We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$480
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Westin.com
US$483
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
ExpediaUS$488
Agoda.comUS$493
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
178
138
31
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
138
31
20
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Nice hotel , excellent service, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast also excellent. The Onzen are amazing place for relaxing after skiing with indoor and outdoor view to the snowy mountain. The Japanese Restaurant is also nice for dinner with excellent taste and fresh sashimi. We try their teppanyaki this is so super yummy

Room tip: they provide the bigger room for family or group
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcelina268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 March 2020

We’ve been to Niseko since 2009 and it’s become unbearably busy. The queues on powder days are ridiculously long (30 mins for the Ace Quad). Rusutsu is so much quieter (4000 maximum occupancy in hotels compared to what feels like almost 400 hotels in Hirafu alone). Runs are long and wide, and mostly intermediate. Also no idiots out here on the slopes. We were there for 8 days and I only saw 2 selfie sticks on the slopes. You can tell the skiers and boarders are serious about their sport here, not just trying to get the best selfie (cannot say the same for Hirafu now). Everyone is skiing and snowboarding responsibly. However, the Westin is old. It’s really old. The lobby is grand but the bathrooms, carpets, and decor are circa 1990. Bed is fortunately comfortable. It’s time for a real upgrade considering the price point. Food is also mediocre. Breakfast standard fare, pastries excellent. But almost no options for lunch except the fast food dining hall. For dinner we had to repeat sukiyaki and shabu shabu a few nights because the resort lacks choices. Kitchen is not equipped for cooking nor are there grocery stores nearby. We’ll always land back in Niseko for the restaurants but Rusutsu has proven itself a great competitor. Hopefully more dining options will open up with Vale joining. The staff is very young, mostly local, Chinese and Southeast Asian, and not very well-trained. They struggled to deal upfront with simple questions and often had to scurry away to ask for help. Customer service is not at the same level you expect from a Westin. We were also not greeted by the front staff despite staying here for 8 days - not a real problem but it’s almost unheard of in Japan. The concierge was the only one who stood out, Maeda-san, was helpful before and during the trip. Personally came to greet us when we arrived. General manager of the hotel also sought us out on our second last day (we are Marriott Bonvoy ambassador members), which was appreciated. The monorail was fun for our toddler. A bit annoying for us to get a child dressed up in full gear to go for dinner every time.

I would not consider this really ski-in ski-out accomodation, and I don’t think it’s very clear on the website. To me, this is lift accessible, meaning from the Westin you need to go about 5-7 minutes on flat ground with your skis (it’s really flat) to a complimentary chair lift ride (another 5 mins) that takes you to the actual ski lift or you can ride the monorail to a different mountain. But you don’t actually ski down the slope into the hotel. You can ski into the Rusutsu Resort hotel.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lhousehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WestinRusutsu, General Manager at The Westin Rusutsu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Dear lhousehold,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Rusutsu Resort as your winter holiday resort destination in Hokkaido and appreciate to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Also we really appreciate to share both positive and concerning feedback which make us more motivate to improve our service standard. Especially upkeep guest room and property maintenance, food quality and F&B service products. We have already shared your feedback to related department to exceed customer expectations.

We are wishing this current circumstance to conclusion soon and all skiers / boarders who loves Rusutsu back to here soon.

Ihousehold, thank you again for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Rusutsu / Hokkaido.

Until then be well.

The Westin Rusutsu Resort
General Manager

Atsushi Miyazaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

I really wanted to give the Westin 5 stars. Their service was top notch and they were so friendly. The rooms were large and the bed comfy. The onsen was absolutely amazing!!! If you are a westerner and are a little scared to do the public bath thing, you will be missing out on one of the best parts of the hotel. I named the hot tub the “witches brew” because (1) it looks like a witches pot full of bubbly water (2) it is always colourful from the scents they add (3) it has healing powers to sore muscles after a big day on the slopes. Besides the witches brew, the outside onsen allows your face to stay cool while your muscles take time to soak. We stayed at the Westin for a week and only used our shower once. The rest of the time we used the public bath....they are just that good!
As for the downsides, somehow we missed the “memo” that said to include your meals in your stay. Big mistake!! Breakfast was like $30 AU and dinner was double that. We went to 7/11 and bought yogurt and pastry for brekkie but there wasn’t cutlery in the kitchenette. We ended up managing with the little coffee spoons. We went to Rusutsu resort and got some cheap hamburgers and pizza but they were not very tasty. If we would have known, we would have booked the food in our hotel package. Though, an alacarte brekkie would be nice as it is hard to ski hard with a big breakfast in the belly.
Oh, on the food issue....kudos to the Westin for there healthy meal options. The healthy meal options were very tasty and were actually healthy.
Lastly, another big downer is the Westin is NOT ski in and ski out and they are very deceptive in their advertising. First off you have to hike/ski about 300 metres to get to the Westin lift that takes you to the ski field. When coming back in the afternoon, even though I zoomed through the beginner area, I couldn’t make it to the Westin lift and once again found myself hiking up to the lift and then having to hike the 300 metres from the lift to the hotel. I think if Westin advertised correctly this wouldn’t be a big deal, but when you stay there, thinking you are going to have ski in/ski out, it makes you a bit upset.
Overall, we would stay at the Westin and would recommend others to stay there as well. We would buy the food package next time and our mindset about the ski in and ski out would be different. Otherwise, the place is amazing.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank worldtravellers1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WestinRusutsu, General Manager at The Westin Rusutsu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

worldtravellers1995

Thank you for choosing The Westin Rusutsu Resort for your recent winter holiday stay.
We appreciate for taking your precious time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very appreciating your feedback both positive and downwards for positive side specially your comments related Onsen public bath and our signature Westin Eat Well menus. However, luck of menu variety and distance from Westin Rusutsu exit to transport lift to the ski mountains. Your both feedback are already shared with all operation team to how make a difference and improve service products to support all customer’s well-being when travel to Rusutsu / Hokkaido.

Thank you again for staying at the Westin Rusutsu Resort, we do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rusutsu Resort not so long future. If we can be of any further assistance for your future stay, please kindly directory contact with us anything anytime.

Be well.

The Westin Rusutsu Resort
General Manager
Atsushi Miyazaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Prior to the trip I communicated via email with Konishi-san numerous times with a whole heap of questions including transport to and from the hotel. Konishi-san’s responses were fantastic. She always responded rapidly with very helpful information in excellent English. I cannot praise her enough. What a fantastic start to our holiday and it gave us huge confidence in the Westin (we have never been to Japan for skiing prior to this trip).

The rooms are large and excellent and would not be too crowded for four people (we only had two people). The bedroom is upstairs with two beds, the downstairs has a large living area, a breakfast bar with sink/Nespresso coffee machine/Kettle (no cooking facilities) and a small bar fridge. It also has two murphy beds, sofas, chairs and a large coffee table, great views of the mountain, fantastic shower room and a separate toilet. The stairs from the upstairs bedroom to the lounge area are steep and there are lots of them. This shouldn’t be a problem for most skiers, but it is a pain if you need to go downstairs during the night to go to the bathroom.

We never ate at the Westin during our 6-night stay. It was just too expensive and did not seem like good value for money, which is common in large international-style hotels. Instead we either obtained pre-made meals at the local seven-eleven (only a very short 3-5 minute walk down the driveway) which would also heat the meals for you, or we ate at some of the local small restaurants outside of the hotel. These served excellent food and were great value, but you need to book to guarantee a table as they are popular. By the way, the seven-eleven sells wine, some spirits and beer at very reasonable prices.

I have seen conflicting reviews about whether the Westin is ski-in and ski-out. Once outside the Westin, you don’t need to take your skis off until your return (unless you catch one of the gondolas), but different people will have different thoughts on whether this is ski-in ski-out. My full take on skiing at the Westin (for skiing at East Mountain and Mount Isola) is as follows : (1) You will be given an excellent locker that will hold yours skis, stocks, boots and helmet (presumably snowboards as well, but that’s not my scene); (2) The locker room is terrific – it is lightly heated so it keeps your boots warm enough to get on easily without being too hot to bear while wearing all your ski gear – it is carpeted, so no slipping in your ski boots – it has comfortable benches for getting your boots on/off etc. – it even has some private change rooms if you want to get fully changed before going to your room; (3) The locker room is located right next to the outside of the hotel, so its less than a 1 minute walk with your skis across the carpet and then some rubberized tiles (again no slipping) until you are on the snow; (4) From here it is probably a 3-4 minute walk along a snow covered path to the access chair lift, or a 1-2 minute skate along that path – some people skated in both directions but some walked due to the small rise (both up and down) in the path – I always skated; (5) The access chair is a 2-seater express chair (detachable) with a hood; (6) When you get off the access chair, you still need to take either another chair or a gondola before you can start skiing down trails; (7) The skiing at East Mountain and Mt Isola is fantastic for intermediates (between the trees also looked excellent for advanced riders, but I am not in that league) – great snow, wide runs, few people, tiny lift queues or no queues, excellent lifts (most being express covered chairs or gondolas – but there were two slow 2-seater lifts WITHOUT SAFTEY BARS that I absolutely HATED and only used once each day out of necessity to get back); (8) At the end of the day, you cannot ski back to the Westin, instead, you ski back to the 2-seater express access chair and take that back to the short path that you walk or skate back to the Westin on.

The Rusutsu Resort across the road (or via the monorail) is on the West Mountain and it looks like this has ski-in access (ski-out probably involves a short uphill skate) from the West Mountain. However, the West Mountain is tiny compared to Isola and the East Mountain, so I think intermediates would want to spend all their time at Isola and East Mountain in preference. For these mountains, I think that the Westin has better access, but this could depend on which part of the Rusutsu Resort you are staying in. By the way, the Rusutsu Resort seemed quite “tacky” to me. It would be great for young kids with its Disney Land style themes, but the Westin is better for adults (although I expect it will cost a bit more).

Despite it being pricey, we are extremely keen to return to the Westin for another ski holiday at Rusutsu.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BRK767
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 February 2020

a well integrated resort with all you need for a nice powdery board trip. It has few nice restaurants, rental shop, hot springs, amenities shops all within walking distance. The hotel staffs are the most let down with passive serving attitude. One example is 4-5 staffs looking at one person clearing the glass at breakfast and no one serves the long building line of guests. Other than that, food quality and hotel cleanliness are good.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank levenzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews