We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
HK$1,122
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
HK$1,135
Breakfast included
Earn rewards on eligible stays
Rakuten Travel
HK$1,357
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
46
12
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
46
12
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

This February 2018 was our 4th visit to Hakuba and the Hotel Traumerei. It's time I write a review of this awesome Hotel .... it may not be a 5 Star property but the service, ambience and food in their French Restaurant certainly is ! Back in 2015 when we made our first booking through an agent, they offered us a few options for accommodations and my husband and I chose the Traumerei because it has a French restaurant and the facade of the hotel looks so 'fairytale" set in the snow. Hence, begin our annual visit to Hakuba! Thank you for your exceptional hospitality Nishino-san and the excellent and attentive service of all your staff, in particular Yumiko-san (at the reception) and Karuo-san who would sometimes drive me to the ski slopes for my lesson and picks me up. I wish I could speak Japanese so that I am able to interact with them more. Fast forward ...... 4 years later, it's like going back to second home, with the familiar faces and surroundings and the same room! You have read the other reviews, from the moment you get picked up at the Bus station and arriving in the hotel ... so I need not say more. But I agree, I love the creme brûlée haha! But do book at least one dinner in their French restaurant, you won't regret it. Nishino-san is not just a hotelier, he is a passionate owner of this hotel he built 36 years ago! His love for this place and what he does is reflected in his genuine hospitality. He speaks to every guest that walks through his hotel and restaurant and he loves to offer them a drink and to get to know each of his guests. His knowledge of French wines and sake is amazing and is always so generous to share his collection of wines with his guests. Some evenings he even dons his chef uniform and whips up his signature okonomiyaki and Yakiudon behind the bar counter while we sit and sip wine and await our dinner!! Evenings like these, we eat, drink and chat till late in the night and next morning at 7.30 am the same staff who bid us goodnight the previous night is there knocking on our door to serve breakfast! OMG! don't they sleep?

Truly, you must experience this yourself ..... don't take my words for it! The last 2 years we have brought friends with us to experience the unique Traumerei hospitality and the wonderful Hakuba experience .... snow, ski, food, onsen, etc etc. Looking forward to February 2019 ..... Traumerei .... here we come!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank fivecarat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2018

We finished our skiing holiday in Hakuba Valley with a stay in Hotel Traumerei. The tone was set immediately upon checkin when we were invited to take a seat and enjoy the best creme caramel I've ever tasted an a piping hot cup of camomile tea. The rooms are well appointed and very large by Japanese standards. The full size bath was a welcome luxury, as were the two bookable private onsens downstairs. The owner, Nishino-san, is as passionate about wine as he is about his hotel that he designed 36+ years ago. If you're looking for a touch of luxury in the snow, you can't go past Hotel Traumerei.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Trenton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We absolutely loved our time at Traumerei. We were picked up from the station by sweet smiling Kaoru and enjoyed many drop offs and pick ups during our 3 day/night stay. When we arrived the lovely receptionist gave us tea and creme caramel and chatted about our requirements. The dinners were absolutely amazing every night; top quality produce perfectly presented. The French wine options were great. Breakfast was terrific; croissants and really lovely strong coffee with hot milk if needed. There was also a free laundry service! Hotel was close to Hakuba47. The onsen was very welcome after skiing. Internet was good. Enjoyed a drink with Ryo Nishino; the hotel is his much loved 'baby'. Everything and everyone was awesome. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azzapensta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Beautiful hotel in a great location to skiing areas. The rooms are small and need updating, but the staff is so friendly. The owner is a gem. He knows a lot about wine and is happy to share his knowledge as well as his inventory. Super friendly. The in-room breakfast is on a sweet side, unless you request eggs and savory items and they are happy to accommodate the request.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kasia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Food is simply of the highest quality. Service is also of the highest quality.
So happy my wonderful wife took me to this extraordinary restaurant. Very understated environment but so very good.

Great new onsen. Bedrooms could be better but we came for the food and it was one of the best meals I have had EVER!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews