We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
gordeb1
Sunshine Coast, Australia

Unique little property, home away from home...

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 May 2017
This is a small, boutique property without the hefty price tag. We skied in late Feb 2017, excellent snow still at Hakuba. Luna Hotel is so close to the Happo One lifts, a five minute walk in ski boots and you are home! Great position and definitely one of the closest properties to the lifts.

Our room was great with a huge bed, fantastic for collapsing in after a hard day's skiing. The small ensuite is adequate with a little bath, enough to soak for 10 minutes. Our room was on the lower level, very warm with heater in the room as well and window looking out through the Wadono Forest. The Luna is very close to a variety of different restaurants, small bars and places to eat so you do not have to eat at the hotel restaurant if you choose not to. The breakfast included in the package at the Luna was basic but adequate. The lounge / bar area at the Luna Hotel is lovely, very warm and great to relax by the fire with a good red and meet new friends.

Overall, a great property although the evening meals at the Luna restaurant were lacking. Very westernised, schnitzel, goulash with the same menu nightly, not much variety which was disappointing as sometimes you just don't want to go outside into the cold again. Would like to have had some more traditional Japanese food or even some good hearty soups, pea and ham with crusty bread..... spaghetti Bolognese, lasagne or more meals with vegetables. Basic meals like this would have been more sustainable after skiing all day.

Apart from that, I could recommend the property, David was the manager when we stayed earlier this year and he couldn't do enough to help. David was excellent from meeting us to assisting with any organisation that we needed and the team he led were also very good and helped out always when requested.

Thanks David for a truly enjoyable holiday. We loved Hakuba :)
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
HK$1,190
Fully refundable
Easy and fast booking
  • japanican.com
    HK$3,708
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,092
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$1,109
0.3 km from Hakuba Luna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1日1組限定のフランス製グランピングテント宿泊プランふ
HK$1,701
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,541
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,322
  • japanican.com
    HK$1,322
0.7 km from Hakuba Luna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$2,314
HK$1,863
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,913
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,127
  • Expedia
    HK$1,913
0.3 km from Hakuba Luna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
LavaRock
HK$2,095
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    HK$2,072
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,105
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,106
2.4 km from Hakuba Luna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$2,390
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$2,380
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,069
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Hakuba Luna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Triple Room at the Hakuba Yamano Hotel
HK$1,172
HK$1,025
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,172
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,080
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,091
2.0 km from Hakuba Luna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
3名部屋
HK$832
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$950
  • Agoda.com
    HK$746
  • Trip.com
    HK$921
0.8 km from Hakuba Luna Hotel
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hotel Stelle Belle

HK$926
HK$729
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$926
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
5.7 km from Hakuba Luna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Rakuten Travel
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$2,151
  • Expedia
2.4 km from Hakuba Luna Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakuba-mura
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
68
24
6
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
68
24
6
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We had a lovely week skiing Happo-one and were grateful for the assistance from David and his staff. The proximity to the lifts is excellent, basically across the road to children's easy slopes. There are enough restaurants locally to keep you interested. You are dependent on the hotel staff to get in and out of the village proper because Wadano is a fair walk to town.
My only negatives: the rooms were very small and the drying rooms/ facilities were overwhelmed so it was hard to keep laundry keeping up with use

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David C, General Manager at Hakuba Luna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thanks for the feedback - we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We totally understand your comment about the room size; most rooms in Japanese hotels are small by western standards. Sorry to hear that the drying room facilities were a bit overloaded - noted for future reference and we'll keep a closer eye on that when the hotel is full. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We were told Hakuba Luna had a make-over in 2016 and now includes en suite bathrooms in all rooms.

The hotel is located in the Wadano forest area, about 100 metres from the Sakka ski lifts at Happo One mountain. The free shuttle to other mountains also picks up and drops off skiers during the day. Ski hire is close by, though a number of other ski hire places will pick you up and fit you out if you give them a call. Some ski rentals will also pick up their hire gear after you've finished your stay at Hakuba Luna.

There's a reasonable menu selection at Hakuba Luna and are also a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance of Hakuba Luna - ask your hosts or check out Hakuba's website. One of the most popular is Humming Bird cafe down the road, but you will need to book a few days in advance, during the busy part of the season.

Hakuba Luna has amenities to suite most skiers; there's a drying room downstairs for skis and clothing and a games room there as well. There's also a large spacious dining room in the front of the hotel with some sofas to the sides.

Our host David and his wife Yumi helped make the experience special and nothing seemed to much trouble for them including pick-ups and drop-offs from the central bus station - just confirm your eta before your arrive. H.L.'s staff were always very helpful and courteous and if we go back to Hakuba I'd certainly be looking to book there again.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn-in-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David C, General Manager at Hakuba Luna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thank you very much for the comprehensive feedback - we are very glad you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated your friendly company throughout your stay. We hope to see you back in the Luna again on a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We arrived at. Luna with our young adult offspring at 3am to find a warm welcome with warm rooms warm,lights on and instructions regarding breakfast clearly explaind. Breakfast was excellent btw! This service was continued throughout our stay and David was brilliant with his advice and taxi duties. Fantastic food in evening thoughsome evenings we went elsewhere for a change.We loved the fact that we were welcomed back to roaring fires and a warm welcome with tea or wine on our return from busy day on the slopes with added use of a drying room for our equipment and a complimentary
laundry room.
Brilliant location a minutes walk from ski lift.On our return to Hakuba we will return to Luna.

Room tip: Perfect for family holiday requirements.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t0msydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David C, General Manager at Hakuba Luna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you very much for the warm feedback - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Luna- it exceeded our expectations and we felt very fortunate to have stayed there. Luna is a very comfortable, convenient and friendly place to stay. David, the manager, and his wife Yumi and staff made us feel welcome, often going out of their way to provide help at the hotel or resort. The rooms were spotlessly clean and serviced. The breakfast suited every member of our party and the convenience of being able to chose have dinner at the hotel restaurant was an added bonus. The lifts are an easy and short walk away. The setting in the forest is lovely and peaceful but it easy to get in to the centre by resort or hotel shuttle. The drying room is capacious and there are laundry facilities-always very welcome on a ski holiday. A big, big thanks to David and Yumi and staff. We would definitely come back given the chance.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daisyscout2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David C, General Manager at Hakuba Luna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you very much for the feedback - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will be sure to onpass your kind comments to our staff. We hope you will have the chance to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Great friendly hotel with a nice ski lodge feel. Great for families. English speaking staff were very helpful and the restaurant had consistently good food which was reasonably priced. Right next to the Sakka part of the mountain, only a 50m walk down the road from a main ski lift which was very easy. They picked us up from bus terminal and dropped us off making travelling very easy. Good sized rooms. No hesitation in recommending!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoscoATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David C, General Manager at Hakuba Luna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for the kind feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews