We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View”
Review of Nautilus Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nautilus Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed at the Nautilus Bay Hotel in Kastelli Kissamos for two weeks with the object of having a relaxing chilled-out break. The hotel was situated at the extreme eastern end of the town’s sandy beach. It was positioned side on to the beach and we had a top room at the end directly overlooking it. We had a large balcony and the view was quite outstanding. The room itself was large, with a huge double bed and a single one in the corner diagonally opposite. There was also a couch. Included with the room was air conditioning, a small safe, a kettle plus an ironing board and basic iron. The bathroom had a shower over the bath with a fixed screen at the side. My partner, who is of medium height, had difficulty getting out of the bath as the toilet unit was positioned in the gap between the end of the screen and the wall. There was also a sporadic problem with the drain on the floor overflowing when emptying the sink or having a shower. Maybe it is something the hotel could deal with post season. Apart from a few small glitches the room was cleaned well and bedding and towels changed on time. Breakfast was overall good with a reasonable selection of hot and cold food able to be eaten inside or out. The cold selection could have benefitted from the addition of local cheeses. The woman overseeing breakfast was both helpful and friendly. The hotel has some beds and fixed umbrellas on the beach but as the beach curves away at this point it feels a bit remote from the hotel unlike other establishments further along the beach. As we were familiar with one of these from previous visits we tended to eat there at lunchtime when on the beach. The establishment also has a fair sized pool with beds position around it. There is also a bar. The pool area never seemed to be crowded while we were there but this could have been down to the proximity of the beach or the fact that it was in shade for a large part of the day. My partner suggested that maybe the problem was that the water was too cold. The hotel also has a restaurant but we tended to visit local tavernas in the evening. It is well positioned for walking to the town’s seafront restaurants, main street and bus station. Overall we felt that it was an ideal place to stay, especially if you can get the right room.

Room Tip: Room 28 and the room next door most certainly have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33JohnMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Basic accommodation, slightly overpriced for what it offers. It's convenient to explore western Crete. The hotel is right on the Kissamos beach, which is just ok.
Breakfast buffet was rather limited and ot Iincluded in the price of the room.
It would be great if they had screens on the balcony door and bathroom window to keep the mosquitos away.

Room Tip: The two best rooms are 209 and 210, with unrestricted view of the beach and Kissamos Bay. All other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed there again after a couple of years and we enjoyed it as much. Rooms are spacious and with our 2 kids we had a more than enough comfortable stay. Kids loved the pool and breakfast was just fine to get a good kick start. The beach is safe for kids as it is quite shallow for at least 20 meters.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Torrid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

After a nightmare journey on Seajets from Santorini, we called to tell them we would be arriving late at 1 am. They told us not to worry and had the suite ready for us as promised. It was such a relief to see the excellent and modern new rooms. The pool is large, beach nearby and Elafonisi beach is just an hour away. The woman at the front desk was very helpful in telling us where we could buy replacements items due to our lost luggage. We would definitely go there again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ELIZABETH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed just for one night in this fabulous hotel. Staff very friendly and helpfull, always smiling. Rooms very comfortable and clean with sea view and pool view. just a few meters away from the sea. Great food, everything was worth to taste. if u visit crete, this hotel is a must. Thank you guys for making my stay unforgetable

Room Tip: Just let the reception find the appropiate room for u. they are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endritmeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
0.4 km away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kissamos
383 reviews
0.2 km away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kissamos
205 reviews
1.1 km away
Sunny Bay Hotel
Sunny Bay Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kissamos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
481 reviews
1.1 km away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kissamos
422 reviews
2.7 km away
Mediterranean Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Bay Hotel

Address: Kalergon Plaka Beach, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kissamos
Price Range: HK$429 - HK$999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nautilus Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an outdoor pool and a sun terrace, the contemporary Nautilus Bay Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Kissamos on the sandy beach of Plaka.It features bright, spacious apartments with a furnished balcony and large windows overlooking the Mediterranean Sea and the Cretan mountains. All accommodation has a dining area and a sitting room, equipped with a flat-screen TV and free WiFi and air-condition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nautilus Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing