We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
160
27
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
160
27
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great for large groups western style beds ski hire local onsen josh snow slopes skiing hakuba cottage tokyo dryer valley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2020

After a few nights in Tokyo, we headed out to Hakuba for the snow. Whilst we weren't blessed with the best snow, Aqua Alpine served as the perfect base. Staff were really nice and extremely helpful. Always happy to drop us up to the slopes, or wherever we needed to go. And always had good recommendations for food and things to do. Rooms were comfortable, western style beds. Amenities include a small onsen, and western style restaurant.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shania23190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020

The only reason I have given one star above is for the wonderful staff, the young men and women were enormously friendly and helpful where possible. However the 'Owner' - Josh is a completely different story; not acknowledging us as we walked numerous times through the reception area, avoiding eye contact at all times and rude to the staff in our presence. We were 2 couples staying in the Hakuba cottage for one week (we left early). Besides needing extensive cleaning and updating, the furnishings were poor and insufficient for 4 people (one 2 seater couch + one ottoman + camping chairs). The counter stools were unsafe to sit on. The dryer didn't work and the cottage had a 'daily service' every 2nd to 3rd day.. the sheets changed only on request. The kitchen amenities required washing before use and were severely lacking - 2 wine glasses, 3 forks.. everything mismatched. We tried calling reception, but the cottage line didn't work and we were told that they had all been disconnected. The entry foyer has a ski rack and wood heap as you walk in and the outdoor tiled areas were dirty. The breakfast was the worst I've experienced. I don't know how this place has more than a 2/3 star rating. It just needs some care and attention.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FeefWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

Just had a wonderful stay at Aqua Alpine in one of their cottages. A real log cabin in the snow, which was perfect for our family of five.
The staff were attentive and helpful, the atmosphere cozy and welcoming. The staff can drop you at the slopes or ski hire and have many suggestions for places to eat. Highly recommend the local Onsen as well.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank A9409RRrachelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

We wanted to see snow for the first time and we got that, snowed for the first three days we were there. Aqua Alpine is a tidy enough stay but found that we had to do a lot of walking on slippery ice roads to get around. Restaurant wasn’t nothing flash with basis food and I thought breakfast was average at best. Staff were more than willing to drop you at the slops or at tour pickups. More than helpful. Good break from the Japanese food and drink and more of an Australian theme with food and drink.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soslar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

We are a family from Brisbane who didn’t want to ski but we wanted to make sure we had a snow exprience...so Hakuba was on our to do list in Japan.
From the very start when booking at Aqua Alpine they were extremely helpful in organising a Snow Monkey tour dinner suggestions and reservations, pick up and drop off at the bus stop and all round great service.
We had a cabin over the road from the main lodge so each day was an adventure in the snow to eat breakfast. A log fire warmed us up very quickly and we were able to do laundry as well.
Hope to be back again..to not ski

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mgeedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews