We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
195
202
85
27
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
202
85
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station top floor free parking superior room air con shower gel min walk reception staff room was large local train his team living area great gelato booked this hotel great base to visit cooked breakfast historic sites
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

This was our first night in Italy and we weren’t disappointed. The hotel was clean and quiet.
The restaurant, what can we say but WOW. The food was sensational, the service second to none. Anton the manager made our night a very memorable experience and we can’t recommend this restaurant enough. Thanks for an exception meal.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

This is not a 4* hotel.
We stopped here as a stop over between visiting Herculaneum and Pompeii before heading to the Amalfi Coast.
A very strange and unwelcoming hotel decorated in the more garish bold colours... a floor of red then yellow then blue! Not luxurious, warming or welcoming at all.

Room is poor-average with a wonderful view of a wall and scaffolding (despite all pictures showing views of sea). A very strange smell which seems to be them using some kind of air freshener but is not pleasant and smells like a bad smell trying to be masked.

Bathroom is dirty, mould on the walls, shower leaks and shower tray is stained.

Restaurant... don’t bother.
We ate here as we didn’t fancy heading out to the surrounding area (not very appealing, seems very poor and run down and would not have felt safe as tourists walking the streets especially of an evening). We were served cold red wine that resembled vinegar. Glasses they went to pour the wine into were absolutely filthy so got these changed.
Side plates on the table also smeared, marked and dirty... which the restaurant manager told us was from air conditioning leaking and marking when wiped off .

Such a shame as all the towns and hotels between Herculaneum and Pompeii are not great looking but unfortunately a necessity if wanting to visit the ruins without having to travel to far!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KellyRidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Hotel clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast very average but adequate, dinner good but expensive. No food available during day and bar only open occasionally. Very little in way of facilities in hotel eg no balconies, pool or outside sitting space. Only sea views from dining room. Scruffy area with nothing to do except long hike or expensive taxi ride to train stations.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank gillgriffiths47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

My friends and I were fortunate reception was able to allow us to have our room at 12 o'clock. The room opened with a key rather than with a key card (therefore not quite as modern as you would think)

The room was spacious however; therefore is no coffee and or tea facilities. We had to ask for an ironing board and iron which took 2 days for them to comply to our request. The bathroom had a distinctive smelt of urine. The cleaner's took quite sometime to come to re-clean the bathroom. We noticed the towels were hard and scratchy to the skin, There were average complimentary toiletries in the bathroom.The television didn't work and had to be changed however; the remote worked sporadically. Housekeeping changed the pillows daily however not the sheets.

The shower had a serious leak which excess wet the floor no matter how careful you were in placing the shower head.

Most of the reception staff have limited english. The janitor plays the part of a bar tender, and waiter. The breakfast was not fit for purpose in fact it was absolutely terrible and not worth the money.


The location of the hotel is execllent for travelling in and around and, further a field. You will be within walking distance to all amenities. It will cost you around 2.60 euros to get to Pompeii. It is worth taking the to hour tour guide at Pompeii as the old city is extremely vast; make sure you have sensible shoes or trainers on, its hard on the feet. Make sure you also have plenty of sunscreen on as you are in direct sunlight at all times.

Ensure when you are using the Metro you certify your train card to prevent penalty fixed charges.

Restaurants near the hotel are moderately priced. There are some nicer resturants with beautiful ambiance to them that are also near however; a little hidden away.

There is a GIN bar that is lively should you want a drink and little music. This is reasonably priced with friendly service by staff.

Although we all had a good time in Torre Del Greco we found people starred and presented a little hostile. I would visit this part of Italy again however; I would not stay at Hotel Poseidon again. It classified as a 4* hotel but in fact it's a 2*

I seriously think you should reconsider if your thinking of this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Sher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

This is an outstanding choice of hotels for so many reasons. This is our second year staying with this hotel and was outstanding. The front desk staff includes Ester who is a professional and terrific at her job. She makes us feel like old friends coming home. Additionally, Lucia is in the restauant and should be the manager. She has the respect of the staff and the love for what she does. The apt we were in this year was the same as last and fabulous. The location is perfectt for day travel and the town is a gem (ok, it is my husband's hometown, but it is fabulous nonetheless). There is no other place we will stay in the area and highly recommend the staff and the place. Oh and as a bonus there is an amazing hairdresser (men and women, old and young) across the street by the name of Antonio...a pure joy in deed.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi D, Direttore vendite at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Sir

Thank uo so much for yoyr wonderful review

Best regards

Luigi De Simone
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews