We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
147
83
29
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
83
29
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel bay of naples mount vesuvius train station swimming pool the hotel manager off the beaten track shuttle service night stay visit pompeii large balcony fantastic views top tip staff were so friendly booked this hotel with king size bed lovely pool
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Very nice small hotel on the road between Naples and Sorrento. Rooms are nice, with a good bathroom and splendid views on Vesuvius. Nice swimming pool. Breakfast has everything you need. The food in the restaurant is fantastic. Staff are very helpful and nice. They cater for anything you need. If you do not have a car, they will drive you to or pick you up from the train station without any problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors for the best views!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaimonZac, Direttore generale at Palazzo Rosenthal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Dear Mrs. Tina,

Thank you for your comment,

For us was a pleasure to welcome you in our structure and we hope for a future holiday at our hotel,

Best regards
Front Office
Francesco Cirillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

It was a real pleasure staying here, on arrivel we made our way to leopradi station where we was met by the hotel and was driven up the hill, our room was spotless, and I do mean spotless! for some one like me who's a little ocd when it come's to cleaning was a god send, I couldn't find any thing to complain about. We stayed in De filipo room. All the staff here from the gardener's, cleaner's reception, waiter's and management are all great, they can-not do enough for you and looked after us very very well, there's a fabulous choice at breakfast, something for everyone and alway's a cheery welcome from Giovanni, a lovely man who turn's his hand to anything that need's doing, even chauffering us down to the station and sorting ticket's out for us, I realy can't thank the Staff enough for our brilliant stay here, and the view's are truley breath taking. Will be seeing you all again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank didi1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaimonZac, Direttore generale at Palazzo Rosenthal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thank you for your comment,

For us it was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel,
and look forward to a next holiday,


Best regards
Front Office
Francesco Cirillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

The staff are VERY friendly, helpful with good english if your Italian is as bad a mine. The room was always clean, cool and comfy. Breakfast is a buffet type with an extensive choice of:- cereals, cooked, various fresh fruits, various pastries and cakes, toast, tea, coffee and fruit juices. The evening meals were also really good, cooked to order. A shuttle service wi take you to the local train station and pick you up again in the evening. I would love to stay at this again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madsheep2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a lovely pool and breakfast area, and apparently has nice rooms but we didn't stay in one so I can't comment.

The rooms in the corridor near the pool are the ones which we stayed in, and they completely lacked any charm. The rooms are decorated from top to bottom in grey which gave it a sterile feel, whilst the things in the room seemed to fall apart if you touched them. Things like; the bin lid, fridge light, toilet flush panel covering. Aside from this our room had no toilet roll when we arrived, the fridge didn't keep things cool unless the cupboard door it was in was left open, one of the curtain tie backs was broken, the light next to my bed was wobbly and didn't work, there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room so you have to go and buy one in the bar/reception area, and the Wi-Fi did not work most of the time. All these things might not seem much but on arrival you expect a lot better, especially as it's apparently a 4 star. For us, it seemed like the whole place pays not attention to details and it lets itself down.

Breakfast is Ok, you get the same thing every day including; cakes, pastries, bread (quite dry), fruit, yogurts, scrambled eggs and some random meats (not of great quality). The breakfast is also rationed. You are allowed 2 hot drinks, which they get for you, and when the hot food runs out (which it does a lot) they don't much out.

That said the pool area is lovely with a view of Vesuvius, although the pool never warms up! The hotel is not close to anything you would walk to, so a car is highly recommended. The hotel has lots of parking which is a bonus.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating, but they don't give you any notice about the functions they are holding. They had a wedding, followed by an 18th birthday party during our stay, and the music could be heard easily. I reccomend bringing earplugs just incase. Otherwise the beds are comfortable, the shower works well, and the air conditioning is brilliant.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bubbles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Booked this hotel for a four night stay on our European road trip and boy what a fantastic place to stay. We had two rooms on the second floor one which looked right up to Mount Vesuvius and the other overlooking the whole bay of Naples and Sicily. Very large plush well appointed rooms with king size bed, free safe deposit box, mini bar, tv and a large balcony. The large bathroom even had a picture window which when opened gave a beautiful view of the bay. The wonderful swimming pool area although cleaned daily could do with a little maintenance i.e overflow gutter covers broken missing. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice but all guests are limited to only two cups of coffee each. We didn't eat evening meals at the hotel but instead we chose to eat at a wonderful restaurant only a five minute walk away which again had fantastic views and delicious authentic Italian fare at reasonable prices. Car parking is free on sight. For views of Naples and Vesuvius this hotel although a little off the beaten track is hard to top. Top tip when booking this hotel, book a few months in advance as by doing this we saved over a 1000euro on the two room suites we had for our four night stay

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews