We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Courtyard
US$142
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
95
46
17
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
95
46
17
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lava rock great hotel breakfast buffet platinum status nice facilities front desk staff natural spring ski lockers forested area onsite restaurant rooms are modern laundry room private onsen cozy hotel bus terminal coffee machine short stroll
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2020

I enjoyed the nice location of the hotel in a forested area, makes for great morning walks! The room is nice with both a western and Japanese section with tatami. The hot baths area is a nice extra. The hotel staff is friendly and tries their best to help out in English where possible. The renovations make for modern rooms and a nice overall look, one that is definitely fitting in the environment.

Some of the lesser points:

Due to social distancing, the breakfast buffet has been changed to table delivery with a reduced menu. That's understandable, I have no problem with that. However, if the hotel can offer a full dinner menu (which it seemingly does), why can it only offer a limited breakfast menu? Also, the quality of the breakfast food was mediocre at best and in the case of the scrambled eggs, horrible. I don't think I have ever before had scrambled eggs this bad. Perhaps the Japanese-style breakfast is better?

You also have to sign a paper on check-in which essentially requires you to stay in your room all day, not use the restaurant or baths or any other facilities outside the room, wear a mask inside the guest room and more. This is strange, given that they then continue to invite you to their restaurant and the public baths are open. They note on the paper that they will regularly temperature-check the guests but I haven't been checked once during my stay. The paper indicated that masks are required inside the hotel but the staff regularly passes many, many guests who were not wearing masks in the hallways, not mentioning anything.

Unfortunately, I feel that covid-19 has become an excuse for many hotels to deliver a subpar experience. And where they should increase measures, they don't seem to do so (like the mask checks).

It would also be good if the hotel website had clear guidelines on whether they offer a Hakuba station shuttle service (which they don't, as I understand), given that the hotel is not easily reachable by public transport from any of the train stations. We ended up calling a taxi for our transport from and to the station.

This is also the first Mariott property where I feel like the staff didn't always know what's going on. I don't know whether that's because they were new or there was simply no clear documentation on Mariott staff guidelines but it felt like many of them were constantly scrambling to give an explanation for fairly basic things. For example, someone couldn't tell me where the toilet is.

Overall, this hotel is decent, in a lovely location and the room is nice enough but the hotel is not without its problems. Perhaps this is in part due to the whole pandemic situation but the whole experience felt a bit "off".

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fdevliegher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2020 via mobile

This hotel was amazing for our 4 night ski stay. Free shuttle bus to and from Happo One bus terminal (you do need to reserve though so contact in advance). We stayed in the private onsen room and absolutely cannot recommend enough! Amazing to come home to after a day of skiing. Shuttle bus stop right in front to access all areas of hakuba47 and Happo One. I think they came every hour or so, 8am-11am then came back 1pm-5pm from memory. Free lockers on first floor to store your ski gear. Only a 5-10 minute walk to Echoland for heaps of dining options. Only downside is the closest 7/11 is about a 20 minute walk, there is a little convenience store in Echoland but found there was not a lot of cheap ready to eat food like sushi or sandwiches. We never tried the restaurant or onsen on site so are unable to comment. Will definitely stay here again next time!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Madddd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020

This hotel has a great number of amenities which make it that much greater. There is an in-house restaurant for breakfast and quick dinner (the soba noodles are great), and many restaurants nearby that can fulfill anyone's needs. The ladies and gentlemen working at the front desk were impeccable and always fulfilled our needs to the greatest extent. They helped arrange taxi rides, shuttle buses, train rides and times, and provided extra tattoo coverups. The rooms were very culturally impressive, providing normal beds, and a traditional Japanese tatami with cushions, a TV, and a little table. There was no view from the hotel window, but the tatami is a great place to relax after skiing. The onsen provided by the hotel is spectacular, there is a changing room to change (bathing suits are prohibited), and store clothes. There is an onsen inside and an area to wash off before entering. The onsen outside was very relaxing and really provided a great experience. Only one other person was there with us so we didn't feel clustered or awkward at all. The hotel is a 15-20 minute taxi ride away from the mountain making it a great place to lodge by the mountain luxuriously. Overall, this hotel is a really great way to experience Hakuba in a traditional and lavish Japanese way.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank seanpwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

Renovated just a year ago, everything was sparkling new. Due covid-19 and a lower than average snowfall, the place was virtually empty during the week. On the weekend it got busier though. The location is good, 10 min to Hakuba 47 or Happone (prone to wind). Five minute walk to many restaurants and a convenience store. No buffet breakfast, but the set menu was pretty substantial. Convenient ski lockers on way to parking lot. The Fitness Room was a bit of a joke, just a couple mats and a cardio machine, plus it was closed anyway due to covid-19. Afternoon happy hour is offered to guests who forgo room cleaning. Pretty basic booze, but nice chance to relax in lounge. Overall I thought the staff did a great job, though I understand during a busy time it might not be the same. Onsen was great, and rooms spacious enough for four. There are plenty of hangers in the entryway, but there are no dressers in which to put away clothes. On the plus side the room has big windows and a spacious feeling. Staying on points was great, but the tax included rack rate of ¥50,000 per night for 4 people is a bit steep I think.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JpnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

The front desk staff were endlessly helpful answering my questions and helping me find my way around and my way back to Narita.
They have laid out schedules in English and Japanese highlighted for clarity how to use the extensive local bus system to get to the various ski resorts.
When the breakfast buffet became a deliver-to-the-table breakfast due to concerns about Corona, they paid attention to my likes and made sure that was available the next morning. All with incredible Japanese hospitality.
The room and Onsen were just what I needed between days skiing.
A wonderful place. The best Courtyard I have ever stayed at.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank travelskikayak1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews