We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Yan C
Hong Kong, China

Maintaining high standards

Review of Silk Wood Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Mar 2019via mobile
For many years, I and my family have kept on coming back to this family hotel for our annual Japan skiing holiday. The furnishings and amenities in the hotel and services provided have remained on a high standard. The food, breakfast and dinner are delicious. The hosts continue to do their best to please. After a tiring day on the slopes, there is nothing to compare with a long bath in its private spa and enjoying a hot pot and cold beer over dinner. This is probably my third or fourth time commenting on this hotel. I just want to assure readers that over the years, the hotel has been able to maintain its high standards.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
HK$1,117
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,391
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,089
  • Rakuten Travel
2.1 km from Silk Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1日1組限定のフランス製グランピングテント宿泊プランふ
Booking.com
HK$3,107
HK$812
Fully refundable
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Expedia
    HK$3,107
  • Agoda.com
    HK$911
2.2 km from Silk Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
LavaRock
Courtyard
HK$1,033
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,034
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,033
0.6 km from Silk Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$902
HK$715
  • Agoda.com
    HK$802
  • japanican.com
    HK$902
  • eDreams
    HK$715
2.1 km from Silk Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$487
  • Agoda.com
    HK$474
  • Trip.com
    HK$574
  • Vio.com
    HK$548
2.1 km from Silk Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$994
HK$934
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Hotels.com
    HK$994
  • Agoda.com
    HK$955
3.0 km from Silk Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$2,096
HK$1,868
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,991
  • Expedia
    HK$1,991
  • Agoda.com
    HK$2,096
3.0 km from Silk Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$1,373
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,327
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,540
2.7 km from Silk Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$658
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Silk Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rakuten Travel
  • Hotels.com
    HK$977
  • Agoda.com
    HK$963
  • Expedia
    HK$977
2.6 km from Silk Wood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakuba-mura
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
15
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016

I stayed here with my wife and 2 of the kids for one night in March 2016 in order to go skiing in Hakuba. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The food was delicious, Bouillabaisse for dinner and sausages, eggs, salad, yogurt and bread for breakfast. And the staff were very helpful making sure that we had everything we needed including help with ski rental and lift passes. We are looking forward to going back and staying here again.

Room tip: Ask for suggestions to rent ski goods and get lift passes
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 186padraigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here last year for three days and wrote on it. I came back in March this year and stayed again for three days. I do not want to repeat my comments again, except to emphasise that I remain most pleased with the accommodation, the services and the food provided. I forgot to mention last year that the hotel also has two small private onsens, which can be used by a couple exclusively. After a cold and stressful day on the slopes, what can be more soothing than merging oneself in a long bath of very hot water!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank 51gregoryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2015

We had come to this hotel for our annual skiing holiday for over ten years. This year, we stayed here for three nights in early January. There were plenty of snow. The scenery outside the window was excellent. It is a family run hotel. The hosts were most helpful and cheerful, making their best efforts to make the stay an enjoyable one. The food is a fusion of western and Japanese dishes, with substantial portion to feed the hungry from the slopes. Beer and wine are free on weekdays. We would definitely go back again next year.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank 51gregoryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at Silk wood hotel for two night. It was at the end of December and a lot of snow was around us. Despite the location which is very suitable for skiing, we decided to go there for a relaxing time. In the hotel there is a private hot spring which is available almost the whole day. We had a spacious twin room at the last floor. It was really perfect. We had a sofa and the bath was really Japanese house style having a big bath tub with possibility to activate some bubbles. There were all we needed. Not a lot of amenities but all of the necessary. The stuff was really kind since the beginning. They didn't speak much English but they were helpful and joyful. Food was more than good and each evening as desert we got a big cake only for us. To reach the hotel it's difficult without a private vehicle. But the hotel gives the possibility to have a lift from and to the station if required. It was really a lovely stay and, for sure, we will stay there again :)

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zurkakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews