We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
154
105
38
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
105
38
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cleaned every day nice guy the owner his wife by foot stayed here for a week clean apartments dirt road balos lagoon car fridge peace chania hosts tree sea mountains
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Just spent two weeks here, great place to stay but you do need a car to get about, continental breakfast was good but would recommend that eggs are on the breakfast every day. Fantastic time great pool, bedding changed every three days, rooms really clean

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUTHIE1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Visited Mediterranean Studios and Apartments with my mom this June. Arrived around noon, and were welcomed by the owner, a very nice guy! The hotel has its own pool bar/restaurant, and the pool is fairly large and well kept.

The town of Kissamos is roughly 2km away by foot, which was a bit far. However, we walked to the city in the afternoon, had dinner and took a taxi back to the hotel. This costed around 6 to 7€, so it wasn't too expensive. Great exercise if you're looking to stay at the beach all day! The hotel has their own small beach line at the beach, but it wasn't too big.

The rooms at the hotel were nice and clean. They were cleaned every day as far as I'm concerned, but we didn't stay a full week.

All in all, the hotel was great, and the family that ran it were lovely and helpful! They helped us get boat cruise tickets and called cabs for us whenever we asked. They also gave us tips on what to do during our stay, and when it was best to do so. The only reason this hotel gets 4/5 is because the walking distance to the city centre was a bit long, and the centrum in itself was a bit small. It was okay for 5 days, but it would've been a bit boring for a longer stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Thilde F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

I downloaded the app JUST to leave this comment. Please don't stay here... Rooms were terrible. Lets start with the shower. The shower had a cluster of about 4 spiders in the corner. The actual shower head was rusting and literally trickled out water. They left a note saying they only give towels ever 3 days. The bed for my fiancé and i was 2 twin beds.. not even sure there was a box spring they were so low off the ground. Who wants to cuddle in the middle of a huge gap in between the beds. The pillow was flat, they gave us no blanket. Just a sheet that sounded and felt like tissue paper. The "FREE WIFI" didn't work at all. Now for the dinner. I ordered Bolognese pasta. It came out with no sauce although she tried to assure me that it did. When I asked for a side of marinara she literally brings out a little container with the remaining grease that she cooked the meat in! (SEE PICTURE) this place is just plain ghetto and looks like a bunch of crackheads should live there. There's 1 lady who's answering phones and taking your food orders. Very understaffed. I saw another guest who was unhappy with their meal. she brought it back to the kitchen where i then saw the owners kids or husband and a pregnant 65 year old lady eating the left overs from the un-happy guests plate. The beach... sure the water is pretty but theres no sand. It all rocks with a little sewage river running into it. We were supposed to stay 5 nights and only stayed 1. The breakfast that was included was Yogart, Tomatoes, bread and cereal. No eggs, no meat, no pancakes or pastries. The location in between a bunch of run down buildings. The only thing I liked about this place was there were 2 stray puppies I got to pet.

Room Tip: Free WIFI that did not work
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Troy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STELIOS1957, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Mediterranean Studios Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi Troy,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear about you experience at our hotel.
We have had over 500 guests who have stayed with us this year and we have very little complaints. Obviously on this scale there will be some exceptions but we pride ourselves on cleanliness, quality of food and service in the restaurant.
As far as your problems were concerned;
We did offer you another room to stay which you refused.
If you would have asked for a blanket we would have provided you with one as we did for other guests who requested one.
The wifi did have a problem in some rooms which we have now resolved. We did provide a workaround for the wifi problem at the time.
The breakfast you booked and that we provided was a Continental breakfast not a full English
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday
Mediterranean Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Mediterranean Studios Apartments is a nice complex of about a dozen identical two-storeyed houses, in the center of which stands a 600 years old very large olive tree that the proprietors saved from destruction. It was meant to be chopped for wood by its previous owner. They bought it and replanted it right in front of the reception office and the restaurant - providing a great view and a focal point for the complex.
All or almost all apartments offer marvelous views: large vistas either to the sea or the mountains or the peaceful countryside. The apartments are some 200 or 300 meters from the sea. It is a very large beach, mostly sandy and with some pebbles - but there is also a pool for everybody in the complex. The hosts provide enough sunshades and beds on the beach too, free of charge.
The thing that comes to mind is space. Enough of it in the pool, in the restaurant (meant to be for the visitors only), but especially generous is the space in the rooms and on the beach. We, my wife and I, have been to many similar reasonably-priced apartments in Greece, but this was the largest one we could hope for: large room, large bathroom, large terrace with a table and chairs.
Cleanliness is perfect, sheets and towels are changed every day (except Sunday).
Breakfast, included in the very reasonable price, is fully adequate. You can order dinner as well - again at a reasonable price. It is not only more than enough but very delicious, too, and likely to ruin your diet, especially when you want to combine it with Mythos, the great Greek beer, as we did.
It was as early as in 2015 - we were looking for such a place for Crete for 2016, that I came upon Mediterranean Studios Apartments. We could not visit Crete in 2016 but at the end of that year we started looking for accommodation on Crete for 2017. I came upon Mediterranean Apartments again and remembered it immediately from the description of the 600 years old olive tree. I read all the positive reviews and - as somebody who is convinced in the usefulness of such reviews - was quick to book it for ten days, seven months in advance, both for my wife and for our son's family (of four).
We all had a great time at Mediterranean Studios Apartments in the first half of June 2017! We can now wholeheartedly recommend this place to anybody who is after peace in a rustic environment instead of a large noisy hotel full of hundreds or thousands of holiday makers!
A note about transportation. This is a place distanced a kilometer or two away from Kissamos. One can use a taxi, but the best thing would be to have one's (own or rented) vehicle. The hosts will be ready to offer you an option and advice for renting a car, or ATV, etc. It will be of use anyway - for visiting the beautiful towns of Kissamos, Chania, Georgioupoli and Rethymno, etc. and the nearby great attractions like, for example, the world-famous Balos lagoon and Elafonissi beach. Both Balos and Elafonissi are approximately an hour away but note that Balos lagoon is reachable on an extremely difficult dirt road (thus protected, thanks to clever and strictly enforced legislation, against tourist devastation). Balos lagoon can also be visited by boat (a large one, always packed), with a visit to Gramvoussa island and its Venetian castle (a very steep climb) on the way. But be ready for a fantastic scenery, out of this world!
Be ready to travel in Crete! Crete is a very big island, beautiful, offering a lot to see!
Slightly on a side note, it was our plan to visit Gavdos, the southernmost island of Greece, the EU and Europe, including Kap Trypiti, the southernmost point of Europe! We (my wife and I) managed! We were lucky! Drove to Chora Sfakia on a scenic road for an hour and a half, then took a special boat to Gavdos and back - within the day!
But, to return to the accommodation discussed, we felt there as if at home, thanks to Stelios, the owner - with his interesting philosophical insights, his wife Galina, his nephew Dimitris, Dora, a great cook, Maria, and the rest of the team! Holiday cannot be sunbathing, eating, drinking and visiting places only! It can be a joy if you have the opportunity to communicate with the owners of the place, local people and other visitors - on a glass of Mythos or raki, etc. In our case we not only talked every day with the hosts, our children played together and had fun all the time.
Thank you very much, friends! Have a great 2017 season - and hopefully, God willing, we will meet again in the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krasimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel was perfect! The rooms super big and comfortable! Everything clean and the staff super kind! Only problem maybe, the location, but it's worth it! Beer is cheap, food is delicious (the breakfast is really enough for the day) and the pool is great!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CarlosR8373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews