We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
Expedia
US$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Agoda.com
US$125
View deal
Hotel WebsiteUS$161
Trip.comUS$142
Hotels.comUS$189
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
252
396
102
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
252
396
102
38
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2019

We have stayed at Rusustu Resort Hotel for the past 12 years and generally enjoyed the experience, but there are a few things which really annoy us. Every year we request a slope facing room, but it falls on deaf ears. We have often been placed in a poor room with a view of the car park and poor wi fi. Most hotels warmly welcome back loyal guests and try to accomodate them accordingly. We only ever ask this one request and deem it not too demanding.
The room is quite comfortable and they have definitely improved the beds ( which used to be rock hard- for an older westerner). The breakfasts a rare superb and we have found the staff friendly.

Date of stay: February 2019
3  Thank trishg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear trishg2000,

Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply.

We sincerely appreciate your continuous visiting us and your feedback this time.
We are happy to hear you had enjoyed staying with us and winter experience here, in Rusutsu.
However, we apologize for the inconvenience you mentioned. We would like to manage to accommodate a request from you as much as possible, so could you please send us an email directly, writing to "Web Sales Team" and mention about this feedback on TripAdvisor (with your nickname on TripAdvisor).

We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again next winter.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

Don't listen to the naysayers. This place is great. Ski in ski out. Great service.
The hotel is massive, you need a map to get around. There is a monorail to the Westin which gives you a few more restaurants. It's next to an amusement park and almost has one inside. Yes it verges on tacky but it is actually brilliant - a bit of nostalgia. Also the rooms are huge.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anotherkiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear Anotherkiwitraveller,

Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply.

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate your positive feedback.
We are especially glad to hear your comment "Great service", and hope you had great winter experience here, in Rusutsu.

During green season (from late April to late October), amusement park opens and various summer activities available. If you have another chance to visit Hokkaido, please try staying with us during summer, cool and comfortable season.
We look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

On the plus side: it was clean and the staff very polite. Every other aspect of the place is terrible. It is severely lacking in maintenance to start. The ambience is a horrific and tacky, often distasteful knock off of 70’s something. Our room was the most uninviting box, with nothing remotely comfortable. I can appreciate a hard bed, however this wasn’t not a hard mattress, it was flogged out. There wasn’t a relaxing space in the entire facility and it was constantly filled with terrible music.

This was this most appalling place to stay AND it came at a premium price. Wouldn’t have been worth it at a tenth the cost.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank matthewbT1962BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear Matthew B@matthewbT1962BS,

Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply.

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate your feedback.
However, we apologize for all inconveniences you mentioned. We will definitely share your feedback with all related departments and our management team to improve our service quality.
We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019

We had a 3 day 2 night stay at Rusutsu Resort in Dec, paying peak season price. The snow is great (not too cold, but lots of snow), but I have been to Tomamu previously and everything pales in comparison.

1) check-in. We came early (using the free shuttle from Sapporo). During early check-in, the staff (most of the men at the counter have grumpy faces) scanned our passports and told us to come back after 2pm (or was it 3pm) for check in. There is no cloak room so we can given locker coins to check-in our luggage. Turns out that many of the lockers cannot be used using the locker coins because the coin cannot fit into the slots! And most of the lower lockers are already utilised. When we check in again in the afternoon, the staff at the counter (a lady this time, and she smiled) actually asked for our passports for scanning again though her colleague had done so earlier. Shouldn't this procedure be established?

2) there are two buildings - the North/South wing and Westin. While there is an onsen in the North-South wing, it is a small area within an enclosed room, the open air onsen is actually situated in the Westin wing, and requires an access pass. It will be good if the North/South wing can have an open-air onsen too.

3) During check-in, the staff told us that reservations can be made for restaurants online. There is also no room service. For a hotel charging that place, I would expect lesser self-service. Ends up many of the restaurants were fully booked for the evenings, but luckily we tried to walk in and managed to get a table.

4) I suppose they assume that most/all of their visitors are able-bodied since this is a skiing place, but I have seen many babies/toddlers and elderly with their families. However, some of the places do not have lift access. An example was the restaurant on the 2nd floor at Westin lift lobby, which only has a winding staircase that leads to the 2nd floor. We have to ask the staff for advice, and they assisted us by bringing us to the staff lift which is behind a door.

5) In the North/South wing, there is only a lift. With many travelers carrying big luggage, we have to wait for several rounds before we get to take the lift; the slowness of the lift does not help.

6) Their free shuttle leaves Sapporo in the morning, and you will reach the hotel with several hours to spare before check-in. Similarly, their shuttle leaves Rusutsu in the evening, when you have checked out for several hours. While there are other buses (chargeable) with better timings, it will be good if Rusutsu can arrange for buses to reach the hotel just before check-in, and buses to leave just after check-out.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CurlyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear CurlyMommy,

Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply.

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate taking your precious time to share your experience with us.

However, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience you mentioned. We will definitely share you comment with the related departments and our management team in order to improve our service quality.
We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and hope that we have another chance to welcome you again in future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019 via mobile

After it took us 10 minutes, 3 lifts and a marathon fighting through the cleaners to get to our room from reception we wanted to relax.
Smallest room I have ever stayed in.
Old peanuts on the bed, broken safe, burnt out light bulbs, TV from 1990, decor from 1980. There’s no way I can get under that shower and I’m only 1m80.
Thought we’d go and burn off some energy - but the fitness centre has been shut to accommodate the thousands of screaming school kids?!!
They didn’t shut the insane carousel, dancing fountains, reindeer zoo and 8-pointed snowflake projector though.
Terrible design, scanty facilities and unhelpful staff.
We hope to change to the Westin tomorrow.
Ski in/Ski out???? but followed by a Herculean trek to get to your cupboard room after.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 586danec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2019

Dear 586danec,

Thank you for your stay with us and your feedback.
We deeply regret that you could not been satisfied with your stay at our hotel despite choosing our hotel from many other resort hotels in Hokkaido, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
We had already shared every points mentioned in your feedback with the related departments and the management team in order to improve our service quality. We appreciate that you gave us a chance to improve our hotel services/ service products this time.
Please contact us directly for further feedback in details, and we are definitely glad to have next chance to welcome you back in future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews