We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Etrip
Booking.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
52
13
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
13
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2019

Zaborin was the second stop of our holiday in Japan. We Stayed here for 2 nights. My parent and I had a suite called Yoshisu with additional tatami room. The view from our suite was stunning. I did enjoy the beautiful sunrise while relaxing the private onsen bath. The downside of the suite was that it was not big enough for 3 people, the additional tatami room was simple and tiny and no place to put my suitcase.

The breakfast and dinner are included in the room rate and was served in the ground floor with forest and pond view. The old lady who served our breakfast paid a lot of attention to make us feel comfortable although she did not speak English. The traditional Japanese breakfast was the best one I ever had, not complicated but, compared to the Japanese breakfast in other high end hotels, you could see why it’s different enough to be article- worthy. The Kaiseki dinner, the combination of natural ingredients without added flavours and meticulous presentation, was simply great. The ingredients of the breakfast / dinner varied every day during our stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TakakiyoS, 支配人 at Zaborin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Dear David K sama,

Warm greetings from Niseko !

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay in Zaborin.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the onsen and our traditional Japanese breakfast and Kaiseki dinner.

Hope you will come back to Niseko for your future holidays and look forward to welcoming you again at Zaborin.

With best regards,
Taka Sekine – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019

A friend and I stayed here while skiing at nearby Hanazono (Niseko) in Jan 2019. We had a twin with futon style beds and indoor and outdoor onsen baths. While it's a ryokan / guesthouse rather than hotel the distinction was somewhat lost on me - it looked and felt like a hotel.

The building is amazing (futuristic / industrial meets wabi sabi - somehow managing to be cosy and cool simultaneously) and the setting is gorgeous (tucked into the hill and woods with far reaching uninterrupted views), staff were solicitous and friendly, and the food was awesome (although unadventurous eaters may struggle) - fine dining standard - and a very good Japanese BBQ one night. We also had a tea ceremony and really good massage there too - what's not to love? I was blown away and would return given any opportunity :)

Hanozono was the quietest of the ski areas nearby and is limited in slopes for beginners, but if you're after backcountry or off piste skiing it would be my first choice as the lifts are less busy and there's less competition for the fresh tracks. The backcountry powder skiing is the best I have ever done. Go before they finish the big luxury hotel complex they're building next to the slopes!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LR4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TakakiyoS, 支配人 at Zaborin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Dear LR4x4 sama,

Warm greetings from Niseko !

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay in Zaborin.
I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our facility, 100% natural onsen and our culinary such as Japanese charcoal BBQ.

We hope you come back to Niseko for your ski vacations and look forward to welcoming you again at Zaborin.

With best regards,
Taka Sekine – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

This onsen is secluded for privacy, a little hard to find if you’re driving and using gps but it’s all totally worth it when you arrive. Tucked away in high snow carved roads, you arrive at a very unassuming building with a frozen fountain in the centre of it all. As soon you enter, you can immediately tell that and there was no expense spared at this property.

The decor is modern and minimalist with stunning views of winter hills that are as breathtaking as it can get. Each of the 15 rooms have two onsen tubs - one indoor and one outdoor. The onsen piping goes as deep as 1km into the ground with unfiltered hot spring water. As soon as you enter the onsen room, you smell the sulfites, and even see them when you in the water. It’s really as pure as it gets if you want the hot spring experience.

In terms of service, a tea ceremony service is available in the afternoon where fresh matcha tea can be made under the guidance of a tea master. The food is delicious, and if you’re lucky, you’ll get seated a room with a view of a snow covered pond which brings tranquility during breakfast and dinner.

If you’re skiing, Zaborin has a shuttle that goes to Hanazono on request. Once finished, use the lodge phone to call the property and a Zaborin car will arrive within 15 minutes after a day of skiing.

5 stars for this property. The price may be steeper than other onsen’s, but it has the most marvelous rooms, finishings, service, and onsen. As for standards, it’s really up there with any other top property in the world, and it’s still rather new, so I’m sure after everyone will hear more about Zaborin in future publications.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank GrantL132
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TakakiyoS, 支配人 at Zaborin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Dear GrantL 132 sama,

Warm greetings from Niseko !

Thank you so much for your comments on every detail from your last winter stay in Zaborin.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our 100% natural onsen, our cuisine “Kita kaiseki” and our service at ryokan.
On behalf of the team at Zaborin, I would like to express our appreciation on your kind words and compliments about us. Our tea ceremony master is more than happy to show you how to brew matcha tea again.

We hope you come back to Niseko for your future vacations, looking forward to welcoming you again at Zaborin.

With best regards,
Taka Sekine – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019

Thank you very much for a great stay. Zaborin may be one the most wonderful and memorable experience i ever had. Outdoor onsen and food was fantastic. Serenity may be the best word that would define Zaborin. Looking forward to my next visit.

Date of stay: December 2018
4  Thank altairrising
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TakakiyoS, 支配人 at Zaborin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Dear altairrising sama,

Warm greetings from Niseko !

Thank you so much for kind feedback on your recent stay at Zaborin.
I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our cuisine "Kita kaiseki" and 100% natural onsen at Zaborin.

I believe that you shall be back to Niseko for your future vacation. We all look forward to welcoming you again at Zaborin.

With Best Regards
Taka Sekine – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Everything was well taken care of. So, it’s near perfect.

Room was great: had both indoor and outdoor private hot spring. Very comfortable and gave me a good sleep.

Food was great. Stayed for 2 nights and the second dinner was a high point. Of course, the first night was great too. High quality food and great service. Both breakfasts and dinners were memorable.

The design of the hotel was some kind of architectural achievement. Should spend some time to have a good look at it and appreciate the efforts made by the architect.

Not really easy to find. But nowadays we all have GPS and thus you would be guided to the hotel. Served as a nice base for exploring the surrounding areas.

Ideal for a relaxing holiday. It’s tranquility is very much part of the purposes of staying here. It can accommodate quite a number of guests. But it gave you privacy.

Not cheap, though.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bally1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TakakiyoS, 支配人 at Zaborin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2019

Dear Bally 1966 sama,

Thank you so much for your comments about your experience at Zaborin.
I am very pleased to learn that you really enjoyed our cuisine Kita-kaiseki and service.
Truly appreciated your kind words.

We hope you will be back to Niseko for your future vacations again and looking forward to welcoming you at Zaborin.

With best regards,
Taka Sekine – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews