We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
98
37
8
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
98
37
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small ski hotel free shuttle in house walking distance days skiing drying room ski lessons snow conditions japanese standards db onsen slopes forest hakuba happo accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2020

The bed was super comfortable. Rooms are small but neat and tidy. Nice view out onto the snow. The location is about a 10 minute ski down from the closet lift. Lots of restaurants and bars around but the in house meals are best value for money. Good wine list so its easy to relax after a day skiing.

Room is shower only but there is an onsen downstairs which is open daily

Room tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if you are traveling in a group.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U4333GVandrewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

I had a great stay at Double Black. I came here with my family and had a blast. Breakfast was great and coffees were delicious. Dinner was amazing and I recommend the scotch fillet. Our bartender Abbey was always looking after us. Our kids loved the staff and everyone at Double Black was always going above and beyond. I want to thank Matt and Sehrish, as I had a medical issue they helped sort out. The reception team was the best I had ever come across in Japan. The rooms were warm and the onsens made a great way to end every day of skiing. Definitely booking next year.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nowayjoseNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

Had 7 great nights here. While the snow conditions weren’t great the hotel and staff were excellent. First it’s location in the Wadano Forest was wonderful, beautiful and peaceful, unlike other parts of Hakuba. Next the rooms were a decent size by Japanese standards and so never felt too squeezed. The Lounge/bar area has a nice feel and is a good place to laze around when not riding. They even have onsen you can book at certain times for private family sessions which is highly recommended after a days skiing. The one downside is neither skiing or dining options are within realistic walking distance. However the staff run you around to the local resort and to restaurants and shops so all good. Dinner at the hotel was excellent and we ate there 3 times. There are also two good bistros, one pub style the other Asian fusion, at the nearby Wadano Gateway hotel which is an easy walk so covered us for the week.
Perhaps the best thing was the staff. Matt and his crew were the best, nothing was too much of a problem for them they even offered to run some friends of ours, who were hanging out with us, back to their hotel one evening when their cab didn’t show up. 10/10 DB.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 900ramig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBHMark, Owner at Double Black Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you for the compliments It is always a delight to us to hear that someone had a great ex[experience staying at Double Black Hotel. We are very proud of Matt and Sehrish and their dedicated team and I know that they will appreciate your kind words

Warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020 via mobile

Pretty disappointing for the 14th ranked accommodation in Hakuba.

First some positives:
- Reasonably good meals at night. A little too much salt used. Given how poor the bacon and sausages were in the morning we initially avoided eating here
- Good showers, clean rooms, drying room
- Really good staff
- Nice pick up and drop off service

The negatives:
- LOUD boiler which is constantly turning on and off 24 hours per day. Management’s response “we can give you earplugs”. Total incompetence
- Management offered to book our ski lessons when we booked our rooms. I had to follow up twice to get this done. In the end we were lucky to get some private lessons because they were mostly booked out. My suggestion is you handle this yourself. Again - incompetence.
- Breakfast.
- Dining area completely lacking any soul or charm. As another reviewer said - you just don’t want to spend any time there.
- Lack of “luxuries” like soap holders for showers or thermostatically controlled room heaters.
- No blankets, only duvets - we sweltered at night even with the heater set at lowest setting
- Male onsen has a bad smell

The current owners of this property (who just sold it) live overseas which explains the lack of hands on management and attention to detail. This hotel suffers from poor management but I suspect this will be addressed when a real business person takes over ownership of the property.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Southbank67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

This hotel has a personell that makes the whole stay worthwhile. A special thanks to One of the season workers called Kay for excellent customer service. The hotel manager on the other hand left an impression of someone being superior everyone which was not a pleasent experience.

Now for paying 300 USD per night do not expect this place to be something fancy. It gives you an impression of a simple hotel or a hostel from Europe. To their defence I dont think any hotel in Hakuba at this price range gives you the exclusive feel. What this hotel has though is 1) Excellent staff 2) Deascent breakfast 3) A dry room for your ski gears 4) An Onsen on the first floor which is a must when you need to relax after a hard day on the slopes. Overall a Good hotel but very expensive.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank travellingf0rlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews