We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$115
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$115
US$88
View Deal
SAVE US$27
ExpediaUS$104
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
112
120
30
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
112
120
30
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski hire fireside lounge buffet breakfast the bus convenient shuttle hotel shuttle open fire non skiers ski club egg station room cleaned ski shop coin operated laundry japanese standards the location is perfect stayed for nights fantastic hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2020 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights as part of a ski group vacation. Rooms are tiny but what was most missed was drawers & place to put your clothes. Bring your own hangers...there are actually only 2.

Bathroom reminded me of being on a ship. The bathroom plumbing was unusual in that it supplied both the tub & sink. I will admit the shower was hot & forceful.

Public areas are nice. Nothing free here. At the front desk are apples, candy & muffins for sale. At the comfortable fire side bar, no nuts, chips or olives with your drinks (but can be bought).

Breakfast is fair & buffet dinners were not remarkable.

Convenient to the tiny busses that are crammed full with skiers & skis taking you off to the slopes.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 39karlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Reiterating what many trip advisors readers have already said ... the Mominoki Hotel is a great option for western skiers/visitors to enjoy a Japanese ski holiday. The location is perfect. The ski rental shop is right out the door. They have a ski locker room with a very effective but small boot dryer in a convenient location between the hotel and the ski shuttle stop at the end of the parking area.

It took some getting used too since we’re not accustom to naked public bathing, but the onsen was delightful and never crowded. They only allow hotel guests to use the onsen at peak times. Frankly the room showers were very small and the Onsen was a lot nicer than our room showers, so as the week went on we used the Onsen more often.

We had many meals both breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The food was excellent, beautifully displayed and very fresh. Of course you ate off a buffet but the choices included tuna, beef steak, swordfish, pork, pasta, soup, salad bar, some of the best fruit I’ve ever eaten. See photo of chef at dinner.

Beds were very comfortable but small. If you were a large person , the beds and showers would be too small. As noted by many , everything is sparkling clean but dated.

They have a great fireplace , bar area for apres ski that we enjoyed every night. ( see photo) The wine selection wasn’t that good but they had a small selection of liquor and beers. The young ladies who made and served the drinks were delightful.

The hotel staff all spoke enough English to communicate with us successfully and were very kind and helpful.

They have a coffee machine in the lobby where you can grab a fresh cup before breakfast.

You do not need a car. The hotel will shuttle you to restaurants and the ski shuttle is right outside the door of the hotel. It’s all very convenient. The closest lift for Happo one is about 500 yards away. The skiing at Happo one is not for beginners especially with all the crowds and steeper terrain.

All in all we liked this hotel and recommend it to all travelers.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank getsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

There really wasn't anything to fault with this accommodation. Customer service was second to none; the staff could not do enough for you; they were punctual, dilligent and so, so friendly. The hotel itself; beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, albeit a little dated, but fresh and clean.
If you wanted your room cleaned, the staff did a great job. If you didn't want it cleaned, you got a voucher to spend at the front desk on minor priced items - a nice touch (we saw a lot of happy kids taking advantage of this voucher buying snickers, or skittles, cookies, muffins)
The breakfast dining area is spacious, spotless and has a great outlook. Breakfast was a buffet - we were there seven days and didn't tire of the variety.
We didn't eat dinner there - thought it was a bit pricey compared to what was on offer if you were prepared to walk a little to get to dinner. We ate out every night - its a pretty little hub at night, Hakuba. If you didn't want to walk, you could organise a lift with the shuttle, but we mostly walked.
It is a very short walk to the first lift, or, if you prefer, you can get the shuttle. We preferred the walk as it is a bit of a pain getting on a bus with boots on and carrying skis and poles.
Ski shop is literally in the car park of the hotel. I rent skis these days and got a cracker of a pair, so I was happy with that.
The onsen is amazing.
The gift store is gorgeous.
I would say, all in all, this is a great hotel. The only thing stopping us from going back is sadly, we preferred the skiing at Shiga Kogen, where we went to next.
But, if you're going to Hakuba, go stay at Mominoki.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 421cathl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

My husband and I stayed at Mominoki hotel during our 5 day ski trip.

Facilities
-Loved the onsen, especially the outdoor onsen. I went there every night to shower and have a relaxing soak after skiing.
-Nice wine bar on site, we went there for happy hour after skiing
-Good ski locker with enough space for skis, poles, boots, helmets etc

Location
-Located walking distance to evergreen ski school and the kokusai ski lifts at happo one
-Convenient shuttle right outside the hotel to take you to all the other ski resorts
-Rhythm snow sports right next door, convenient for hiring gear

Rooms
-We stayed in a premier double room, good room size but small bathroom (usual for Japan)
-Room was clean but decor was a bit outdated
-Rooms were not very soundproof, we could hear kids crying next door in the early morning

Breakfast
-Buffet breakfast with good variety and egg station

Service
-Staff at the front desk was generally quite helpful, helped us with restaurant bookings
-There is a hotel shuttle that you can book beforehand to take you to closeby locations during the day. In the evening the shuttle drops you off and picks you up from nearby restaurants (book in advance)

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cecilia_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020

The upside is that it’s really well located in central Wadano a very short walk to Kokusai lifts and a variety of good places to eat and it’s right next door to Rhythm Sports and has super friendly staff behind the front desk and concierge. Also, the bus stop to Tsugaike, Happo, Goryu/47 and the genki night bus is right at the doorstep and because this stop is near-to-first on the loop it means you’re usually assured of getting onto the bus. The on-site restaurants are really nice also (especially Izakaya Kaz) but you really do need to book at least a day ahead.

The not-so-upside is this seems to be the accommodation of choice for every Australian family/small group visiting Hakuba and this means unsupervised children in the onsen treating it as a hot tub and shorts/singlets/thongs in the restaurant at breakfast (yes, even in winter). The rooms are dated and very small (even by Japanese standards) but they are always impeccably clean.

I’ve stayed at the Tokyu (100m down the road) twice before and on balance, all things considered (including price) I’d choose to stay at the Tokyu but would walk up to the bus stop at the Mominoki because the one at the Tokyu gets awfully crowded.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank michael_the_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews