We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Official Site
Official Hotel Site
US$103
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,983)
Filter reviews
2,983 results
Traveller rating
955
1,009
538
274
207
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
955
1,009
538
274
207
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manor house spa break q hotels spa facilities the main hotel steam room evening meal breakaway club night break waiting staff restaurant staff birthday treat full english therapist loungers facial venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,983 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The inexperienced staff here are drowning and in need of rescue. From the dire afternoon tea to the inadequate service in the restaurant. The reception staff seem professional but others areas appear to be staffed by teenage part timers in trainers tatty leggings and shirts who have no idea of 4*service with it seemed no experienced staff to manage them and organise. At dinner our bottle of wine was just plonked on the table in a dining room that could have done with a good clean. Breakfast was taken over by a coach party who hoovered up everything in sight so we had to wait when we had pre-booked breakfast till they had left and some food had been replenished. Having stayed here before and having an enjoyable time it was to say the least disappointing. We believe Q.Hotels are just overbooking with little regard to service that a 4* hotel should give. We will certainly not be using this hotel again until standards are restored.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anne_barry11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had booked the 2-night spa break and, having been to the hotel on 2 previous occasions, were looking forward to a relaxing couple of days.....

We arrived at 2.15pm and were told that our room would be ready at the check-in time of 3pm. We left our suitcases at the reception and duly booked in for our massages - as usual, these were wonderful.

We returned to reception at about 5pm to be told that our room was still not ready. The reception area was chaotic with numerous arriving guests all being told the same thing!

We were offered a complimentary drink each and returned to reception at about 6.30pm - STILL no rooms available.

At this point, we negotiated a complimentary dinner/drink each and enjoyed this in the bar area. The barman, Ross, was amazing. He was aware of the problems being encountered by arriving guests and was doing his best to make the bar area as welcoming as possible.

On returning to reception at about 8.30pm, we were advised that our room was still not available and made the decision to return home - fortunately only 40 minutes away.

At no point did the reception member of staff offer suggestions about what local alternatives were available. She was understandably extremely stressed and unable to give guests any idea as to when/if the bedrooms would be available.

The hotel is looking very neglected with very few staff. The management need to visit and see for themselves. We will certainly not be using this hotel again.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Service
Thank Valemusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Check-in was a bit slow, could have done with an extra person on the desk. However the staff member was friendly and helpful, especially advising us to avoid 7pm for dinner as they had a big group in then and we had our young daughter with us who might not enjoy the wait!

We paid for the superior King room. There were some nice drinks in the fridge (including beer and wine) and we did get robes which are useful to wear to the pool but no snacks or upgraded toiletries as mentioned in the room description. Also no bottle opener for the beers…! Room was clean, beds (including daughters Z-bed) were comfy and bathroom all good.

The pool is cool but gorgeous and not too busy even at kids swim time. Steam room very nice too.

We were lazy and had dinner in the restaurant. Kids meal was good value and quality. Adults meals less brilliant to be honest (slim and fairly tasteless burger, surprisingly chilli-hot curry with no mango chutney available) but pleasant service, a happy kid and wine waiting back in the room made it all easier!

We all slept like logs, the hotel is lovely and quiet and the rooms are a good temperature.

Breakfast was pretty good. Nice hot food (although sausages seemed a lot cheaper than on our previous stay), good pastries and fresh juices. The fruit salad was pretty much just a big bowl of cut up apples which was a shame but plenty of other things to fill up on!

Check-out was efficient and friendly. We always enjoy staying here and will hopefully be back!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SteppieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at 2:30pm to be told the room wasn’t ready, no apology or explanation just rude untrained staff with no direction.
Clearly the hotel was understaff and overwhelmed however still charging over the odds for the room.
The management company clearly need to address the issues quickly otherwise the staff who are showing up will leave due to the pressure. Left totally short changed and will probably never stay with this chain again.

Room tip: Stay elsewhere
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dream10403117580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Lawson, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dream10403117580.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your constructive feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that things were not to our usual high standards.

We have been very challenged post pandemic, especially with staffing concerns, however please be assured that we are working extremely hard to address the above issues and implement the right measures and procedures in place to ensure that the finest quality of service is provided to all our guests.

I hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future and allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this as a base for our family holiday. The entire listing is false it’s filthy dirty, the beds listed don’t exist you get a single bed, a poor single sofa arm chair bed and a broken double sofa bed. All bedding is dirty. The blinds are all broken so you can’t sleep. The whole chalet is full of furniture it looks like it’s been featured in hoarders shows. There were dead flowers in a vase leaking dirty smelly water over the draining board. The draining board was so full of clutter you couldn’t wash up. There are three fridges two bedside tables and a dining table and a uplighter in the lounge/kitchen/ diner area so no room to unfold sofa bed until you stack furniture precariously to leave you room. The whole kitchen area is full so you can’t cook as there isn’t room too. The curtains in lounge kitchen diner don’t fit the window so sun pours in from 4am. There was a shoe insole, tags, bags, dust,sand and dirt all over the floor. Four clocks all telling different times. A selection of oddities to purchase at extra cost. No room service no daily clean no sea view no pool no restaurant no 24hr security and photos used to advertise are not of Helen aka helenas properties. She is often found sat in the car park in her motor home or on Dartmouth harbour front if you wish to speak to her about concerns as she will only answer phone and texts until she runs out of lies. The bedding was mouldy stained and stank. The property comes with fleas . There are no curtains in the bedroom. The cooker has been painted which is a great move for a hot electric appliance …. There are over loaded extension cables all over the property which could make for the expectation of fireworks. Which to be fair would be a welcome addition. Outside are numerous plant pots full of dead plants and weeds. There is no patio or terrace but a row of paving slabs which make a path, I guess it depends on your interpretation of terrace. No outdoor furniture but if you drag some of the excessive furniture outside that could constitute outdoor furniture….
Don’t open anything you may think constitutes your welcome pack as Helen aka Helena will ask for a voluntary contribution to cover it and when you don’t volunteer she will send Jim aka j her decrepit heavy man to collect at 6am.
The indoor pool is located five min drive away at Dartmouth leisure centre and not affiliated with this HELLena hole at all and are lovely clean reasonable and all well aware of the local dragging Dartmouth’s name into the gutter.
If you dare complain be ready and waiting for Jim’s witty responses straight out of the dando- when asked when daily cleaners were coming he replied my ex took me to the cleaners. Very helpful customer service when you have loaded the car to drive home after one day of your family holiday and lost your money.
The dining table hosts an impressive array of cobwebs. The bathroom has paper hoops over the toilet seat to show it’s been cleaned to a high professional standard I believe these are purchased from the local joke shop.
If I could do a minus star rating I would this is beyond disgusting

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Beckyd1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews