We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CathieSussex
Brighton, United Kingdom

Fantastic family birthday party

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Aug 2019
Beautiful Chateau. All the bedrooms are lovely, some are spectacular and all bathrooms modernised and very smart. This saved any arguments about who gets the best room. All beds really comfortable with new and comfy martesses. Great pillows and lovely white summer weight duvets.
The public rooms are a perfect mix of grandeur and cosy comfort. Great big sofas and rooms that can accommodate up to twenty playing charades etc. We used the pool table and that proved great fun. Would have loved if the ancient juke box had worked. Laundry facilities a bonus as was the kids tv room.
The one area which could be modernised is the kitchen. Plenty of utensils, crockery and glasses but whole area would benefit from a revamp.
We used the recommended chef one evening and the meal was excellent and good value for money.
Outside the situation is perfect. Lots of space for children to play. Chickens to visit. Fabulous pool you can dive in and jacuzzi for when it was cooler. The new gym is better than many hotels. Tennis court is fantastic as is table tennis table and the bikes all worked fine.
Francois and Anne were charming and very helpful.
The surrounding country side is beautiful and Foix delightful.
All in all a great venue for a big party. Plenty for adults, teenagers and tiny tots to do.
Only down side is half an hour to good super market in Foix. We used Leclerc which is excellent. Local village and local boulangerie is limited.
We would certainly love to come again.
Date of stay: August 2019
Room Tip: All bedrooms are really comfy and beautiful. Bathrooms superb. Bedrooms at the front have the...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
thaimaven, Owner at Chateau de Rhodes, responded to this review
Responded 30 Sept 2019
Dear Cathie,
Thank you for the amazing review. We have tried to modernize all of the bathrooms while maintaining the character of the chateau in the bedrooms. Thanks for noticing our pillows and duvets. I had them made especially for the chateau to ensure we would have top quality linens. I'm also glad you took advantage of the TV room. Our new gym has been quite a hit and it's nice that you recognized the quality of our equipment.
I'm sorry that the supermarket was a bit far. As you know, we have a walk in fridge that can hold plenty of food so that trips to the supermarket are minimized. There is a boulangerie, pastry shop, a small grocery, a pharmacy, and a bank in the village, about 5 kms from the chateau. There is also a local market on Thursdays at La Bastide de Serou so we have bare essentials covered in the village. Thank you again for coming and we would love to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.3 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
piscine
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
20.6 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
22.1 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Spa
Contact accommodation for availability.
25.8 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.1 km from Chateau de Rhodes
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La-Bastide-de-Serou
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
24
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large family something for everyone nearby village games room hot tub adults and kids thai wife rooms are tastefully decorated amazing holiday one night the river gym artwork rhodes chickens chateau chef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2019

We were 9 families/couples (~30 occupants, but easily could have fit another 4-5 people) meeting for a celebration & relaxing summer holiday.

First off, the chateau looks smaller in the pictures than it really is. It goes quite deep, and is a good 3 stories tall.

Secondly, the rooms are enormous! Our room was a 2-room suite which was perfect for parents + kids. There were a few such suites. Each room (and suite) had its own full-bath. Honestly, I think my entire apartment could have fit in some of those bathrooms. In addition, there were also probably 5-10 ad hoc bathrooms scattered around the building & property, so really, all 30 of us could have used the loo at the same time.

The bedrooms were on the first floor and second floor. I think there was even a room of bunkbeds in the basement (and the basement entertainment center could easily have doubled for a kids' slumber party room). There are 5 or 6 large "living rooms/shared spaces" where people could hang out (i.e. the kids could escape from their parents).

I think it's a XVII(I?) century chateau, so there are lots of touches of history, but with just enough remodeling to be fully functional. The furniture, artwork, fixtures all seemed period-based (including a piano which probably hadn't seen a tuner in centuries), but bathrooms and kitchens were modern. There were two kitchens: a common one, and then an enormous professional kitchen, complete with all the tools of the trade. We actually hired their recommended chef for a couple evenings, which was nice because it wasn't always easy to plan meals for (and clean up after) 30. There were tons of refrigerators, including a huge walk-in restaurant-style cooler. And a wine fridge, which of course, got much love throughout the week.

The kids enjoyed the outdoor pool while the adults used the brand new gym in the adjacent, former-stables. There was also an indoor sauna and hot tub which we didn't use because the weather was too nice. Everything we needed for an active day was there. Bikes for adults and kids, tennis courts, massive grassy field, pingpong, billiard room, etc. We even hired a yoga instructor to come one morning.

Tons of hiking, mountain biking, outdoor activities all around (don't forget Tour de France!). The nearby town had a fabulous bakery (~ half mile away?) for our morning baguettes and pain au chocolat. And decadent French restaurants were peppered around.

The owner stopped by one evening to check-in and make sure everything was OK with our stay. He sad he had recently taken over the chateau and had been remodeling it over the past year.

One thing to note: the entire chateau was at our fingertips but that meant it wasn't a hotel. We bought our own toiletries and groceries. Cooked and cleaned up after ourselves. Took out our own trash/recyclables every day. Laundered our own clothes. Made our own beds (the housekeeping staff provided fresh towels). And closed our own front door at night. It's not a place to go with friends who don't pitch in.

But since we all did, it was a memorable stay (thus garnering this massive review). Would love to come back again.

Room tip: All the rooms were different to suit different needs (single beds, king beds, suites, etc)
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank slipaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meander31774578487, Owner at Chateau de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2019

Dear Silpaway, Thank you so much for this glowing review. Your group was lovely to host and we would love to accommodate you again. We strive to make the chateau a fun/family friendly place for our guests. As it is a rental, and indeed, not a hotel, I appreciate that you mentioned this. Of course, we do offer cleaning services for those who don't wish to do it themselves, but most people don't want to be disturbed and it is really your chateau for the week. Hope to host you again sometime. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Tony and all at Chateau Rhodes provided us with excellent, clean, spacious and elegant accommodation. Breakfasts were excellent and varied, and the evening meals laid on by the caterers were first class - French home cooking at its best. The owners are well used to dealing with large groups and none of our requests and requirements were a problem. You will struggle to find a better experience for your group.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank paulmiddletonse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I had my 50th Birthday party here in 2008. My husband and I decided to come back on our own.
Whilst there were renovations going on we were informed of this before we booked. A house of this size and magnificence will always need something doing to it. We had just what we required, relaxation, peace and quite and the owners accommodating. What more could you want? good value for money. Thank you, we will be back to see you, next time with all the family!

Room tip: The thing about the sleep is, no bed is like your own!
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fellauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed at the Chateau de Rhodes in the summer of 2012 with my wife and our three children, plus two sets of friends and their kids. So in total, 6 adults and 6 kids (ages 1yr to 8 yrs). We all loved the place, it really was a fantastic house and area to visit. There was something there for all of us (no matter what age) and the kids loved the pool. The owners were a delight and couldn't do enough for us, they were so accomodating and made us feel really welcome. The house was absolutely beautiful and perfectly clean and tidy. We will definitely be recommending Chateau de Rhodes to our other friends, and can't wait for our next visit.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JonnyB704
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just back from 3 weeks at the Chateau de Rhodes. We've rented a big place each year for the past 5 years. Our family group ranges in age from 10 months to 75 years, and everyone was unanimous that this year was the best ever. The huge space inside and outside makes it really easy for everyone to enjoy themselves without getting on top of one another and there's lots to do - table tennis, swimming pool, bikes, tennis, boules, TV, even bat watching! And it's nice to find an old property where the modernisation has been done properly - all the electrics work, and there's lots of hot water!
We ate in pretty much every day, although there's a good restaurant in the next village. The kitchen and dining room are really well equipped - lots and lots of pots and pans, cooking knives, etc etc and enough plates, glasses and knives and forks to cater for an army. Several dishwashers, a walk-in fridge, a deep fat fryer . . . . .amazing!
And Tony and David were always quick to come and help sort things out whenever we needed them.
A great holiday!!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews