We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
109
39
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
39
5
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2019

I have stayed at Yama Shizen a couple of times now over the years and the accommodation is fantastic, It is always clean, the staff are fantastic and always helpful. The unit we had was 2 bedrooms with 4 beds, they have a laundry and drying room which shares between two units. The main unit has a large couch, table, all the cooking facilities you would need, refrigerator etc. the 2nd unit has a very small but workable cooking area. Yama Shizen i believe is very centrally located, you are about 600m from the quad lift, 600m from the gondala and 400m to the main street, 400m to Rhythm and the other speciality shops in the area, I have never stayed anywhere else in Niseko but i have no dramas highly recommending Yama shizen to first time or regular visitors to Niseko.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank brucelogan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCPeter, Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019


Dear Bruce,

Thank you very much for choosing Niseko Central and for taking the time to leave a detailed and informative review.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Niseko this and every winter.

We are always happy to see returning Guests such as yourself and I hope that you will choose to stay with us again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2019 via mobile

Thank you to Niseko Central staff for adding so much to our experience in beautiful Niseko. The apartment was awesome and the skiing fabulous. An extra big shout out to our driver Charlie. He was so helpful and gave us some great tips to help us make the most of our stay. All the staff we met were wonderful but Charlie was a standout.
Really makes such a difference to your whole holiday experience when the people are great.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaudT64, Hotel Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2019

Dear Kim M,

Thank you very much for your review of Yama Shizen and your kind comments.
I will make sure the team, especially Charlie, know how much you enjoyed his service.
I hope we see you again soon in Niseko!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2019

We had what must be the smallest configuration of 'apartment' at Yama Shizen (East), more akin to a twin room in a hotel, a small sink and service area with a toaster, microwave and bar fridge. There was however no stove-top. I could not in all honesty acknowledge the accommodation as an 'apartment': a bed-sit at best.

I know the other units are more apartment-like but I guess we weren't on the higher rate. However, as much as our accommodation was like a hotel-room there are some important differences mostly around the services (or lack thereof).

Bed-linen was changed once during our 7 night stay, trash emptied every other day and tea, coffee and milk provided but once (on arrival) and never thereafter replenished. The eco-room service is 'economical' for the hotel, not 'ecological' as you might think: trash is removed, towels are changed but there is no cleaning or tidying. There are no facilities on-site, no gym. no spa, no pool. There is an onsen up the street.

A few other negatives. There was a bean bag, with no beans in it, the foyer smelt like trash and is mostly filled with left luggage, the TV is too small. The adjacent larger apartment was unoccupied but no one offered to upgrade us, I would have been happy to pay extra.

A few positives: the pick-up service on arrival is excellent, the staff are very friendly, there is an Apple TV, a 90's stereo, the beds are very comfortable, the shower is excellent, there are facilities to wash clothes, it is toasty warm.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WernMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaudT64, Hotel Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2019

Dear Wernmachine,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us.

From your description, it appears you stayed in our studio room which we are clear to differentiate from the 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments which come with full kitchens and separate bedroom/living areas.

I am glad to hear our staff provided a friendly and professional service and also happy that you could enjoy the equipment and facilities in the room. Please note that we offer upgraded daily housekeeping services should you require more than the eco-cleaning plan.

I hope our reservations team can help find you the perfect room and plan you are looking for on your next stay and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2019

Great location
Spacious apartments
Very clean, nice bathrooms
Big kitchen
Laundry and drying room for each apartment
Ski valet so you can leave your skis and boots at the gondola terminal which makes the walk easier

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JamesG16L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaudT64, Hotel Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2019

Dear JamesG16L,

Thank you very much for your review of Yama Shizen.

I am glad you enjoyed the accommodation and the various features. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed the service at our exclusive Ski Valet at the Hirafu-Gondola. It certainly does make the short walk to the lifts easier when you can store your equipment right at the Gondola each day.

I hope we see you very again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019

We were a family of 6 aged 2-63. Visited for a week over New Year. Had a 3 bedroom apartment in the east building, on the 4th floor. Had a view up towards the gondola and across to Mt Yotei. The apartment was very well laid out and equipped. Portacot was supplied on request for the grandson. 2 small supermarkets easy walk and we could buy enough to manage our own breakfasts, lunch and evening meals. Restaurants very close and an easy walk. It snowed the whole week we were there, mega snow. very pretty but not so great for the skiers, only one half day of sun. Definitely recommend these apartments. If going again would ask for one that faced the ski field so to watch the night skiing. Everything was very well organised from the bus at Chitose airport to pick up in Niseko and delivered to our apartment. Any queries well quickly sorted. The staff were great. Having a washing machine and drier was very helpful, and clothes dried during the day just hanging the laundry room in the apartment. Wifi worked well. The walk to the Gondola from the apartment is not as easy as some say, up hill and a bit of a trek, because there's a stream dividing the route you need to walk around a few streets, and it's actually much quicker to walk to the Base chairlift by the Alpen Hotel and use that to get up the mountain. Our team didn't use the valet service at the gondola, just used the drying lockers and storage in the basement of the apartment block. That worked well. Niseko was fabulous and we were very happy at Yama Shizen and congratulate them on their very thorough organisation.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaudT64, Hotel Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019

Dear JJNZ,

Thank you very much for your thorough review of Yama Shizen. I am glad you appreciated the service we provided and even happier to hear all the family had a good time together.

We've had over 120cms of snow this past week which has kept the powder skiers very happy. March and April are great times to visit if you are looking for more blue-bird skiing conditions.

I will pass on your kind comments to the team and we all hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews