We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bliss Resort(Bamburi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kahama Hotel(Bamburi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
45
47
18
7
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
47
18
7
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringvisit kenyaafrican themevegetarian menucooking facilitiesbeach frontother hotelsindian oceanfacing the oceancleaned dailyrooms are spaciousmosquito netcottagemombasaprivacyrefrigeratorcrafted
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Came before the fire. Place was awesome. After the fire...where to begin. No TV in room. AC can't be adjusted. Showers don't work. Pool was filled with sand. Pillows smell of prior people's sweaty heads. No no no!!! Spent one night and decided no more.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Salwa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We LOVE Ziwa! This was my second time staying here -- it was really wonderful (yet again). January is a terrific month to visit Kenya-- esp. Mombasa!

Staff: The staff is amazing- they are all SO helpful- we got to know all of them by name and everyone made sure we had everything we needed while we stayed there. The cleaner (ours was named Peter) was excellent- he kept our room in perfect condition every day. The staff here is exceptionally great. We especially liked working with Martin and Juma. They were fantastic and extremely personable!

Price: The price is right here also- we paid for the base package and got an excellent deal- way cheaper than the other hotels surrounding Ziwa!

Aesthetic: This was my second time staying at Ziwa and it did not disappoint. Ziwa had a big fire last September and they have really rebuilt quickly. They are still working on it and it's in progress of becoming better and better, but they have done really well to put things back together considering their tremendous loss. They keep the hotel grounds looking really beautiful and the pool is always gorgeous and so clean. The water is salt water so it's really refreshing to swim in. (See photos)

Food: The Ziwa breakfast is WORTH it. My fiance and I had it every morning (5 days) that we stayed there. It consisted of fresh fruits, cereal, toast and eggs----the Spanish omelette is TO DIE FOR- and the coffee and tea is fabulous; our compliments to the chef! For lunch and dinner, we usually ventured off to try out some other places on the beach or in Mombasa. Ziwa does not serve meat- just a random FYI for all of you.

Wifi: The wifi was a tad spotty in our room and down where the bar and food area was. We were in the very front hotel room - #73...overlooking the pool and ocean. We went downstairs on our back step when we wanted to use the wifi and it also worked closer to the reception area. We didn't mind the spotty wifi- it kept us present and paying attention to each other vs. our phones. We really enjoyed it. When we wanted to use really good internet we just hopped over to the Masai bar right behind Ziwa- they had terrific wifi and great food and drinks too. We'd also recommend Yul's restaurant, just a few stops down on the beach from Ziwa. They had good wifi also.

Activities: We did a catamaran sailing ride one morning with Mustafa and Mario- they did an excellent job. They have their outside headquarters right outside of Ziwa on the beach- we'd highly recommend going through them! We wanted to do a camel ride but we ran out of time. The shopping on the beach was really fun- lots of amazing beach vendors, we really liked working with Kennedy. He has a shop right outside of Ziwa on the beach as well with great carvings and fun gifts to purchase.

We would recommend Ziwa ANY time! For any additional questions - please ask! Happy to help give recommendations or more tips for anyone who might be interested.

Room Tip: #73 had an amazing AMAZING view but not good wifi. We just went downstairs (super easy) closer to reception when we wanted to use wifi. :)
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

There are many beach resorts along this stretch of beach. This is a good mid-range option for budget travelers. The décor is very African and very attractive. My critique of this resort is the thin sheets and somewhat uncomfortable bed. Other than that, the location is great, price is right, a beautiful stretch of ocean. You will enjoy this resort!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthonyj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

I traveled to Ziwa Beach with a large group of familyfor a pretty sad event,so my first impression wasn't very good. However, it's location, right on Bamburi beach, and the staff were amazing. As the title says, it is a self catering property and they provided all the utensils and facilities we needed to knowck out meals for 14 people

The rooms are pretty substantial, we had double beds that were put to the test with a bunch of kids and adults sharing each- yet they held up pretty well. Linens and toiletries are provided and cleaned daily

They have a beach bar and restaurant, and are a hop away from some of the best eateries on Bamburi Beach. Like the bar steps are literally submerged during high tide.

Overall amazing place to visit. I hope they can recover form the fire that started from the Italian restaurant next door.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Nadya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Sad that there was a fire which gutted the bar,razed the front facing villas and set back the resort back a few months..that said,Ziwa has always attracted the same clientele,if you don't mind the mosquitoes and oversalty showers then you are made for Ziwa...there was a joke about swimming in their pool than actually showering,well I realised it wasn't a joke.Beds are ok,parking can be an issue and if you have an overbearing neighbour,eat out..you have a common kitchen!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank githua e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews