We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
travellervl
Hanoi, Vietnam

A surprise and a delight.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Feb 2024
Having discovered Double Black we returned for second meal and wished we had found the restaurant earlier during our stay in Hakuba. The dining area is comfortable and just what you are looking for after a day of skiiing. The menu offers a good range of choices, entrees, mains, sides and desserts - charcuterie through to fish, poultry, beef, venison, vegetarian. There are specials which ensure you have further choice. Every course we tried was delicious - balanced and creative combination of flavours, quality ingredients and well presented-the food here is a cut above. The staff are helpful, friendly and attentive. The international wine list is good and prices are fair. We would absolutely recommend eating here.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Do make a reservation
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
HK$1,117
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,391
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,093
  • Expedia
    HK$1,391
0.3 km from Double Black Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1日1組限定のフランス製グランピングテント宿泊プランふ
Booking.com
HK$812
Fully refundable
  • Expedia
    HK$3,107
  • Agoda.com
    HK$776
  • Hotels.com
    HK$3,107
0.5 km from Double Black Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
HK$977
Fully refundable
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Agoda.com
    HK$966
  • Expedia
    HK$977
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$1,090
0.9 km from Double Black Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$487
  • Agoda.com
    HK$475
  • Trip.com
    HK$574
  • Vio.com
    HK$548
0.0 km from Double Black Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$902
HK$715
  • Agoda.com
    HK$802
  • japanican.com
    HK$902
  • eDreams
    HK$715
1.4 km from Double Black Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$2,096
HK$1,868
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,991
  • Expedia
    HK$1,991
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,096
1.5 km from Double Black Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$1,092
HK$934
  • Hotels.com
    HK$994
  • Agoda.com
    HK$955
  • Expedia
    HK$994
2.7 km from Double Black Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
LavaRock
Courtyard
HK$1,277
HK$1,033
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,034
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,033
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,033
1.6 km from Double Black Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$1,373
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,331
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,540
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,538
1.2 km from Double Black Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$778
HK$658
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$778
  • eDreams
    HK$658
  • Expedia
4.9 km from Double Black Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakuba-mura
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
101
39
9
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
101
39
9
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski fields japanese ski yogurt onsen hakuba accommodation january lodge vans transport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2024 via mobile

We had the best time at Double Black, and a huge part of that was the incredible team of people working at Double Black.
Nothing was too much of an ask! Dan, Alex, Adam and Taylor got 8 of us to the slopes and back from the many restaurants and bars without a hitch. Thank you Verie for your ever friendly assistance. You lead a great bunch of people.
Enjoy the fresh snow 🙏 The Kelly's and the Beaman's

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mem sanger, Owner at Double Black Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Thank you Kelly’s and Beaman’s! Always fantastic to read reviews from guests who enjoyed Hakuba and Double Black. We hope we can welcome you back to our winter wonderland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2024

Went for the Christmas dinner (7 of us). Very disappointing. The table was not set, had to ask for the complimentary bubbles, had to ask for the wine that was ordered, mismatched & dirty glassware, no printed menu, given a piece of paper which was obviously the kitchen guide. The food served was not as per the menu, soup was spilled out of the bowls, three of the four courses were below standard. Nothing Christmassy with the settings. When we eventually got a reply to emails expressing our disappointment (3 weeks later) we were basically told there had been no others 'complaints' so it was our issue, not the venue.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jfrmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2024

We, a mixed age group of 8 families/friends, have just enjoyed a wonderful week at the Double Black Hotel in Hakuba. Highly recommend Double Black - comfortable rooms, luxurious beds, invigorating onsen, super friendly and helpful staff, convenient shuttle service to slopes and local places, great breakfasts, bar and fine dining restaurant. Total highlight was the onsen!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2023 via mobile

Pretty standard rooms for Japanese ski fields, but well above average service. Unfortunately the restaurant and onsen were not operating during our stay but the staff were very friendly and most helpful. Booked a restaurant for us each night and provided transport to ski fields, restaurants, onsen, shops, everything!

Room tip: Hopefully the restaurant and onsen will be happening again in near future.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank rbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2023

We had a great experience at Double Black, I was very impressed with the team at the hotel given that the property had been shut for two years because of COVID. Restarting this type of property is never easy and the team has done a nice job.

For early 2023 the restaurant is not the same "high end" as before (understandable coming from a shut down), but the dinner options are decent comfort food. The breakfast is basic but nice with a good selection of either eggs / bacon /toast / yoghurts / cereals / espresso coffees / fruit / juices.

The staff are first rate and will do anything possible to take great care of you, with smiles all the time, happy to move you in the vans to closeby resorts or restaurants. They suggested several great local restaurants and made the reservations, we didn't have a bad meal.

Later in the evening the bar was always busy and the bartender is VERY good at making great mixed cocktails.

Staff is super friendly and the hotel is very comfortable and clean. It's a bit rough around the edges because of the 2 year shut down, so that's the only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars, but other than that, it's one of the best places to stay in Hakuba for sure.

Room tip: If you like good bread for breakfast, buy a loaf to bring, only white bread available for breakfast!
Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rugbyalans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews