We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Snaptravel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
191
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
191
6
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2019

I stayed with my 16 year old daughter for a week. Peter and Hiruka could not have been more helpful or accommodating. They anticipate your every need, and meet it and more. All advice regarding ski hire, restaurants, shopping, travel, transfers was spot on.....and reinforced by the people we met along the way.

As a Lord of the Rings fan, it was like staying at Rivendell.....a wonderful homely (and beautifully stylish) home away from home....

Perfect

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aus_Noushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2019 via mobile

This is my second time at Kimamaya and we still love it. Apart from the comfortable rooms, the onsen, the perfect location (just a short walk to ski rental, restaurants, Main Street, the pickup/drop off whenever you go around town), the best thing(s) about Kimamaya are really Peter and Haruka. My husband ended up injuring himself on the first day of skiing and the service they provided was unparalleled. They ensured he had what he needed and was comfortable at all times. Truly thankful to them for making what was an unfortunate experience a much more bearable one. Couldn’t rate this place more highly

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Trish_East
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2019

I stayed at Kimamaya with a group of friends in February for a week, booking out several rooms. I can honestly say that I have never had a skiing holiday like it before, the attention to detail of everything is amazing and the staff are just exceptional... I really didn't want to leave and will go back there in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank An_Anonymous_Person
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2019 via mobile

We have grown kids, have travelled a lot, are picky. But the Kimamaya may be the most perfect hotel, dollar for dollar, we’ve stayed in. Among the bland, expensive concrete blocks now studding Niseko it has loads of charm, personality and a quiet luxury. The rooms (which have Apple TV) are smallish but sexy, the bathrooms equipped with high end toiletries, the beds huge and comfortable. Breakfast is a la carte as well as buffet at the adjoining restaurant, which does a great steak at night. There’s a drying room for your ski stuff and when you’re having a drink in your provided felt slippers in the lounge, there’s a feeling you’re in someone’s fancy but most welcoming private home. Even with all that, it’s the service which sets it apart. Before our arrival, guest relations manager Haruka booked restaurants (vital), ski lessons and transfers, and each day our private onsen-like stone bath was drawn at exactly the appointed time. The hotel driver was always standing by to drop and collect us from the slopes (you’re given a phone to call when you’re ready.) The location is the best in town too. As we told manager Peter when we left, for six days we felt we were the only guests because the attention to detail was so meticulous. Kimamaya is a rarity. Don’t stay anywhere else.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheOgges
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed at this great place for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. It is a little home away from home, very personnally managed and just a lovely place to stay! Upon Check in you get a phone and when tired after à great day skiing or after skiing in a Bar, you just Call the Hotel and they pick you up at the gondola! It doesn’t Feel like a hotel it is more like a lodge or a Chalet with perfect service! Peter, the young, friendly, cool and very helpful manager can read in your thoughts and makes everyting possible together with his Team.
We very much enjoyed the bath on one day, very relaxing after a wonderful day up on the cold Mountain.
Breakfast is very good, there is Even a Full japanese Version, which of course we tried. Great!
The breakfast restaurant the barn is a proper restaurant in the evening. Great feel, nice Western Food. Good wines!
One more thing to mention....the beds are incredibly comfortable. Great to relax and feel good. Netflix on TV is like a bonus!
It is a wonderful place for a romantic ski escape to Niseko, but even a comfy place for a bunch of friends or when travelling with children!
We will definitely be back...one day!
Thanks for a wonderful stay Kimamaya, thanks for the courage of this french owner - chapeau!!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank otschi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews