We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
senior travelers
San Francisco, California

3 star hotel in center of ueno, tokyo.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Nov 2023via mobile
Great 3 star hotel, have daily room service, refrigerator, microwave in the lobby, rooms are small, but near metro and train station. Staff is very helpful. Coffee and tea available daily. Family mart and seven eleven is just around the corner.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
HK$842
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$716
  • Agoda.com
    HK$520
  • Trip.com
    HK$715
0.3 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
■Panda Room(パンダルーム TWIN)    広さ:25.0㎡                     ベッドサイズ:1,200×1,960mm 2台
HK$1,149
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    HK$1,075
  • Agoda.com
    HK$937
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,085
0.1 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$565
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$576
  • Agoda.com
    HK$428
  • Vio.com
    HK$442
0.4 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$411
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    HK$504
  • Agoda.com
    HK$356
  • Hotels.com
    HK$467
1.1 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ホテル正面
HK$1,122
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,148
  • Vio.com
    HK$948
  • Agoda.com
    HK$963
1.4 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$656
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$527
  • Vio.com
    HK$396
  • Agoda.com
    HK$401
1.5 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
JR上野駅(広小路口)から徒歩約3分。
HK$633
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$728
  • Agoda.com
    HK$471
  • japanican.com
    HK$711
0.1 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$2,083
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$2,338
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,269
  • Trip.com
    HK$2,338
1.8 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$455
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$518
  • Agoda.com
    HK$377
  • japanican.com
    HK$504
0.6 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Entrance at the Apa Hotel Asakusa-Kuramae
HK$368
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$375
  • Agoda.com
    HK$315
  • japanican.com
    HK$405
1.6 km from Ueno Touganeya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Taito
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
230
242
45
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
230
242
45
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jr ueno station double room location is excellent japan suitcases zoo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2023

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It is just a short walk from the JR Ueno station using escalators. As we went on three different short trips to Aomori, Kamikochi and Nikko, all our shinkansens pass Ueno station. WE can also keep our luggages here while away.
The staff here can communicate in good English in our emails exchange,
They provided drip coffee packets at the lobby.
My friend and I stayed in two separate rooms and this arrangement was useful as we usually set off at about 6 plus in the morning so we had our own toilet to use without waiting for each other.
A short walk away is a big Uniqlo at Okachimachi. It also houses its own supermarket at B1. There is also a supermarket in Ueno Station near Atre Ueno where I got my healthy wholemeal bread.
The staff are all friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for the convenient location.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kim buay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2023

We (family of four) had a great stay here! The room was spacious and the location is excellent. The Ueno station is a really short walk away and you can get to anywhere using the JR Yamanote line, or any of the others from that station. The room was clean and well-appointed. There are convenience stores and restaurants nearby, but the location is fairly quiet at night. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2023 via mobile

Our second visit to the hotel last time was 8years ago, nothing has changed I think even some reception staff were there then. We had a 4night stay in twin room at beginning of trip to Japan then 3night stay at end in double room. Lots of space in twin room with sofa. Cleaning done daily with change and of towels and bottles of water. For Double room you can decide if you want housekeeping but room so small gave us a chance to leave things lying out of suitcases. Leave towels in bag on door handle and bin outside and they are changed and emptied it suited us fine can make own bed just not much space. All staff pleasant. In ideal location 3 minutes to Ueno station and shops and eating places. Very handy for Ueno park, zoo and museums

Room tip: Twin room if you have a couple of suitcases.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
宮島 大志, 支配人 at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2023

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a 5-star review! It is always gratifying to receive positive feedback from our guest. Besides, this is the first review we have got after the COVID-19 pandemic has happened. We are just so glad we got a chance to meet and accommodate our guests again. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel again. We are very happy to know that you liked our standard twin room. We are just sorry that we only got 1 standard twin room at our hotel. We would like to welcome you again at our hotel in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2023 via mobile

Good location , only 3 mins walk to JR Ueno station . Room is clean and bed was comfortable. Yes it’s tiny but it’s Tokyo n you technically just need the room for sleeping and showering .
Last but not least , the room price is fairly reasonable. Highly recommended if you are looking for economical hotel with good standard .

Room tip: No cleaning service if you are doing short stay
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Spongybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2020

Just a few minutes walk from Ueno Station. Comfortable, clean double room. Bathroom with all the necessary amenities. Fridge. BBC on room TV but no other foreign channels. Electric kettle in the room, tea/coffee can be picked up at the reception.

Room tip: The bed in the double room is rather small for two people. There are bunkbed rooms at the same price.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul298570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
宮島 大志, 支配人 at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel this time.
We are very happy to know that our location was good and the hotel was comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful.
We really hope you will choose us so that we can meet you again!
Please stay safe from COVID-19.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews