We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Bonaccorso(Viagrande)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B Nna'vigna(Viagrande)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Poggio Sambuco(Viagrande)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
97
30
8
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
30
8
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspleasurable staythree daysrelaxing holidayvalentinadinogatehostscleanlinessaspectsetnaspacesurroundings
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We visited the agriturismo only for a night, perhaps that was why we were greeted so coldly by the hostess Valentina, not exactly the Sicilian hospitality we had come to know and love having traveled in Sicily for over a month at that point. The property was very nice and taken care of but most certainly not, as other reviewers have noted, secluded or in a forested wonderland. Feels more like a semi private suburb, with cars and other homes and (sadly) lots of garbage in close proximity. As long as you center your gaze at the more beatific angles of the property you are fine. This would all be okay if it were not for our strange experience with the dinner:

I asked if there was room for me and my wife for dinner, as we had not reserved, and the hostess said she would have to check. I told her either way it was fine as we were probably going to Taormina and could very well eat there. Valentine came back in a few minutes and said it would be fine. We were tired and did not mind relaxing instead of journeying on so took up the offer. The food was excellent, really and truly. Some of the best we've had in Sicily. The freshest tasting seafood made really well. We did start noticing that our first and second course portions were distinctly smaller than other people eating with us and figured that had to do with the late reservation and that it would all be fine. We were given literally a child sized portion of pasta each, and one small fillet of fish for our main. We then saw them giving second helpings to one table which seemed very strange, but we did not want to be rude and ask for more (usually in Sicily you have to beg to have people stop feeding you). In over a month of traveling in Sicily we had never left a meal hungry, at both upscale and local trattorias, so this was a first, and being light eaters, and having enjoyed the food very much, we figured we wouldn't let that ruin our stay.

Then check out came. Despite the fact that the hostess is on record here, in a reply to someone else's review, stating that the price for dinner is 26 euros for 4 starters, wine, pasta, main and dessert, we were charged 40 euros per person for 3 starters, a baby portion of pasta, one tiny slither of fish, and maybe half a scoop of gelato for dessert. So basically one person's portion for 80 euros combined despite that there was clearly more food made. I had one glass of wine, my wife did not drink. There was clear preferential treatment given to other guests in a very disrespectful manner. It was the most expensive meal we had had in Sicily, and we left it literally hungry. I'm 5'11 and 170 pounds, and not a heavy eater but I had to go back to our room and snack on hazelnuts and dried fruit.

When I asked Valentina why the difference in price to what she is on record saying here on trip advisor I was told it was because it was fish, and a "special" meal. Not sure how that justifies 14 euro plus but I did mention that she should have informed us as I probably would not have eaten there for that price. She just stared at me blankly and offered no apology, nothing, just more icy cold "hospitality". Haven been to countless restaurants all over Italy, I have never seen that big a price difference between meat and fish.

Another note- I love dogs, really. The two on the property are beautiful. But they also seem as moody as the host, and one actually snapped at my wife's hand twice. Not sure letting them just run all over the property while also hosting strangers is the smartest thing to do. Especially with children around.

All in all, despite delicious, if extremely scanty food, at an inexplicable price, we were left with a very bad taste in our mouthes. Would very much NOT recommend. Sorry.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoggiodelTiglio, Proprietario at Casale Poggio del Tiglio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

gracious host,
we are appalled by his bad review and false. You have arrived and have been welcomed as we always do with great familiarity. You asked us dinner and we accommodated your request specifying it were fish dinner. For the price of a double room foregone we gave you a much bigger room at no extra charge. During the afternoon we exchanged 4 chatter so very friendly. We come to the dinner:
appetizers: oysters (2 each), prawns (4 prawns for only 1 person!), swordfish rolls (2 each), slice of fried gurnard (2 slices each). First: spaghetti urchin; Second, sea bass fillet with verdello; dessert: ice cream with typical bisccotti of Zafferana (leaves of the). All for € 40 per head. the wine (a glass) we did not pay.
As our habit we asked you if you wanted an encore, but you have always told us not. At the end you told us to have a great meal and plentiful. This type of menu in a normal restraunt (senior non) would cost no less than € 90 per person ...
The price of € 26 is on the meat dinner and maybe she will have heard in response to someone.
Frankly I do not think he frequented many restaurants in Italy because if it did it would be happy to have paid € 40 ... for 6-course fish + dessert and wine and I stress all fresh fish catch of the day in Riposto!
As for the landscape of our farm: we're in the Etna park and below Mount Ilice, I do not understand what traffic or cars refer! The garbage maybe you will have some views along the road you have traveled before to reach us? This is unfortunately not possible but not certain that we have found garbage! Our park is immaculate as testified by all of our guests and as you yourself said.
As for the dogs, they are always in contact with our guests and are loved by all, I think his story on the dog is a free lie to enrich his bad review.
I wish you a happy life full of joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Worth the money we paid! Thank you for preparing gluten free meals for me. Cleanliness and kindness were top of the list. The room was perfect for our family of 4.Valentina welcomed us at the gate and help us to feel at home. We stayed for a week but wished we could stay more. Valentina was really helpful with the excursions. The staff was really friendly and kind. Thank you for everything we will come again!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank busuttilrosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoggiodelTiglio, Proprietario at Casale Poggio del Tiglio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

thanks for your presence.
E 'was great to have you as our "friends" and welcoming hosts and affectionate.
We wait for another vacation.
Thanks so much.
Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Arriving from the North, we emerged at het Poggio del Tiglio. Difficult to find, as the indications show you along the ancient road (rather than along the main road). However, when you have found the Poggio, you have arrived in a world more friendly and more beautiful than outside. A room with a view at the sea and at the Etna mountain, and a diner as though you are staying at triple A restaurant.
Unfortunately we are staying here only for three days ... next time we will be staying here again, per favore?!
Margriet & Willem Sprenger

Room Tip: Good area, good food and friendly hospitality
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Willem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing in the fact that this is called an agriturismo when at best it should be a bed and breakfast because beside a few crops of tomatoes and a couple
Of pumpkins and a few fruit
Trees they don't grow nothing
I use to see the owner coming
From the market with vegetables
In my opinion the price for dinner is a bit pricey when considering that
There are many restaurants around
The area that offer a lot more variety
In their menus at a lower price
I would not go back there very
Disappointing for an agriturismo
That it is not

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberto r, Proprietario at Casale Poggio del Tiglio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2015
Google Translation

Buongiorno signor Lombardo,
le rispondo in italiano visto che è un "italo americano" anche se si cela dietro delle semplici iniziali e scrive in inglese tentando di non farsi riconoscere...
Pur rispettando la sua opinione non posso non sottolineare prima di tutto la scorrettezza della stessa: come si permette di scrivere che non siamo un agriturismo e che non dovremmo stare nella classificazione degli stessi. Per essere agriturismo occorre superare una serie di verifiche molto esigenti e avere delle caratteristiche particolari. lei ha una pallida idea di cosa e quanto tempo ci vuole per ottenere una classificazione di agritruismo? credo di no! Cerchi di rispettare il lavoro altrui.
D'altra parte non mi stupisce il fatto visto che la prima cosa che ha fatto appena sceso dall'auto è stata di buttare una "cicca " di sigaretta per terra...l ricordo perfettamente perche sono venuto a "recuperarla" per strada e quindi siamo insieme arrivati al Casale!
Detto ciò veniamo alla sua esperienza.
1) quando è arrivato da noi si è lamentato del fatto che l'agriturismo è in campagna. Questa sua lamentela mi aveva già fatto capire che non avesse neanche conoscenza di cosa fosse un agriturismo! La prossima volta la invito a prenotare un agriturismo in città, magari al centro storico così può anche girare a piedi...
2) Cita: " a parte qualche campo di pomodoro e qualche zucca " e qualche "albero da frutto" non c'è altro... vediamo di fare chiarezza:
l'agriturismo è sito in un parco di 1 ettaro con un bosco di 174 alberi secolari ( pini, abeti e cedri libanesi, tigli, pitosfori e magnolie ); 2 fichi, 2 ciliegi, 3 kiwi, 10 peri, 3 castagni, 4 mandorli, 2 gelsi,2 meli cotogne, più di 100 specie diverse di fiori e piante da floreali, oltre 100 allori e poi 38 ulivi, 35 alberi di agrumi misti e 22 alberi di frutta varia ( pere, mele dell'etna, pero-melo, albicocche,pesche...). 2 campi di pomodori, melanzane e peperoni, un campo con zucche, zucchine, angurie, ovviamente mi riferisco solo alle colture estive e solo al terreno intorno al casale. Abbiamo poi altri 3 ettari di coltivazioni a mele dell'etna, ciliege, ulivi e pesche. Non commento...
3) ricordo che durante una cena si lamentò del fatto che avrebbe voluto " mangiare la frutta direttamente dagli alberi e non c'era"...bè a parte ogni altro commento ( come si definisce prendere la frutta dall'albero all'insaputa del proprietario...?), la invito solo a tornare nel periodo di fruttificazione degli alberi, mi dispiace ma purtroppo la NATURA non possiamo telecomandarla e la frutta in questione non matura a settembre inoltrato....
4) il prezzo della cena: € 26: 4 antipasti, 1 primo, 1 secondo e dolce...non commento.
5) tutti i prodotti che utilizziamo sono o di nostra produzione o di produzione di contadini della zona e biologica. Questo lo diciamo e lo scriviamo sempre. Questo è apprezzato da tutti i nostri ospiti.

Concludo invitandola a informarsi prima di scrivere, ad essere un pò più reale nei racconti ( non è leale scrivere bugie, diffamando il lavoro delle persone ) e a presentarsi con nome e cognome ( non vorrei che la sua lontananza dalla Sicilia le abbia fatto dimenticare che i siciliani sono uomini veri che non si nascondono dietro sigle e lingue diverse...).
La saluto e le auguro ogni bene e felicità, perche la vita è bella e le persone che si incontrano meritano tutte rispetto e cordialità.

Good morning, Mr. Lombardo,
I answer in Italian because it is an "Italian-American" but behind the simple initials and writes in English trying to avoid recognition ...
While respecting his opinion I can not stress first of all the impropriety of the same: how dare you write that we are not a farm and we should not stand upon their classification. To be farm must pass a series of demanding tests and have the special features. she has an idea of ​​what and how much time it takes to obtain a rating of agritruismo? I think not! Try to respect the work of others.
On the other hand I'm not surprised the fact because the first thing he did just got out was to throw a "butt" of the cigarette to the ground ... I remember well because I came to "retrieve" the street and so we arrived at the house together!
Having said that we come to his experience.
1) when it came to us it complained that the farm is in the countryside. That his complaint had already made it clear that he had not even aware of what a holiday! The next time the invitation to book a holiday in the city, maybe the old town so can also get around on foot ...
2) Quote: "apart from some tomato field and some pumpkin" and some "fruit tree" there is no other ... let's make things clear:
the farm is located in a 1-hectare park with a forest of 174 trees (pines, firs and Lebanese cedars, lime trees, pittosporum and magnolias); 2 figs, 2 cherry, 3 kiwis, 10 peri, 3 chestnuts, almonds 4, 2 mulberry trees, 2 apple quince, more than 100 different species of flowers and floral plants, more than 100 laurels and then 38 olive trees, 35 citrus trees mixed and 22 trees of various fruits (pears, apples Etna, pear-apple, apricots, peaches ...). 2 fields of tomatoes, eggplants and peppers, a field with pumpkins, zucchini, watermelon, of course I am referring only to the summer crops and only the land around the house. We then another 3 hectares of crops in Etna apples, cherries, olives and peaches. No comment...
3) I remember that during a dinner he complained that he wanted to "eat fruit from the trees and there was" ... well apart from each other comments (as you define take the fruit from the tree of knowledge owner ...?), the invitation only to return in the period of fruiting trees, I'm sorry but we can not unfortunately NATURE telecomandarla and the fruit in question is not mature in late September ....
4) the price of dinner: € 26: 4 starters, 1 first, 1 second and sweet ... no comment.
5) all the products we use are either of our production or production of local farmers and organic farming. We say this and I always write. This is appreciated by all our guests.

I conclude by asking it to check before you write, to be a bit more real in the stories (not fair to write lies, slandering people's work) and introduce yourself by name and surname (I would not want his distance from the Sicily has made us forget that Sicilians are real men who do not hide behind initials and different languages ​​...).
I greet you and wish you well and happy, because life is beautiful and the people you meet all deserve respect and cordiality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014

Stayed three nights in September. The rooms were basic, but very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were good and dinners were excellent. The owners were charming and friendly.
Excellent location out of Catania. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews