We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel Website
Hotels.com
Expedia
US$122
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Agoda.com
eDreams
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveller rating
252
396
101
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
252
396
101
38
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 803 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2019 via mobile

This is our first time to rusutsu with kids. We have been to skiing nearby at Niseko and other smaller ski area nearby Tokyo.

The whole complex is huge and have quite a number of restaurants available for selection. We tried both keiseiki, teppanyaki, French and buffet there.

The staff in general are very friendly and helpful, except for one incidence where we called front desk and they hang up on us a few times (the staff was unable to speak English and didn’t pass the phone to others). Perhaps it is holiday coverage staff.

The hotel is very easy access to ski and ski rental. There is also ski class for younger kids and older kids. The problem is all the instructors are fully booked so you must book early.

The room was great and with space. If the hairdryer is a faster model then it would be perfect. We stayed at 3 other hotels in Hokkaido during our trip and this is the only hotel with old style hair dryer that doesn’t provide an extra modern one.

There are quite a number of things (ski related) to shop and after ski activities are fabulous! The swimming pool, onsen, Carousell, TV games, definitely provided non stop activities for them.

We would love to come again despite the minor stuff. We were lucky to be place on a room facing the piste, it was a bit noisy at night with the grooming but the view was great!

Thank you !

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JetsetterFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at RUSUTSU RESORT HOTEL & CONVENTION, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2019

Dear JetsetterFC,

We sincerely thank you for your stay with us and taking your precious time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear you liked not only skiing but also after ski activities in the hotel and the view from your room.
However, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused because of one of our staffs. We definitely share your feedback with each related department to re-educate our staffs on the basis of hospitality, and also our management team to improve our service quality in future.
We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again in future.
May this New Year bring happiness and joy to you and your family!

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

I am going to write what is probably the few negative review about Rusutsu Resort.
We were booked to stay from 25Dec and check out in the morning of Dec 28 to catch a plane to Tokyo.
What our mistake was initially, we didn’t carefully read that we needed to prebook the bus from Chitose Airport to the resort and vice versa.
But we managed to get a bus to the resort arriving around 1.30PM
No meeters greeters - they just show you to walk about 50m to the North/South wing depending on your reservation.

Checking in was smooth. The receptionist give us room card, ski pass and locker pass.
We tried to book the bus to Airport ahead, but because our flight was a bit too early (11am), no bus is avail for 28Dec.
Front desk suggested booking a taxi for ¥26k or minivan for ¥36k and leave us to think about it

So we checked in and started rearranging our luggage, send 3 luggages for delivery to Tokyo
This is done at 3.30 PM

Thereafter we headed to cafeteria Horn for lunch-and this is where everything started getting interesting.
Ordering is only available through 2 ticket machines, of which, 1 was broken.
The one that functions, doesn’t accept notes and can’t give ¥10 change. So all four of us frantically accumulate all our coins and manage to order only 3 meals. After all is done, I was able to find the cafeteria admin, who then tried to fix the machine several times until it is normalised.
But we have lost appetite.

At 4.30 pm we went to the ski school only to find out that there is no more trainers, except for evening sessions - we are beginners and unaware of the ski fields, how could we ski without a guide? A map certainly doesn’t help.
At 5pm we went to outdoor activities section to book for snow mobile, there was only standard (30’) slot on 12pm 27Dec so we booked.
At 530pm we visited Salomon rental shops both in south and north wings, and all they care to offer me is beginner package, although I tried to explain to them by Google translator that we needed a trainer, not merely equipment to rent!!
We had early dinner at Sekkatei, that with the money you spent there, you can get more and much better food elsewhere-but we were tired wanted to avoid long horrible queues in other restaurants.
At 8pm we approached reception to book taxi for 28Dec morning departure, only to find out that there IS NO TAXI for us in the morning of 28th and reception can’t offer any other solutions as well.
Luckily, there is an Indonesian concierge who helped us (language is really a problem in Rusutsu Resort, we had trouble communicating with receptionist, Salomon rental, and ski school).
Final outcome: we cancel our stay in the resort and take the common bus the next afternoon (26th) To Sapporo. The resort “only” charged us for 1 night+ski pass that we didn’t use (¥114k) out of ¥342k. That ¥114k consists of hotel accommodation and ski pass.
What is more upsetting is when we politely called to cancel our snow mobile booking (due on 27th) - the staff insisted on charging 50% fee.
I know there is a cancellation policy but hey? This is beyond our wish - and I am sure there will be people lining up to fill our slot.

What went wrong in the first place:
During our correspondence earlier this year, the hotel staff never mentioned about the necessities to prebook ski course in advance, nor does he care to see our arrival time to at least consider whether ski pass is needed on day 1/or seek to know our ski experience and so we ended up paying for ski pass although we didn’t use it on day 1.
There was absolutely no suitability checks.
All they care is sell you the package and fill the resort. Maybe Rusutsu is also overwhelmed with increased number of guests coming especially from domestic and Asia. The staffs looked weary and tensed, and not helpful Maybe they didn’t receive enough training for difficult situations and so they act like robot.

In the end, I could still understand why many people love the place. The rooms are old but warm. The place is vibrant, if you can get a booking then there are many activities to do for families, and shops to look at. The ski slopes look great.
To me, it feels like a smaller version of a casino hotel, replacing the roulette wheels with merry-go-round. Meal time can be a terrifying experience with people queuing in restaurants.
Hallways are chaotically noisy with people rushing here and there with their luggages or ski boots on.

Will I come back here again? I don’t think so.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank VenisianaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at RUSUTSU RESORT HOTEL & CONVENTION, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2018

Dear VenisianaD,

Thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate for taking your precious time to share your experience with us.
However, we sincerely apologize for all inconveniences caused, and experiences you mentioned.
We definitely share your feedback with each related department to re-educate our staffs on the basis of hospitality, and also our management team to improve our service quality in future.
As you mentioned, we should have informed more details about everything you mentioned such as transportation between the airport and the hotel, ski lessons for especially beginners, and activities including its cancellation policy.
Again, please accept our sincere apology and appreciate your valued feedback that gave us a chance to improvement in our services for all guests feel happy during stay with us.
We are taking the liberty of looking forward to welcoming you again in future.
Wishing you a joyful festive season and a very prosperous New Year 2019.

Best regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

The hotel itself was perfect, room was clean and spacious. But since we went there so early, there were only a few ski courses opened and other activities were still unavailable. I recommend you to check the hotel website before booking the trip. Breakfast was good, especially the japanese one.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nanzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at RUSUTSU RESORT HOTEL & CONVENTION, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2018

Dear nanzil,

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate your comment.
However, we are apologize for the inconvenience caused because only a few ski courses and activities available at the beginning of the season. Especially this year, it was quite later than usual to reach a sufficient snowfall amount. We hope you could try to come back during peak snow season (usually between mid-December and early February), hopefully near future.
We look forward to welcoming you again in future. Happy holidays, we hope the New Year 2019 brings many blessings and much love to you.

Best regards,
Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Spend almost 4 days at rutsusu , and it Was great for families with kids as we have easy access skiing lessons and rental . There arent too many eating places as most open during mid Dec and same for the other winter activities like dog sledding . Comfortable enough for family as we have a triple standard room which have 4 beds . The public bath is great esp after skiing. Would recommend for families with young kids as there is a shinchan crayon skiing school there for kids fr 4 to 12

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at RUSUTSU RESORT HOTEL & CONVENTION, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear Tang R,

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate for taking your precious time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to hear you and your family could enjoyed staying with us, especially the public bath and kids ski school.

However, we apologize for the inconvenience caused by that there was a limitation of restaurant and winter activities available at the beginning of the season.
We definitely take significant feedback from you into our consideration for the best experience of all guests who stay with us.
We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and enjoyable, and we really look forward to welcoming you and your family back in future.

Happy holidays, we hope the New Year 2019 brings many blessings and much love to you and your family.

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2018 via mobile

Arrive at the resort on 28th Nov for 2 night stay. Upon arrival, the place was suprising quiet with most the shops and restaurants without any customer. Felt like we've booked the entire resort which feels nice as I hate going to resorts with endless queue everywhere. All of us enjoyed the snow ground all by ourselves with no one with heavy snow fall on the day we arrived. Only downside is thatball winter related activities has not started yet but if you're like us who doesn't ski and like the peace, this is the period to come...

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank RaymondChong6677
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at RUSUTSU RESORT HOTEL & CONVENTION, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Dear RaymondChong6677,

We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate for taking your precious time to share your experience with us.
Unfortunately, we have not had much snow yet this winter. However, we are happy to hear that you could enjoyed
tranquil winter holiday here, at Rusutsu.
During green season (from late April to late October), you can also experience dynamic and beautiful nature of Hokkaido.
We look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Best regards,

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews