We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$125
View deal
ExpediaUS$189
Hotel WebsiteUS$161
ZenHotels.comUS$155
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
252
396
102
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
252
396
102
38
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

On the plus side: it was clean and the staff very polite. Every other aspect of the place is terrible. It is severely lacking in maintenance to start. The ambience is a horrific and tacky, often distasteful knock off of 70’s something. Our room was the most uninviting box, with nothing remotely comfortable. I can appreciate a hard bed, however this wasn’t not a hard mattress, it was flogged out. There wasn’t a relaxing space in the entire facility and it was constantly filled with terrible music.

This was this most appalling place to stay AND it came at a premium price. Wouldn’t have been worth it at a tenth the cost.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank matthewbT1962BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear Matthew B@matthewbT1962BS,

Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply.

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate your feedback.
However, we apologize for all inconveniences you mentioned. We will definitely share your feedback with all related departments and our management team to improve our service quality.
We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019

We had a 3 day 2 night stay at Rusutsu Resort in Dec, paying peak season price. The snow is great (not too cold, but lots of snow), but I have been to Tomamu previously and everything pales in comparison.

1) check-in. We came early (using the free shuttle from Sapporo). During early check-in, the staff (most of the men at the counter have grumpy faces) scanned our passports and told us to come back after 2pm (or was it 3pm) for check in. There is no cloak room so we can given locker coins to check-in our luggage. Turns out that many of the lockers cannot be used using the locker coins because the coin cannot fit into the slots! And most of the lower lockers are already utilised. When we check in again in the afternoon, the staff at the counter (a lady this time, and she smiled) actually asked for our passports for scanning again though her colleague had done so earlier. Shouldn't this procedure be established?

2) there are two buildings - the North/South wing and Westin. While there is an onsen in the North-South wing, it is a small area within an enclosed room, the open air onsen is actually situated in the Westin wing, and requires an access pass. It will be good if the North/South wing can have an open-air onsen too.

3) During check-in, the staff told us that reservations can be made for restaurants online. There is also no room service. For a hotel charging that place, I would expect lesser self-service. Ends up many of the restaurants were fully booked for the evenings, but luckily we tried to walk in and managed to get a table.

4) I suppose they assume that most/all of their visitors are able-bodied since this is a skiing place, but I have seen many babies/toddlers and elderly with their families. However, some of the places do not have lift access. An example was the restaurant on the 2nd floor at Westin lift lobby, which only has a winding staircase that leads to the 2nd floor. We have to ask the staff for advice, and they assisted us by bringing us to the staff lift which is behind a door.

5) In the North/South wing, there is only a lift. With many travelers carrying big luggage, we have to wait for several rounds before we get to take the lift; the slowness of the lift does not help.

6) Their free shuttle leaves Sapporo in the morning, and you will reach the hotel with several hours to spare before check-in. Similarly, their shuttle leaves Rusutsu in the evening, when you have checked out for several hours. While there are other buses (chargeable) with better timings, it will be good if Rusutsu can arrange for buses to reach the hotel just before check-in, and buses to leave just after check-out.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CurlyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Dear CurlyMommy,

Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply.

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate taking your precious time to share your experience with us.

However, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience you mentioned. We will definitely share you comment with the related departments and our management team in order to improve our service quality.
We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and hope that we have another chance to welcome you again in future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019 via mobile

After it took us 10 minutes, 3 lifts and a marathon fighting through the cleaners to get to our room from reception we wanted to relax.
Smallest room I have ever stayed in.
Old peanuts on the bed, broken safe, burnt out light bulbs, TV from 1990, decor from 1980. There’s no way I can get under that shower and I’m only 1m80.
Thought we’d go and burn off some energy - but the fitness centre has been shut to accommodate the thousands of screaming school kids?!!
They didn’t shut the insane carousel, dancing fountains, reindeer zoo and 8-pointed snowflake projector though.
Terrible design, scanty facilities and unhelpful staff.
We hope to change to the Westin tomorrow.
Ski in/Ski out???? but followed by a Herculean trek to get to your cupboard room after.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 586danec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2019

Dear 586danec,

Thank you for your stay with us and your feedback.
We deeply regret that you could not been satisfied with your stay at our hotel despite choosing our hotel from many other resort hotels in Hokkaido, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
We had already shared every points mentioned in your feedback with the related departments and the management team in order to improve our service quality. We appreciate that you gave us a chance to improve our hotel services/ service products this time.
Please contact us directly for further feedback in details, and we are definitely glad to have next chance to welcome you back in future.

Warmest regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019 via mobile

This is our first time to rusutsu with kids. We have been to skiing nearby at Niseko and other smaller ski area nearby Tokyo.

The whole complex is huge and have quite a number of restaurants available for selection. We tried both keiseiki, teppanyaki, French and buffet there.

The staff in general are very friendly and helpful, except for one incidence where we called front desk and they hang up on us a few times (the staff was unable to speak English and didn’t pass the phone to others). Perhaps it is holiday coverage staff.

The hotel is very easy access to ski and ski rental. There is also ski class for younger kids and older kids. The problem is all the instructors are fully booked so you must book early.

The room was great and with space. If the hairdryer is a faster model then it would be perfect. We stayed at 3 other hotels in Hokkaido during our trip and this is the only hotel with old style hair dryer that doesn’t provide an extra modern one.

There are quite a number of things (ski related) to shop and after ski activities are fabulous! The swimming pool, onsen, Carousell, TV games, definitely provided non stop activities for them.

We would love to come again despite the minor stuff. We were lucky to be place on a room facing the piste, it was a bit noisy at night with the grooming but the view was great!

Thank you !

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JetsetterFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2019

Dear JetsetterFC,

We sincerely thank you for your stay with us and taking your precious time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear you liked not only skiing but also after ski activities in the hotel and the view from your room.
However, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused because of one of our staffs. We definitely share your feedback with each related department to re-educate our staffs on the basis of hospitality, and also our management team to improve our service quality in future.
We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again in future.
May this New Year bring happiness and joy to you and your family!

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

I am going to write what is probably the few negative review about Rusutsu Resort.
We were booked to stay from 25Dec and check out in the morning of Dec 28 to catch a plane to Tokyo.
What our mistake was initially, we didn’t carefully read that we needed to prebook the bus from Chitose Airport to the resort and vice versa.
But we managed to get a bus to the resort arriving around 1.30PM
No meeters greeters - they just show you to walk about 50m to the North/South wing depending on your reservation.

Checking in was smooth. The receptionist give us room card, ski pass and locker pass.
We tried to book the bus to Airport ahead, but because our flight was a bit too early (11am), no bus is avail for 28Dec.
Front desk suggested booking a taxi for ¥26k or minivan for ¥36k and leave us to think about it

So we checked in and started rearranging our luggage, send 3 luggages for delivery to Tokyo
This is done at 3.30 PM

Thereafter we headed to cafeteria Horn for lunch-and this is where everything started getting interesting.
Ordering is only available through 2 ticket machines, of which, 1 was broken.
The one that functions, doesn’t accept notes and can’t give ¥10 change. So all four of us frantically accumulate all our coins and manage to order only 3 meals. After all is done, I was able to find the cafeteria admin, who then tried to fix the machine several times until it is normalised.
But we have lost appetite.

At 4.30 pm we went to the ski school only to find out that there is no more trainers, except for evening sessions - we are beginners and unaware of the ski fields, how could we ski without a guide? A map certainly doesn’t help.
At 5pm we went to outdoor activities section to book for snow mobile, there was only standard (30’) slot on 12pm 27Dec so we booked.
At 530pm we visited Salomon rental shops both in south and north wings, and all they care to offer me is beginner package, although I tried to explain to them by Google translator that we needed a trainer, not merely equipment to rent!!
We had early dinner at Sekkatei, that with the money you spent there, you can get more and much better food elsewhere-but we were tired wanted to avoid long horrible queues in other restaurants.
At 8pm we approached reception to book taxi for 28Dec morning departure, only to find out that there IS NO TAXI for us in the morning of 28th and reception can’t offer any other solutions as well.
Luckily, there is an Indonesian concierge who helped us (language is really a problem in Rusutsu Resort, we had trouble communicating with receptionist, Salomon rental, and ski school).
Final outcome: we cancel our stay in the resort and take the common bus the next afternoon (26th) To Sapporo. The resort “only” charged us for 1 night+ski pass that we didn’t use (¥114k) out of ¥342k. That ¥114k consists of hotel accommodation and ski pass.
What is more upsetting is when we politely called to cancel our snow mobile booking (due on 27th) - the staff insisted on charging 50% fee.
I know there is a cancellation policy but hey? This is beyond our wish - and I am sure there will be people lining up to fill our slot.

What went wrong in the first place:
During our correspondence earlier this year, the hotel staff never mentioned about the necessities to prebook ski course in advance, nor does he care to see our arrival time to at least consider whether ski pass is needed on day 1/or seek to know our ski experience and so we ended up paying for ski pass although we didn’t use it on day 1.
There was absolutely no suitability checks.
All they care is sell you the package and fill the resort. Maybe Rusutsu is also overwhelmed with increased number of guests coming especially from domestic and Asia. The staffs looked weary and tensed, and not helpful Maybe they didn’t receive enough training for difficult situations and so they act like robot.

In the end, I could still understand why many people love the place. The rooms are old but warm. The place is vibrant, if you can get a booking then there are many activities to do for families, and shops to look at. The ski slopes look great.
To me, it feels like a smaller version of a casino hotel, replacing the roulette wheels with merry-go-round. Meal time can be a terrifying experience with people queuing in restaurants.
Hallways are chaotically noisy with people rushing here and there with their luggages or ski boots on.

Will I come back here again? I don’t think so.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank VenisianaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2018

Dear VenisianaD,

Thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate for taking your precious time to share your experience with us.
However, we sincerely apologize for all inconveniences caused, and experiences you mentioned.
We definitely share your feedback with each related department to re-educate our staffs on the basis of hospitality, and also our management team to improve our service quality in future.
As you mentioned, we should have informed more details about everything you mentioned such as transportation between the airport and the hotel, ski lessons for especially beginners, and activities including its cancellation policy.
Again, please accept our sincere apology and appreciate your valued feedback that gave us a chance to improvement in our services for all guests feel happy during stay with us.
We are taking the liberty of looking forward to welcoming you again in future.
Wishing you a joyful festive season and a very prosperous New Year 2019.

Best regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews