We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place for big events”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2017

we were there for an event involving a group of almost 40. Let just say that it's not a big group. Despite that:
1: we had to go upstairs every time we wanted a drink, no waiters came to us to offer us anything.
2: The time of the dinner was already settle in advance but when we arrived the reception room wasn't clean. It's a luck we got there before the guest to push them to do their jobs.
3: about 15 minutes before the time we agreed on to have the dinner serve I went to the administration just to see if everything was fine and they told me they didn't even know when to serve dinner
4: They charged more than the price we agreed on
5: Despite the fact the bill included service fees they just brought cups and coffee mugs, dumped it on the table and we had to serve coffee for our guest and they didn't bring enough mugs for everyone so we had to go upstairs and get more
6: they are not equiped to serve a big group. They got in the room with the Soup pot and poored soup to everyone as if we were a the Cantine. It took so long to serve everybody that table 1 was done eating before everybody got served
7: Not one waiter came during the whole night to ask if everything was fine
8: they didn't prepare any bill at the end of the night or came to us to be paid, they were just waiting:

Food was fine...the view is incredible. But terrible terrible organisation.

Also

Room Tip: it is far from the city, the view is great. The service is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin V, Directeur général at La Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Mister,

We think that an answer is necessary to your comment:

1) We agreed with your organizer that the first drink before the dinner was ordered upstairs but during the dinner, a waitress was available to take drink’s order in the room.
2) Yes, the time of the dinner was settle. Your organizer knew that the precedent group left at 4pm and the reception room won’t be clean for your arrival at 4pm but she was ok to wait for visiting the place or taking a drink. In fact, she told us that the group will arrive at 4:30pm and dinner at 6pm.
3) The manager told to your organizer 1 hour later that we were ready and were just waiting your signal to serve you
4) Yes, you’re right. There was an error with the price and we repaid the difference to your organizer who will repay all the group.
5) 3 waiters were available for your group and came several times. We apologize for the number of mug and the fact that we should serve you coffee.
6) We’re used to have group in Cap au Leste, we organised wedding and company’s party and everything is doing well normally. We’re sorry if you wait too much but it was a traditional English service that mean that waiter serve each plate in front of the client.
7) Like I said, 3 waiters were available. We are sorry if they didn’t ask if everything was fine.
8) We are used to wait your signal because we are not used to push or disturb the client with the bill during a party or family’s dinner

To conclude, we don’t understand this comment because your organizer told us that everything was perfect and thanked our supervisor on the phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017

We went to this hotel for our honeymoon. I never imagined to find it so charming with a rustic room and the Fjord view, hiking trails in the hotel, etc. We love the nature and we were so pleased to take our honeymoon in such a great place. The staff are so welcoming and the breakfast is delicious for a reasonable price.
Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maabud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This is just what you expect of a Canadian vista! Superb views, nice walks, good food and friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable and it was very fitting not to have a television. We just watch the sun setting over the Saguenay and enjoy the peace. There is small bar area and a gamesroom. Coming out after our evening meal we came across a nice area with a wood fire and places to sit down and some marshmallows were left for the visitors to enjoy as well. A nice touch. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

My husband and I just spent two nights at the Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste and we had a good experience there.
The employees were very friendly and welcoming.
I booked a room in a small private chalet. It was good.
They had a very few trails that we did (sentier du phare was the best).
The breakfast buffet was very poor and the dinner (fixed menu with 3 or 4 courses) was good the first night but very disappointing the second night).
But all in all, we had a good experience there.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliselev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

This pourvoirie is located 6kms from the main road…you are driving 20 minutes in the middle of nowhere but the place is scenic overlooking the Fjord. it's a series of wooden chalet. Rooms are simple but clean. It's very quiet…no wifi nor TV… but instead…guitar concert next a outdoor wooden fire… The service is friendly and the food is really great . Great value for money. There is a nice lake 2 kms away where you can do canoé and swim. They rent bikes, etc… there are two hiking trails as well. This hotel is nice for 2 or 3 days , in the middle of nature…

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mannecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Rose-du-Nord
9.3 km away
L'Auberge des Battures
L'Auberge des Battures
#2 of 2 in La Baie
129 reviews
27.3 km away
Le Montagnais Saguenay
Le Montagnais Saguenay
#1 of 9 in Chicoutimi
319 reviews
35.9 km away
Delta Saguenay Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Auberge des 21
Auberge des 21
#1 of 2 in La Baie
113 reviews
28.4 km away
Hotel du Fjord
Hotel du Fjord
#4 of 9 in Chicoutimi
80 reviews
27.6 km away
Hotel Chicoutimi
Hotel Chicoutimi
#7 of 9 in Chicoutimi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste

Address: 551, chemin du Cap a l'Est, Sainte-Rose-du-Nord, Quebec G0V 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > Sainte-Rose-du-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Rose-du-Nord
Price Range: HK$710 - HK$1,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your La Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing