We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
NoolsC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Excellent restaurant

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2023
Unfortunately we were not staying in this hotel (we will next time we are in Hakuba) but we had the most amazing dinner at the restaurant. From the deco to the amazing staff and the fabulous food, everything was perfect. Highly recommend it for a Japanese meal.
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Easy and fast booking
  • japanican.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$1,091
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from Hotel Hakuba Hifumi
Free Wifi
Free parking
LavaRock
  • Marriott
    HK$2,236
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
1.4 km from Hotel Hakuba Hifumi
Free Wifi
Free parking
Triple Room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,673
  • Expedia
0.4 km from Hotel Hakuba Hifumi
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Expedia
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$2,341
  • Agoda.com
3.9 km from Hotel Hakuba Hifumi
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$2,151
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Hotel Hakuba Hifumi
Free Wifi
Free parking
冬の外観
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$1,574
  • Expedia
1.7 km from Hotel Hakuba Hifumi
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$2,314
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Hotel Hakuba Hifumi
Free Wifi
Free parking
ミーティア
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$812
  • Expedia
1.5 km from Hotel Hakuba Hifumi
Free Wifi
Free parking
3名部屋
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$936
  • Expedia
0.9 km from Hotel Hakuba Hifumi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hotel Stelle Belle

  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    HK$911
  • Expedia
4.6 km from Hotel Hakuba Hifumi
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakuba-mura
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
109
13
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
13
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private onsen deluxe rooms japanese and western style the bus staying nights outdoor bath wonderful stay after a long day dropped off breakfast included breakfast and dinner every morning ski fields ski trip ryokan happo skiing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2023

Some background on this stay, we tried to book this ryokan 2 years in a row and when we finally got a booking, the pandemic hit. So we finally only made it 3 years after the first attempt to book.

Due to this, sadly the anticipation to stay at this inn was a big let down. Some of the deluxe rooms with outdoor bath were advertised as being renewed and this led to an impression that all deluxe rooms with baths would be of similar standard.

It was also my fault that I didn’t pay closer attention to the room we were assigned to and therefore when I saw the bath in the room we got, which was a round metallic tub with some questionable surfaces on the bottom I felt really let down, instead of a nice wooden bath that I was expecting.

The main reason for staying in a ryokan is usually a Japanese style tatami room, Onsen facilities and amazing food.
The tatami part of our room was small and the main part was western style with a very off-putting cloth covered sofa which I would not like to see what is actually beneath it. The rug was also old and not too clean. Honestly it was quite shocking that this room costs us over ¥50,000 per night for 2 adults and one child.
Ryokans always charge by the number of people and in return breakfasts and dinners are provided.
There was only breakfast and dinner was additionally charged which is the first time ever in 20 years of traveling in Japan.
There was no reason to charge by per person for the room then. Staying 6 nights is the equivalent of an engineer’s monthly salary in Japan and this is simply exorbitant for the standard of the room with only breakfast included.

One more thing is that the only shower in the room is also outside and there are open gaps in the window so it’s always freezing in the bath area and water in the tub gets cold in 10 mins. Not very relaxing either, this is simply a bad design.

Onsen facilities are small with no outdoor space and the smell was overpowering due to lack of ventilation.

The staff was friendly but service is a bit lacking, we didn’t even get offered any tea at all upon checking in.
Foreigners may not always be welcomed in Japan but in a international tourist place like Hakuba I really wish that the Japanese would keep their famous hospitality standards or just not accept foreign guests if they do not wish to do so. It should not be different standards for Japanese and foreign guests.

For future visitors who would like to have a deluxe room with a bath, I would recommend to avoid’Hina’ room unless you want to have a metallic tub.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank HannLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2023

This is a 5-star hotel in every aspect. We had a 5-night stay, but with 4 different rooms due to the availability. The rooms with private onsens are highly recommended. We have stayed many ryokans, but HIFUMI has a modern touch while keeps the beauty of tradition.
The breakfast, both Japanese and Western are delicious. We dined in two nights, both dinners are beautiful and tasty. English speaker Maria was most delightful. Indeed, everyone we met at the hotel are courteous, helpful and efficient. It’s indeed the best kind hospitality that you could expect and we are deeply thankful for HIFUMI make our ski trip so wonderful.
We look forward to coming back.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank houzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2023

Hotel Hakuba Hifumi is an excellent place to stay, especially after a long day of skiing! The staff could not be friendlier or more accommodating. From the moment we walked in they were kind and eager to help. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the private onsen was incredible. Breakfast was great (if you're feeling adventurous go for the traditional Japanese style breakfast!) and the location was very central - close the mountains, shops and restaurants. Highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kaitlynm933
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2023 via mobile

We had a truly superb stay here in January. We stayed for 7 nights in the busy new year season for skiing and this place was wonderful. We didn’t have a private onsen in our room but it didn’t matter, the room was beautiful and comfortable and the private onsen available for booking was always available at a convenient time and was such a treat at the end of a long day skiing!

The food is really excellent. Beautiful breakfasts every morning (we had both Japanese and Western style breakfasts, both delicious). We also had two dinners here and it was some of the best food we had in Hakuba!

We were collected from the train station and dropped off on our day of check out at no extra cost. The location is perfect, 1 min from the bus to Happo One and 3 mins from the bus for all other ski fields.

Special thanks to Yuko Beppu who was really wonderful, and who answered all our questions via email before we even arrived!

Couldn’t recommend a stay here more highly, was a really special experience we will cherish for years to come!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2020 via mobile

Had an enjoyable Japanese Ryokan (traditional home) experience complete with Japanese garments (Yukata) and slippers. I like the idea that shoes are left at the reception and you walk around in clean Japanese slippers. Do try the set dinners that they organize a few times a week. The public onsen was always empty even when the private one was booked. Best of all, the hotel was really quiet and conducive to a good night sleep. But there were no black out curtains and latest breakfast was 830 am. So no sleeping in till noon.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank UnbiasedFairComment
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews