We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$57
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Agoda.com
US$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Hotels.com
US$47
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
ExpediaUS$47
eDreams
Vio.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
225
241
45
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
225
241
45
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

The hotel is reasonably priced for Tokyo, and the location is excellent. We took the Keisei-Ueno skyliner and as another reviewer said, the station it stops at is not JR Ueno, which is really close by. Still, we didn't find it too hard to reach the hotel, even with luggage, once we exited to the streets. Google Map helps with orientation. Note that the escalators for going up/down the overpasses stops working at 22:00, so you'll have to use the stairs, which means more work with luggages. The hotel room is really compact, so movement is more restricted. However, it had everything we needed- hair dryer, great little kettle, good amenities like shampoo, soap & conditioner, and toothbrushes. It also had a strong air conditioner, with an adjustable temperature setting. We put a Do Not Disturb sign on, so they wouldn't have to clean our room, and they left a bag of fresh towels at our door anyway...thoughtful. Sound proofing was good. Reception was very good- they allow free use of their umbrellas. A 711 was just around the corner, which is super convenient.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank woozie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2019

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review of our hotel Ueno Touganeya Hotel.
We are very happy to read your review that we always wish to know how our guests feel during their stay with us.
We are sorry to read that our hotel room was very compact so the movement was restricted but still happy to know that our room had everything that was needed for your stay. Since we can not change the room size, we will continue to keep up our service and amenities in the room.
We hope that should you have the opportunity to visit Tokyo again, we may have the chance to welcome you back at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2019

We stayed two nights at the Tougane as a family of five. We wanted one room to accommodate all five of us which they did. It was very cosy however, it was all about getting out for the day exploring Tokyo so didn't spend much time in the room. The room was clean, simple and the location was very close to train/subway/bullet train. Slept well, no issues with noise. Extremely handy location. There was a food market very close too, which was fantastic. Lots of food options. Great price and handy location. The staff were happy to help us with maps and directions.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2019

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing us a great review. We have 4 family rooms at our hotel. Each room can accommodate up to 5 people. As you have mentioned, our hotel is very close to all of Ueno stations. Also, you can go to Ameyoko street and Ueno park by walk. Out of all, we are very glad to read that you slept well and had no issues with noise. Sleep is very important in a trip. We hope you enjoyed your time in Tokyo and Japan this time. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2019

Ueno Touganeya is a smaller hotel two minutes from Ueno station. I was really happy with the hotel and the location - being on a side street so close to the station was perfect. My room was comfortable and so quiet, the best sleep that I had on this trip. Would definitely stay here again & recommend it to others.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2019

Dear our valued guests,

Thank you very much for your great review! We are very glad to read that you were happy with our hotel. Also, we are very happy that out of all the sleeps you had in this trip, you had the best sleep at our hotel! We will continue to try our best. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2019

Hotel is centrally located, a short walk to Ueno station and nearby shopping street. We enjoy our stay here as its so convenience, room is clean and soundproof is not bad as we couldn't hear any disturbance noise from nearby rooms.
There are a few restaurants and a 7-11 convenience shop nearby. We would stop by the convenience shop for some take-away sandwiches for an early excursion trip too.
Reception staffs are courteous and friendly, always willing to help if you have any queries.
For laundry,coin operated washing m/c and dryers are provided at the ground floor of the hotel. Overall we had a great stay at the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2019

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. This is the best message we can ever get from our guests. The only thing we want is our guests' smile and satisfaction. As you have mentioned our room have soundproof walls. Our hotel is located around many restuarants and convenience store nearby. Our staffs try to be friendly and always willing to help our guests. We thank you again for your great review and we hope we can meet you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019

I have stayed in single hotel rooms in Japan on four previous visits and expected this hotel to be similar. The room was quite spacious with all the basic requirements. The staff made the difference - happy, helpful, knowledgeable, good English skills. I particularly liked:
- the location. Two minutes walk from Exit 2 of the Euno JR station.
- soft bed
- elevator
- being able to adjust the airconditioning temperature in my room. Most hotels have a centrally controlled system and you get whatever temperature they choose.
- free tea-bags, milk and coffee available from reception. Cups are in the room.
- 7-eleven, Family Mart, restaurants and beer shops nearby
- walking distance to Ameyoko Street market, Euno Park, Euno Zoo, museums and art galleries
- no meals are served at the hotel but there is a small refrigerator and hot water jug in each room.
What I didn't like:
- having nowhere in the bathroom to hang handwashed clothing
- noise from nearby rooms can be heard, particularly the room opposite. A family was noisily unpacking cardboard boxes for about 3 hours one evening until I said something and they stopped. Another night someone was making a very loud phone call and a child was screaming. These are normal hotel experiences and I don't blame the hotel for these noisy customs
- the directions given on the hotel website of how to find the hotel. I arrived at Euno station on the Skyliner train from Narita Airport. The Skyliner arrives at the privately owned Keisei-Euno station which is not near the hotel. What you need to find next is the Euno JR station which is next to the Keisei station. That means going out of the subway and trying to cross roads at street level, or preferably, staying in the underground tunnels and going from the Keisei line into the JR station, looking for Exit 2. I walked at least 1.5 km from where the Skyliner train pulled in to Exit 2 of the adjacent Euno JR station. The hotel is 2 mins from Exit 2. When you surface at street level at Exit 2, you see six lanes of busy traffic overhead walkways, etc in front of you. The hotel is situated in the quiet, narrow street behind you. So at Exit 2 (street level) turn left, walk about 50 steps looking for a narrow alleyway on your left. You will see a restaurant with white/red lantern decorations and a small carpark. Go down the alley. Opposite the restaurant is the Hotel Euno Touganeya Hotel. To travel around Tokyo, you will use the JR lines so train travel becomes much more efficient once you reach the hotel.
Would I stay at this hotel again ..... ABSOLUTELY. I saved a small fortune on train travel because of its central location, and enjoyed the direct train connection with Narita Airport (using the Skyliner train). The staff were absolutely fantastic.

Room tip: My room overlooked a side street. There were a few people yelling in the street late at night.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OZtraveller222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review about our hotel this time.
We are very happy and appreciate for complimenting our staff on their friendliness.
We try our best to do our utmost to make our guests as comfortable and happy as possible.
Besides, you have raised many important issues. We will consider each of these points with much thought. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
We really hope we can accommodate you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews