We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,805)
Filter reviews
1,805 results
Traveller rating
531
581
383
187
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
581
383
187
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakevening mealexecutive roomtribute nightlovely hotelsteam roomset menusoupleisure facilitiesfood was lovelybed and breakfastbirthday treatovernight stayafternoon teafamily roomfalkirk wheeltreatment
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,805 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I stayed at the Inchyra hotel for several weeks whilst working in the area, the hotel is Okay however for the cost you would be better off at the premier in, rooms are a bit dated and the food very expensive for what you get.

It tries to come across as a top end hotel and does a lot of corporate business during the week with a lot of tourist coaches and tribute acts at the weekends

The facilities such as the gym and pool are very good and expect that's what you are paying a premium for, I would suggest they try mixing the menu up from time to time with some more down to earth food.

On a very positive note - the staff I had a chance to talk to them from time to time and found them very helpful from the breakfast staff to the evening team, you could see a good relationship with them, a really big shout out to Jack (who cant watch the world cup due to work) Page and Amy who worked very very hard to keep the customers happy and the three of them had a great work ethic that should be noted by their Management - thanks for making a long stay welcoming

Room Tip: I was in 264 which backed on to the tennis court which was a decent enough room but mattress was past its sell buy date.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rippedoffTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchyramanager, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear rippedoffTeesside,

Thank you fro choosing to stay with us during your business trip recently, and for taking the time to pass on your feedback.

It was fantastic to see that you found all members of the team to very positive, and in particularly the bar team who looked after you during your time with us. It is great to see how well they are doing and I will certainly pass on your thanks to both Jack, Paige and Amy.

We have just started a refurbishment of 6 rooms and will be starting another 6 rooms in the next few weeks. As a team we have passed on suggestions that we introduce a different menu for mid week and a mixture of dishes on a rotation for our regular guests.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel ok public areas fresh but rooms and corridors tired and carpets threadbare.Service was extremely poor ,long wait for attention ,dirty glasses on lunch table,obvious lipstick marks on 3 !!Our beds were not made up on arrival at room .Asked about party night menu for later ,told “oh I don’t know ,don’t think they know yet !”Returned from spa and beds still not made ! Party night itself was great ,dinner tasty served quickly .Feeva the band were brilliant and had floor filled all night. Breakfast was a shambles !! As we were in company of 8 it was suggested we book a time ,10.30 when main rush over so all seated in time,10.50 eventually asked for hot drink orders ,had to ask for missing crockery ,again dirty items on table.Cold buffet hidden in corner ,were not told about it .Hot choice came one by one after another 20 minutes wait ,only got half our toast no butter on table then got one portion for six of us!! Highlight of the trip was the great entertainment !shame it spoiled by shoddy service.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jennyb2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchyramanager, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear jennyb2551,

Thank you for visiting us to stay overnight and attend one of our fantastic tribute nights.

It was great that you enjoyed the tribute night and you all had a great time. The menu was set months ago so i am at a loss as to why the reception team member was unable to assist when asked. I will certainly pas on to the team to ensure they all have the information to hand in the future.

Please accept our apologies that the breakfast was not served to our normally very high standards due to the volume of guest having breakfast at the same time. I have shared your feedback with the team to review, and to make the necessary changes moving forward.

Thanks again and we certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to one of our events in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Very good bar staff down here every 2nd week with work. Amy knows the order well meet and greets us at recpetion when we walk in to take our order so its near resdy the time we put our bags to pur rooms

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank travisjshaw914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchyramanager, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Travisjshaw914,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to pass on your review as a guest who has stayed several times with us.

It was fantastic to see that Amy on our Steakhouse bar stood out from our great team we have here at the Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

The rooms are slightly dated, but certainly no worse than most hotels of this kind I've stopped in. The food is good but choice a little limited for a Steakhouse, although breakfast is top quality. The one thing that stood out though is the bar staff. If you like cocktails or fancy someone to recommend a Scottish Whiskey (her product knowledge was excellent) then Amy is your girl. In fact, don't feel guilty about wanting another drink or two if it is late and you think the bar may be closing...Amy is always happy to stay on and take care of your tipple needs!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HemingwaysApothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchyramanager, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear HemingwaysApothead,

Thank you for visiting us here at the Macdonald Inchyra Hotel and Spa, and for taking the time to post your review online.

It was great to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found the breakfast particularly to be top quality, as well as the bar team members who looked after you.

We, as a team are passionate about the service we deliver and it was great the team stood out. I will certainly pass on your thanks to Amy who stood out during your visit.

Thanks again and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Brett
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Drove up to a beautiful hotel, great welcome by the reception team. Room was ok, went to spa and again lovely welcome and facilities nice. Facial and massage was at very best average. A lot of time with nothing being done, so much so I opened my eyes to check the girl was still in the room. Onto dinner and had to move our plates to another table ourselves after the teams walked by our table constantly for over 45mins without noticing we were finished our meal! The service was so amongst the worst I’ve experienced! Management was not carried out to the point of Almost every person in the restaurant complaining about something! Granted a wedding was on in a suite next door but it was almost like the full hotel was ran on new starts. It took us almost 2 hours to have a two course meal! We thought we would get a cocktail afterwards in the bar and this photo was the genuine full drink at £6.95...this was the last straw. I will definitely not be coming back due to the poor service and lack of customer care! Not a happy customer at all especially with spending the amount we did on this weekend. You would expect 5 star accommodation and service but this was 2 at the most!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cubkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchyramanager, General Manager at Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Cubkaz,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your review onto Tripadvisor.

It was great to be able to discuss the points raised directly on the telephone, and thank you for your feedback.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews