We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like saying Good Bye to an Old Friend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Sabanero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2016

El Sabanero. Not just an ole Eco Lodge. Now re-shaping itself as a major Yoga training and certification destination just outside of Tamarindo and Playa Allvenas. It's my 4th year coming here....and for good reason. It now feels like home....but with a much better view and climate. The owner Kurt Reichenbacher has cultivated an easy going, relaxed, yet effieciently run mini paradise. Comfortable, cozy cabinas, a wonderful infinity pool with a stunning valley view, outstanding food. With the addition of Amit and Tasha as the head Yoga facilitators, El Sabanero is expanding and very quickly becoming a must be at destination when visiting the area. I look forward to coming back....perhaps sooner, rather than later, hanging out with Kurt, expanding my personal Yoga experiences, and thoroughly enjoying the massive mental, spiritual and emotional de-compression this place has to offer.

Room Tip: My fav cabina is #10, it's a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2016

I stayed at El Sabanero for a week in March while offering a yoga retreat.
I'm going back in May offering a long weekend yoga retreat from the 25th to the 29th.
I loved the place, the food, the people.....The whole package.
The cabins were perfect, rustic and sweet with air conditioning and a hot water shower, great wifi connection and amazing breezes.
The grounds are manicured with beautiful tropical blooms and the pool is awesome.
The whole vibe at El Sabanero is warm and tranquil. Amit, Tasha, Harold, Kurt, Donald and Hazel, you all really make people feel at home. It's amazing! Can't wait to see you all again soon.
Contact El Sabanero if you're interested in holding or attending future retreats....they're great hosts!!!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ammayogaom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Staying at El Sabanero Eco Lodge was an amazing experience. The grounds are beautiful and the atmosphere is very relaxed and peaceful. Although, I am not really into yoga, I never felt uncomfortable and I really enjoyed myself. The owners, Amit and Tasha, have such an incredible energy and I am truly thankful for the time I was able to spend with them and their children. It was easy feeling at home there. The food was DELICIOUS, fresh, and varying each day. I would highly recommend El Sabanero Eco Lodge to anyone. I feel blessed to have had this experience and can’t wait for my next visit!

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank SoulSearchingGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Just came back from a wonderful yoga retreat. Amit & Tasha, were friendly & welcoming with there 2 children. The grounds are beautiful and cabins are cozy, the a/c worked well.
The views from the balcony were serene.They were very accommodating helping us with excursions & transportation.
Donald & Hazel the chefs, made us wonderful fresh meals. Just loved the homemade bread & ginger/tumeric tea!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

I am so thankful and grateful to have had the pleasure of staying at El Sabarnero last week for a yoga and meditation retreat. I was able to focus on my mind, body and soul. The sounds of nature complimented the peacefulness of the property and the chalets. The food was absolutely delicious and you could feel the love that Donald and Hazel put into all of the preparation. The staff were helpful, kind and happy. I truly fell in love with Costa Rica and am blessed to have experienced it all while staying at this wonderful resort. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorp1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Avellanas
8.9 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
9.9 km away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
9.1 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
568 reviews
9 km away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1.6 km away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sabanero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sabanero Eco Lodge

Address: Cana Fistula | Entre Tamarindo y Santa Cruz, Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo > Playa Avellanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Avellanas
Price Range: HK$906 - HK$1,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sabanero Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the north Pacific side of Costa Rica, in the province of Guanacaste. A 10 min drive to Tamarindo Beach Resort, 5 min from the Hacienda Pinilla golf course facilities and only 15 min from world-class surf spots such as Avellanas Beach, Playa Negra and Playa Grande. El Sabanero is perfectly located close to all exciting activities. Staying at El Sabanero, one experiences total tranquility, the pure nature, the exotic local animals such as howling monkeys, iguanas, exotic butterflies, parrots & much more, plus the fantastic view of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Sabanero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Sabanero Eco Hotel Tamarindo
El Sabanero Ecolodge Tamarindo
El Sabanero Ecolodge Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing