We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pies”
Review of Old Hall Inn

Old Hall Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pub, hotel and restaurant within the Yorkshire Dales National Park.. Meals, letting rooms, beer garden, dog friendly, Grassington skipton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a night and stayed for dinner.

It's a nice little pub that is dog friendly.

Staff were all welcoming and pleasant.

For mains we ordered the steak & ale pie, and the 10oz sirloin steak.

The pie was lovely. tasted great, full of meat and the pasty was great.

The sirloin steak was rather disappointing, slightly over cooked, not very tender and tasted very bland though like it had boiled in it's own juices. That was a very big let down. If the steak was cooked and tasted like a steak should be then i would have rated this place quite highly on this visit.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank Pandamedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2022

My wife and I had 2 nights here. A great location, just 1 mile away from the village of Grassington. An enjoyable walk there via the raging Linton Falls. We were given a very friendly warm welcome by Dan, and soon felt as though we were locals. The first night we ate in the Bar, next to the log burner, the second night in the conservatory. The food, on both nights was tasty and very generous.
The breakfast menu, served in the dining room, gave plenty of delicious options. My request to have the Salmon Benedict served on a hot plate, rather than a cold one , was met - no problem. We would stay here again.

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spirite53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 October 2022

We walked over across the fields from the Caravan and Motohome Club site. We were greeted with a friendly face and a “what would you like to drink” and shown to a table. Lots of real ale on tap. The food and service was excellent. My partner had the sea trout and I had the rack of ribs. We shared a pudding. The walk back to our motorhome in the dark was also great fun.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank 481fransc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 October 2022

We visited for our last night of holiday dinner as the reviews were good.

The food was good, the steak and ale pie pastry was too hard and dry though, it was nicely presented but personally felt there was too much in one serving. I feel the portions could be slightly smaller.

Unfortunately we felt the atmosphere was not what we expected from a country venue, we felt like interlopers in an exclusive place. The other diners gave the impression that we intruded in their space and didn't appreciate us having a family dinner with conversation.

The actual restaurant area was nice and tidy and the menu varied but it lacked something to make it a very memorable experience.

Thank KentishLass2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 September 2022 via mobile

Wow! I will forever be indebted to the wonderful staff at this pub. Our car broke down nearby on one of their busiest days of the year (the local show was on!) and they very kindly squeezed us in. We had our two toddlers with us and they couldn’t have been any more welcoming, even when we were still there 4.5 hours later awaiting recovery!!!!! The food was excellent! We will definitely be back when we are back in the area!!!! Thank you so much for looking after my wee family so well!!!

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Linz_macd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Old Hall Inn also viewed

Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Linton-in-Craven, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Old Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.