We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$511
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$510
TripadvisorUS$511
Hotels.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
141
21
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
141
21
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent wine list fix the problem brilliant food enjoyed our stay complimentary shuttle service wonderful family booking restaurants snow fall within walking distance went above and beyond tatami room breakfast each morning restaurant reservations spent nights the bus fantastic stay mimi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2020

The thing you value most is service! This hotel, under our circumstances of booking with sno and ski, a few mistakes were made. Even though it wasn’t the hotel’s responsibility, they went above and beyond to fix the problem for us. They are in the best proximity to all the hire venues, convenience stores and the lantern restaurant for dinner even does a complimentary shuttle service! The owner is truly dedicated to ensuring everyone has the best experience and the food at mimi’s is exquisite.

I work in the top hotel of Australia and even I haven’t seen as amazing service as the Phoenix hotel. I’ll definitely be taking some tips home with me!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shanjk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020

Sally and her team made us feel very welcome without being intrusive. Loved the fact that we could pad around in our (thoughtfully provided) yukatas from our tatami room to the onsen to the laundry room to the ski room, as if we were at home, and no-one batted an eyelid! After a hard day's skiing it was wonderful to be able to fully relax and lounge around.
Mimi's Restaurant was terrific. We tried a number of restaurants for dinner, and kept returning to Mimi's as we found the food quality (especially the pastas and desserts), variety, and service outstanding. Shout out to Jess and Tahlia during breakfast,,and Josh in the bar for excellent service and chit-chat.
The only thing that could have made our stay perfect would have been a ski-in, ski-out location!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaSydney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally W, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear Amanda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We aim for exactly what you experienced - a stay that feels like you're in a friend's home! We are fortunate to have a committed, knowledgable and passionate team who really enjoy interacting with our guests and are able to deliver tailored experiences for each individual.

We look forward to your return
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

My family had a sensational stay at the Phoenix, I had a room in the hotel and my daughter and son in law and 2 grandchildren stayed in a chalet which was absolutely outstanding.

Cannot speak too highly of the management and the staff; Sally and Peter really looked after us; Josh was fantastic in the bar and went out of his way to look after the children; Kurt, Mark and the other drivers were very helpful; Jess and all the waitresses were extremely attentive at breakfast - nothing was too much trouble.

The restaurant which has western cuisine is the best at Hakuba, great service, superb menu, excellent wine list and brilliant food - equal to anywhere in London or Australia! Whilst not cheap,it is very good value and a nice balance to the Japanese restaurants at Hakuba which are generally very good.

I have been skiing in Japan for 15 years and have stayed at most of the hotels in Hakuba. Overall the presentation, level of service and convenience makes the Phoenix Hotel the best at Hakuba.

Room tip: Check on availability of beds as a number of the rooms are futon only
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnhT4468TE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally W, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2020

Dear John,

It was an absolute delight hosting you and your family at the Phoenix! We are so glad you felt that your needs were met and that the staff were efficient, helpful and friendly.

We take pride in ensuring that our guests are made to feel comfortable and that they have the most enjoyable time possible whilst staying with us.

So glad you also took advantage of the Mimi's fine food and wine experience - truly delicious :)

We look forward to welcoming you again

Warm regards
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2020

We had an amazing time to Hakuba ( Despite the lack of snow fall during our stay !) and would highly recommend Phoenix Hotel to anyone who appreciates impeccable service. Sally and her team went above and beyond to make sure our stay was as enjoyable as possible and indeed it was. Thankyou to all the wait and bar staff, drivers and cleaning staff. We will definitely be back again soon.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mum_of_2_boys_bne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally W, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and for your kind words. I will pass on your thanks to the team!

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return (and fingers crossed we will have a more typical season for your next visit)

Warm regards
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2020 via mobile

We stay in the most expensive chalet, the service is suck. Even not clean dinning room table every day. When we need to catch the train, the shuttle car late quite a while, it is reallt unsual in Japan.
我们租的是这里最贵的一间别墅,设施很高档,人也热情。但是有不少小毛病,例如热水壶是坏的,WIFI非常慢,提出了也无法得到解决。然后每日清洁非常敷衍,桌子和吧台都不擦,跟酒店前台定服务经常迟到,这种质量在日本很罕见。感觉如果你不是带了佣人本来就准备自我服务,这里的服务和价格实在不匹配。

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank zhichengb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally W, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Hotel & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2020

We are so sorry that you were unhappy with the service and believe it was a misunderstanding regarding the services provided. The Chalets are beautiful western style 2 story apartments that are designed to be fully self-contained. As such, unless guests specifically request it, we only do a light daily service, removing rubbish and replacing towels. A full service is available at guests for an extra cost at guests’ request.
您好,非常感謝您的寶貴意見,我們對於您不滿意此次的住宿體驗深感抱歉,關於我們所提供的服務的範圍可能有些誤會造成您不愉快的體驗。
我們的標緻兩層別墅主要設計為由住客獨立自主管理,因此除非住客特別要求,我們僅提供每日的基本清潔服務,像是倒垃圾及更換毛巾等。
當然我們也有完整的清潔服務,但同時也會收取額外的清潔費用。

As we are in a small mountain village with winter weather Wi-Fi can be slow, however we are continually updating our Internet services in an effort to improve our Wi-Fi connectivity. Im so sorry but am not sure what you are referring to in regards to the hot water bottle? We do our very best to rectify any issues if they are brought to our attention.

由於我們位置在一個小山莊,加上冬天的緣故,網速會比市區還要緩慢。然而我們也持續的在更新網路服務及加強網路訊號的部分。
住客反應的任何問題我們都盡力做到最好並即時處理,我們非常抱歉但同時也不是很明白關於您說熱水壺不能使用的部份。

The Chalet comes with its own vehicle so we do not normally supply shuttle services. We are very happy to provide shuttles to the Chalet, but must juggle with the other scheduled services. We do apologise for our tardiness, however the shuttles are in high demand and timeliness is dependent on other guests being punctual also. We try very hard to adhere to the Japanese ideals of punctuality and service so once again our apologies that you feel we didn't meet your expectations.

基本上我們的別墅住客都自備交通工具,因此我們通常沒有特別提供接駁車的服務。
但若住客要求,我們也很樂意協助交通的部分,但要麻煩住客配合接駁車行程表的部分。
對於接駁車遲到的部分我們深感抱歉,即使我們的接駁車時間彈性,但還是會因為住客未依約定時間搭乘而造成後面行程延遲的可能性。
我們非常努力並堅持日本守時的文化及服務,並再次的對此次住宿體驗為到達您的期待致上最深的歉意。

We will be adjusting our Chalet and service descriptions so guests have a better idea of what to expect and we thank you for your feedback as it provides valuable insight as to how we may improve.

我們將會調整別墅以及服務內容的說明,讓住客有更好的理解,並明白我們所提供的服務內容。
再次感謝您的寶貴意見,讓我們能提升服務的品質並更加進步。

Warm regards
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews