We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$190
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotel Website
Hotels.com
Expedia
eDreams
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
252
396
102
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
252
396
102
38
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2019 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 4 years in a row for skiing because of the snow quality and food (king crab leg) during winter season. They are what Rusutsu Resort is famous for.

I was very disappointed that King Crab Legs (Tarabagani) were no longer available at Oktoberfest Restaurant during buffet dinner and the price of the dinner buffet is still higher than previous years. Snow crab legs were still served but they are not as tasty as king crab legs.

I won't stay there again because the management knows that the hotel will still be full during Christmas/New Year and Chinese New Year periods and the hotel wants to cut down the cost and maximize the profit by not serving King Crab leg at the buffet dinner. I'm telling you that you are very wrong and you make repeated guests disappointed and angry!

This old, outdated hotel now has not much selling points and there are not much of reasons for your loyal customer to come back again! Next winter season I plan to stay somewhere else much cheaper room rate with rental car and come for skiing only during daytime and have dinner somewhere else.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank UA-2-million-miler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2019

Dear UA-2-million-miler,

We sincerely thank you for your continuous visit to Rusutsu Resort and appreciate taking your precious time to share your experience with us.

However, we deeply apologize for disappointment due to no more serving king crab legs at Oktoberfest, a buffet restaurant.
We will definitely take this significant feedback from you into our consideration for the best experience of all guests who stay with us, and we are glad to have next chance to welcome you back in future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2019 via mobile

We went there for our 2 year old as previous ski trips he couldn't really do much at all and we felt bad. And we found a winner and will definitely go back again.
The hotel is old and rooms are typically small comparing to western standard but it has many facilities which are great for family with little kids.
It's truely ski-in ski-out, having a ski locker,ski hire and you can find many English speaking instructors for both ski and snowboard. And the best thing is it's so less crowded than Niseko. You do as in a well established Japanese ski resort have many Japanese school trippers but those kids are so well behaved and so orderly you won't worry a thing. Couple mornings we were be able to on the fresh groomed slopes just by ourselves! You won't get that in Niseko ever again!
There are definitely more courses on the mountain Isola side accessible by gondolas.
Inside the hotel they have a heated wave pool with giant slide as well as many shops and restaurants, music fountains at night,a Carousel! game arcade and my little boy had great time just running around in the shirts without going outside and enjoyed his days.
Foods are great.We paid bit extra to have half-board and which is way worth it. There are a couple convenience stores outside as well to get cheaper drinks etc.
24 hour self laundry, ping pong games are also available.
Actually,you will have fun there yourself with or without a little kid.
It might not to cheap but for all the convenience and less people it is way worth the money and a good experience for the whole family.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank beachgoer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2019

Dear beachgoer1000,

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate taking your precious time to share your experience with us.

We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed not only skiing but also staying with us, including entertainment facilities inside the hotel.

During green season (from late April to late October), amusement park opens and various summer activities available.
If you have another chance to visit Hokkaido, please try staying with us during summer, cool and comfortable season.

We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again, hopefully near future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

We have stayed at Rusustu Resort Hotel for the past 12 years and generally enjoyed the experience, but there are a few things which really annoy us. Every year we request a slope facing room, but it falls on deaf ears. We have often been placed in a poor room with a view of the car park and poor wi fi. Most hotels warmly welcome back loyal guests and try to accomodate them accordingly. We only ever ask this one request and deem it not too demanding.
The room is quite comfortable and they have definitely improved the beds ( which used to be rock hard- for an older westerner). The breakfasts a rare superb and we have found the staff friendly.

Date of stay: February 2019
3  Thank trishg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear trishg2000,

Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply.

We sincerely appreciate your continuous visiting us and your feedback this time.
We are happy to hear you had enjoyed staying with us and winter experience here, in Rusutsu.
However, we apologize for the inconvenience you mentioned. We would like to manage to accommodate a request from you as much as possible, so could you please send us an email directly, writing to "Web Sales Team" and mention about this feedback on TripAdvisor (with your nickname on TripAdvisor).

We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again next winter.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

Don't listen to the naysayers. This place is great. Ski in ski out. Great service.
The hotel is massive, you need a map to get around. There is a monorail to the Westin which gives you a few more restaurants. It's next to an amusement park and almost has one inside. Yes it verges on tacky but it is actually brilliant - a bit of nostalgia. Also the rooms are huge.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anotherkiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear Anotherkiwitraveller,

Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply.

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate your positive feedback.
We are especially glad to hear your comment "Great service", and hope you had great winter experience here, in Rusutsu.

During green season (from late April to late October), amusement park opens and various summer activities available. If you have another chance to visit Hokkaido, please try staying with us during summer, cool and comfortable season.
We look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

On the plus side: it was clean and the staff very polite. Every other aspect of the place is terrible. It is severely lacking in maintenance to start. The ambience is a horrific and tacky, often distasteful knock off of 70’s something. Our room was the most uninviting box, with nothing remotely comfortable. I can appreciate a hard bed, however this wasn’t not a hard mattress, it was flogged out. There wasn’t a relaxing space in the entire facility and it was constantly filled with terrible music.

This was this most appalling place to stay AND it came at a premium price. Wouldn’t have been worth it at a tenth the cost.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank matthewbT1962BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear Matthew B@matthewbT1962BS,

Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply.

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate your feedback.
However, we apologize for all inconveniences you mentioned. We will definitely share your feedback with all related departments and our management team to improve our service quality.
We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews