We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kora House
Nearby Hotels
Fortune Park Moksha(McLeod Ganj)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pink House(McLeod Ganj)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The M Hotel(McLeod Ganj)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Moon Walk Residency(McLeod Ganj)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
4
7
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
7
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschaicomfortable staymain marketcaretakervalleybalconyviewmcleodganj
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I stayed here for 4 nights in September 2017 at the end of my trip in India. It was perfect for what I was looking for - peaceful and calm, away from the hustle and bustle,yet close enough to town to be able to walk (5-10 minutes).

The room was comfortable and clean, hot water no problems, and the balcony/verandah afforded the best views of the valley and mountains.

The host Rohitash has prepared a comprehensive guide including a very handy map, to nearby sights, restaurants and places to visit, and was at Kora House to greet me when I arrived very early in the morning. Rohitash was accessible and helpful throughout my stay.

This is a guest house with a caretaker during the day, not a hotel, so you really feel you are part of the community. Suraj the caretaker makes arguably the best chai in town, and the kitchen is available to guests to make food as they wish. Meals can also be prepared by Suraj if advised in advance.

You are right on the Kora, so each time you leave the house and come home again you are walking the Kora - a very special experience.
As a solo female traveller, I felt completely safe here even walking home after dark.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalies_thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We booked ourselves at Kora House in the month of May for 3 nights. It was a comfortable stay with a brilliant view. Everytime one walks out to the balcony, you can enjoy the serene mountains and absolute peace.

This is located next to the monastery, so all the more imperative to maintain silence as monks walk up. Also, to reach Kora House one has to walk uphill and climb a fleet of stairs. Hence, if you traveling with kids and elderly people, try another venue for accommodation.

The rooms were comfortable with amenities like - washing machines, floor fans, fridge, cupboards. There are no TV's in the room, which is an option we enjoyed a lot.

Please note this is more like a comfortable homestay, hence do not compare it to the regular hotel stays. There is a caretaker, who serves breakfast (if informed earlier) and cleans the room, whenever you request. You can ask for fresh towels and bed sheets and the caretaker shall provide. So this is more like a backpackers heaven, than a requirement for a family. What we loved was the view and absolute peace, making our holiday perfect.

For booking the room you need to call the owners or write to them and they shall do the needful (if rooms are available). When we reached out for bookings, the owners seemed too intrusive with a long list of questions. Also, one of the owners / manager was around during our stay and was constantly bugging us with his questions or information. They should avoid being so intrusive and offer services only if guests need it.

Overall, great view, simple home cooked meals and pretty affordable.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank POOJAbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Kora House has the perfect balance of accessibility and peace. It is a 10 minute walk from the main market and yet tucked away in a corner that gives you the best of both worlds. The view from the balcony is breathtaking and almost meditative. The host, Rohitash is a great help and gives helpful tips for places to visit and directions. If you want a serene stay in this beautiful town, choose Kora House. Although the walk back can get lonely after evenings, its perfectly safe. The caretaker makes excellent tea and breakfast as well, if you inform him in advance. The rooms are comfortable and have a bed heater in case it gets very cold. It was pretty perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are almost the same. The balcony is common.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyoti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitash J, Owner at Kora House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hi Jyoti, we appreciate and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Kora House's location is both ideal and idyllic; it's tucked away in a quiet corner with a beautiful view, and yet is just a five minute walk from the centre of McLeodganj. The premises are clean and well-maintained. The host, Rohitash, goes the extra mile to ensure that the stay is comfortable, from providing detailed suggestions on local sights to offering delicious home-cooked meals. We're glad we stayed here, and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kavita_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitash J, Owner at Kora House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thanks Kavita for the feedback. I am glad to know that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I happened to choose this homestay basis the beautiful images listed on the website. The host Mr.Rohitash is a very gentle person and a good guide. He made sure we did not feel lost in the town.
The house is on a walking distance from The Dalai Lama Temple, and the road to the home stay i must say at first is dead steep.
I did not have the courage to take my car down the road until I walked down and did a reiki.
Down the hill is ok but what scared me was how would I drive the car back.....until the checkout day I didn't bother.

Anyways this homestay is beautifully built and developed by Rohitash.
There are 4 rooms and a kitchen, I really relished the place
Oh last but not the least, the view from the balcony of the room is unforgettable
You can see Dharamshala from the Balcony, at times the clouds will also come uptil your room :P
:)

Room Tip: Chose the room to the extreme left, you get a good view of Dharamshala
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manish921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohitash J, Owner at Kora House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hi Manish,

Many thanks for the kind words and we truly appreciate your feedback . We are happy to note that you had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews