We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chloe@ the Royal Oak chingford”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #8 of 59 Restaurants in Chingford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal here as usual , staff very attentive & friendly. Chloe is a superstar. So smiley friendly & made our experience out very pleasurable. She’s a great asset to the pub team here

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank kerryhL4626CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOak C, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kerry,

Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review!

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed Chloe's hospitality just as much as we love her working as part of our team! I will ensure I pass your comments onto her and the rest of the team.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Brooke Clark
Assistant Manager.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2021

My local pub for 5 years now and always a delight to be there. Hard working, friendly cheerful staff and the food is great. Ribs night is particularly good (Wednesdays) but for me, it's always a positive experience after a hard day at work.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank mikeytennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOak C, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Hi Mikey,

I am so pleased to hear you love the pub! It is always a pleasure to have you in.

I will pass your kind words on to the rest of the team.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review.

Kind Regards,

Brooke Clark
Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

Shocker of a pub. Always check your bank account after ordering as the place is notorious for multiple charging due to glitches with their payment processing. Simply nothing to like about this place other than 11pm when it closes…..or often earlier depending on the mood of the staff that day. Times are tough for pubs at the moment so you would expect The Royal Oak to be concerned about decent customer service…they are not. One to avoid like the plague. There are some shocking reviews of this pub frequently going up and they then ask tripadvisor to take them down as they don’t want people to know about the multiple charging issues they have with their payment processor in addition to the poor products and service.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank WisenedSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOak C, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Hi WisenedSoul,

I am sorry to hear about your view of the pub. Your concerns have been looked into by ourselves and head office. In regards to you being charged twice, we have not received any evidence from anyone about this since re opening the pub and the launch of the app that is used by multiple pub chains.

Like with any technology, payment timeouts can occur but no extra charge is taken.

If you would like to come into the pub at any time to discuss this issue further, i would be more then happy to go through this.

Kind Regards,

Kean Grigg
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

Place has gone down hill, service is rubbish, drink order was wrong twice, sat and waited nearly 40 mins for our food, when they brought 2nd drinks, we was asked if we wanted to order food, they used the excuse of faulty equipment, then why not go back to pen and paper, or after all food orders go check the kitchen received it, its not like the place was busy. No real answers from the shift supervisor.

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank debra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOak C, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

Hi Debra,

I am genuinely sorry to hear you had a negative experience.

We take pride in delivering top quality customer service so your feedback is important to us.

Please feel free to email me on the following to give me any further details of your visit and i can look into it further -

royaloak.chingford@mcmullens.co.uk

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Brooke Clark
Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2021

This needs to be seen by the owners. The staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. The food was decent, but the outside space is in need of URGENT updating. The chairs are wobbly. There's no patio heaters for when it gets chilly. No ambience whatsoever. It has definitely put me and my friends off from coming back. By 8pm everybody had gone from the outside eating area. Whereas the Kings Head was jam packed inside and out. The Managers of the Royal Oak desperately need to up their game and spend some money on the outside eating area. That pub would do a roaring trade all through the summer. They need to go and take a look at what the Kings Head have done!

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank S6868VPkimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOak C, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2021

Hi S6868VPkimh,

Thankyou for your positive comments about the team, i will definitely pass this on. All your comments in regards to the garden will be passed on to head office.

Kind Regards,

Brooke Clark,
Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Chingford, Waltham Forest
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.