We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
431marthad1
London, United Kingdom

Beautiful holiday chateau

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Aug 2022
Amazing holiday at Chateau de Rhodes!
Friendly and hospitable hosts made our stay great!

The property was perfect for our family holiday and the location was stunning. Couldn’t ask for a better place!
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Sindell, Owner at Chateau de Rhodes, responded to this review
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful comment.. hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.3 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
piscine
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
20.6 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
22.1 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Spa
Contact accommodation for availability.
25.8 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.1 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La-Bastide-de-Serou
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
24
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large family something for everyone nearby village games room hot tub adults and kids thai wife rooms are tastefully decorated amazing holiday one night the river gym artwork rhodes chickens chateau chef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2022

25 of us, all from one family, have just spent the most wonderful week at Chateau de Rhodes. With an age range of 3 to 73 everyone was thrilled with what Chateau de Rhodes had to offer. We booked a year ago, the photos looked great but in reality the Chateau is far far better than the photos suggested. The new pool is stunning, the upgraded bathrooms are brilliant and the new decking area is a delight and a wonderful place to gather for pre dinner drinks. We had breakfast and dinner catered for us everyday by Elie and his fabulous team. The food was great and incredibly reasonable and made the holiday work for us all so well. Wine was also available which was excellent and again so reasonable. I had lots of correspondence with both David the owner and Elie before our trip. Everything I asked about and asked for was addressed immediately and nothing was too much trouble, including the hire of a piano! There was definitely something for everyone here, magnificent salons, beautifully furnished, a gym, games room, hot tub by the pool, chickens and goats to feed, lovely walks and plenty of quiet corners to sit and read. To be together and be part of a big happy family was a total joy and it’s hard to imagine a better place than Chateau de Rhodes to have been.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SMT1AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Sindell, Owner at Chateau de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2022

Dear Sally, Thank you for joining us and for giving us this most glowing review. Our team works hard to please and it seems in this instance, we succeeded with flying colours. You focused on many of the new additions we added for 2022, so it's so nice to see that these additions were noticed and taken into consideration. Perhaps we will have the opportunity to host you again in the future. You were wonderful guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2022

We spent 7d a t CdR July 2022 with large family group (24). Pleased to say, expectations were exceeded. Great care has gone into the refurbishment and appointing of the property - which has largely retained an authentic 19C vibe, despite modernisation. Rooms are tastefully decorated and artworks abound. Large and gorgeous pool (though access could be better for anyone with mobility issues). Loads of space inside and out. The site manager and chef Elly (? sp) and his Thai wife Weepa were attentive but unobtrusive hosts. We choose to be fully catered and the standard was very good and they were responsive to various dietary needs. Despite being fairly luxurious the general feeling was relaxed and homely. Overall I felt good value for money given the facilities and hospitality. Well done Chateau de Rhodes! Cyclists, note, CdR, is about 400yds from a "Voie Verte" - an off-road cycle track all the way to Foix and west to Saint Girons and beyond.

Room tip: All rooms except a couple of the twins are grand, beautiful and spacious.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fundoctortrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Sindell, Owner at Chateau de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2022

Thank you for your glowing review. The mobility issue with the pool (the steps are a bit high) are well noted and we will ameliorate that off season. Thank you for mentioning the Voie Verte as well. It's really a nice ride for avid bikers. We hope to host you again.. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2022

Catching up with seven families, 14 adults and 13 kids was never going to be easy but the Chateau lived up to and exceeded our expectations!
The facilities were amazing - the pool, fully equipped pool house, jacuzzi, hammocks and large decked seating in the shade; there was something for everyone!
The house is huge, well furnished and homely and walking through it hearing constant conversation and laughing was good for the soul….
The chef and grounds manager who lived on site was exceptional, he went out of his way to ensure we had a great time, with his jovial and welcoming attitude. His Thai wife made us a lovely Thai meal one night too!
Hot afternoons were spent with the kids in the river in the shade and early morning bike rides into the nearby village (4kms by bike along a lovely bike path) for a coffee and for croissants were always very popular!
A great way to catch up with very special friends and something we all wish we could do again!
Thanks very much!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank craigmaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Sindell, Owner at Chateau de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2022

Dear Craig, Thank you so much for being part of our chateau de rhodes familly for a week. My team had a terrific time taking care of you and getting to know you, your friends, and your family. We would welcome you anytime back to the chateau and we thank you so much for your visit. Best Wishes, David, Elie and the Chateau Rhodes team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed at the Chateau for a yoga teacher training over 3 weeks. The property is huge, has amazing grounds, and lead to various nature trails in the mountains or along the river. The chateau itself is gorgeous. It has retained its historical character, and despite being built in the late 1700, it is incredibly comfortable. All rooms and living rooms are tastefully decorated. Beds are highly comfortable. The kitchen is ginormous which means there’s ample space to cook for over 30 people. There’s a sauna, jacuzzi, and a well-equipped gym. My favourite part of the Chateau was the conservatory which was so cozy when it rained, and so warm and luminous when the sun was out. A huge thanks to David, Hiroko, and especially Anne and François who catered for everything we needed, and were thoughtful in every way (in particular the handmade all natural soaps which Anne makes so beautifully!).

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank nadaec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2019

We had a very enjoyable extended family holiday at Chateau Rhodes at end July/beginning August. It was a large party of at least 3 generations & we all fitted comfortably into the Chateau & grounds & made full use of the tennis court & pool. The environment is very attractive, the Chateau & it's rooms are just as depicted in the photos & there are pleasant walks to be had 'round about. The nearby village has a boulangerie with lovely cakes! Foix is nearby & has the Intermarche which I recommend. There are pretty towns to visit & the caves.
I certainly recommend holidaying in this beautiful Chateau with its huge, private grounds & its relative closeness to Toulouse Airport for ease of journeying to & from.
The chill fridge room needs a mention, perfect place for storing your food & white wine, every home should have one!
I love France!

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank fenella r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lechateauderhodes, Owner at Chateau de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Dear Fenella,
I'm sorry that we didn't get a chance to meet in person. I really appreciate your comments. We worked hard to make the chateau both a historical and fun venue for all. Actually, the rooms should be better than the photos since I haven't changed them but have added quite a few antiques and paintings to the rooms. Thanks for the review and please feel welcome to join us again. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews