views and a delicious, giant chiffon cake.

The room was basic, but clean and comfortable. It fit our family of four well. The bathroom was very small, however there were nice public baths available on the lobby level of the hotel.

A highly recommended hotel! My children 13 and 11 loved it too and it was a great experience.

If you are staying here I would recommend packing only what you need for the stay and forwarding the rest of your baggage on - this was extremely easy to do from Toyama Dentetsu station and to collect at the final station on the route.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank sarahsS3416QX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Most expensive hotel of our trip to Japan but definitely the least luxurious. Rooms are old & small but had a great view of the mountains. Didn't try the Onsen but Husband did and he said it was fine (nothing spectacular). Dinner at the French restaurant was excellent (they accommodated my dietary needs as I advised them a few weeks in advance) - breakfast was below average. Staff was polite and tried their best with some limited English. This hotel is really the only option to enjoy the Murodo area without hordes of tourist - there may be one other hotel/lodging there but all booked and not as nice. Glad we didn't' book the Midagahara hotel (a little less expensive) as the trails on that stop was closed because of bear sighting. Alpine Kurobe Route was a little disappointing . . . only real stops worth seeing is the Kurobe Dam & Murodo . . . most people skip all the other stops & if it's foggy, etc., then not worth stopping at the other stops . . . we had great weather on day 1 but foggy weather on day 2. Murodo area was beautiful and nice to have it mostly to ourselves.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jeniusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Wanted to experience Murodo both day and night. So Murodo’s Hotel Tateyama fits the bill. However, the entire building and rooms look and feel too old, desperately in need of a renovation. To get to the hotel lobby from the bus station, the only way is to walk up a few flights of stairs - no lift !!! Not good for old folks or those with weak knees .... really very trying to climb up and down each time you need to get out of the hotel for a walk. The room smells musky and old. The public Onsen was pathetic. We did not use it. We used the family bath instead. We chose this hotel as it gave us the privilege to walk the snow wall after 5 pm all by ourselves. Also, we enjoyed star gazing at night on the hotel roof top. Indeed quite an experience.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ANG-POHAIMIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews